Ookami-san to Shichinin no Nakamatachi 08 – Of brides, lolis and subtle homosexuality

He speaks the truth. For the most part, anyway.

Yeah, right now Ookami-san is the only show I’m up-to-date with. I’ll marathon the other series when I get the time, so I can blog about them, but for now I digress.

Ookami-san 08 talked about finding a bride for a young heir, whose butler goes around and owns everyone by mocking them and their various problems, such as speaking of Alice like a nagging old lady (grr.) and talking about how Ryouko’s and Ringo’s breasts defy gravity and thus are superior. In the end, he ‘marries’ his childhood friend, who’s been stalking him around all day. Also, the president gets owned for trying to sell off the girls of the Otogi Bank as brides. And stuff like that.

…but anyone who’s watched the episode probably knows that although that might have been funny , the star of the show has to go to the film Ringo made.

Universes collide!

Yeah sure, the multiple crossovers into other ‘universes’ like the Toradora universe and the Railgun universe were funny, but it wasn’t nearly as awesome as what I’m about to say next.

Although shown briefly, it’s about the three being sent to dispatch 3 ‘terrorists’, or the 3 ‘Little’ Pigs, who use their smell as weapons. The only way to defeat them is to play their funny little games, and something like that.  That itself was funny, but this is just the best thing in the episode:

-subtle- yuri?

Obligatory detailed shot

And now I move on to talk about the series thus far.

Well, can’t say it was as nice as I thought it would be at the start, it seems to be one of those typical shows you get every season, a show which has great concept and originality, but always pales in comparison and review. I came expecting an actual parody , but the parodies seem to be lacking that sense of funny from what we saw in Episode 1. It’s like the stock market.Some are funny, some are not. But I’m just glad to say that this episode was funny after all.

Just one question though : how do you think the series will end? I want to post predictions for all the series once I get to marathon them, so I was just wondering what you think 😀

About Valence

I blog things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Ookami-san to Shichinin no Nakamatachi 08 – Of brides, lolis and subtle homosexuality

  1. Lenneth says:

    hope thr is more yuri in future episodes ^^

    • Valence says:

      There will be, I foresee it. Ringo’s been hinting at her sexual orientation since the start anyway. Either she’s gay for Ryouko, or they’re just ‘really good friends’.

      *smirks*

  2. misterowl24 says:

    Hmm…. How this will end? Ryoushi goes bankai and kick that oni-something school evil student president into a pulp. Then, confess to Ryouko but get punched again. Why? because Yuri FTW. lol. Jokes aside. Somehow I feel this episode is abit so-so. Maybe is because I watched K-ON!! 20 before this….

    • Valence says:

      Speaking of which, I also need to catch up on K-On!! D:

      …but most of what you guessed, I guessed too. I guess Ryoushi will help Ryouko defeat the bad guy, and then confess again, with Ringo intervening and some horribly ambiguous and cheesy ending that never brings much closure.

      • Ming Xuan says:

        True that
        this type of anime never has a real ending

        • Valence says:

          That is my point. It’s your typical series after all. I expected a great difference, a new experience but it seems like it’ll end in a generic and predictable fashion.

  3. Nopy says:

    I was surprised that not only did Ringo kiss Ryouko, she looked like she really wanted to do it.
    Anyways, I predict that at the end of the series Ryoushi will save Ryouko from something and Ryouko will see him more as a man, but they still won’t be a couple. In other words, everything will be the same in the end.

    • Valence says:

      THAT’S WHAT I THINK TOO!

      It’s always like that. In 12 episode series, the male protagonist never gets together with his love interest, they always just become ‘friendlier’ and then the show just ends. And I think the battle with the antagonist (if there was any) would go like this:

      Ryouko attacks
      Fails, losing
      Ryoushi Support
      Ryouko turns tables
      Enemy pulls out some trick
      Ryouko loses
      Ryoushi comes in
      Delivers some speech
      Epic fight
      Beats the crud out of the antagonist, with or without help from Otogi Bank

      It seems way too predictable now.

  4. Azure Hoshizora says:

    I wouldn’t mind seeing more of Ringo’s fantasies~ 8D

    As for how the series will end… I think, “And they live happily ever after”

Comments are closed.