Event Recap: EOY 2012

  • DSC_0115

So…today ended my first ever EOY. Was it really the ‘Event of the Year’? Or was it something else? Let’s go through what happened today.

Reaching there a bit early, it was really, really hot! The sun was out and everything, and I bought the first can of green tea that was to become but one of many cans taken to keep me going. I think I’ve spent almost $10 on canned drinks…anyway, it was so hot and as I had time, I took the time to go to the Marina Barrage gallery a few times to take in the aircon. It did get cooler later though….thank god!

The event started at 11am, but for me, it started at 2. As this was the first time I’ve ever applied for a press pass, I was quite excited to attend the media walkthrough, which began at 2.30pm. It’s a bizarre feeling to have the GM tell the public to lurk behind because the walkthrough was ‘exclusive for media partners who have to cover the event’. Wearing that badge made me feel extra responsible for covering the event and the event grounds entirely, although that’s what I do most of the time.

Anyway, the events organiser, or the GM, introduced us to EOY’s cosplay ambassadors, the KiraCandy girls and the Maids from the Meido Ryokan/ maid ambassadors. . I was unable to take photos of all of them though, due to the lack of time / no available camera angles. I’ve forgotten the most basic problem of taking photos: there are always other people taking photos. Height is no advantage when you can’t see what you’re taking. Most of the time I had to take from the floor or by raising the camera above my head, which made photography less skill and more guess-and-check.

DSC_0038

KiraCandy girls.DSC_0039

Maids!DSC_0054

Melanie. 
DSC_0058

Yuki Christy, as Rikka.

DSC_0055
Abigail? lol I can’t recognise faces
DSC_0053

Ramen, as Sogeking

The tour began with the group moving upstairs to see the Meido Ryokan, as well as the Cafe Meido, a vast collection of maid-themed ball-jointed dolls which is supposedly the biggest of such set-ups ever created in Singapore. The foodstuffs were also all handmade by some of the biggest and most skillful doll enthusiasts in Singapore, and perhaps all of Southeast Asia.

DSC_0066 DSC_0067The tour ended with a brief walkthrough of the marketplace and a small briefing on the event schedule. With that, we were free to explore the venue by ourselves.

DSC_0069 DSC_0070

DSC_0131 DSC_0132 DSC_0133

For me, this mostly meant sneaking up to cosplayers having their photos taken and taking photos. Or, as I like to call them, ‘drive-by shootings’. Like, I don’t really dare to ask the cosplayers to make poses or anything. I wouldn’t know how to best take a photo anyway, so I like to just take photos when they’ve already started posing. It makes photography much faster! In other words, it was…..just like AFA for me, really. It’s an endless cycle of walking, buying stuff, taking photos, screaming internally and walking until the lower half of body feels like it’s going to pop out and explode. So another step was added into the equation: sitting down and feeling like an old man. An old, broke man who has just spent his money on moe goods. Moe is my lifeblood.

The events planned were interesting though. Aside from the event stage, I also got to witness the Lolita Parade (?) and the flash mob. Sadly, I didn’t participate in any of the above. Snigger. Nonetheless, they were awesome to watch.

DSC_0095 DSC_0099 DSC_0100 DSC_0124

I’ve also got to meet plenty of awesome people today:

  • Iso from Nabe!! and friends
  • Miyu from Metanorn
  • CyborgCommunist and friends from Otaku Panorama
  • I think I saw LessThanFree, but I could be mistaken.
  • Some random people from Hwa Chong that I’ve seen before but are not very close to orz

I hope more bloggers and friends go next time though, it’s always nice to be able to put a face to a name.

So…….EOY? How was it? It sounds like a great anime convention, sure, but how do you see it, Valence? I’m sure someone imaginary is asking this question. In case someone real (aka other than me) is asking this question, I’ll answer that question in the next post.

DSC_0001

EOY:
Event Recap
Looking Back
Loot
Cosplay Gallery
This Guy.

About Valence

I blog things.
This entry was posted in EOY and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Event Recap: EOY 2012

  1. Pingback: Looking Back: EOY 2012 | Ambivalence , or is it ambiguity?

  2. Pingback: Cosplay Gallery: EOY 2012 | Ambivalence , or is it ambiguity?

  3. Pingback: Loot: EOY 2012 | Ambivalence , or is it ambiguity?

  4. Pingback: EOY 2012: This Guy. | Ambivalence , or is it ambiguity?

  5. LessThanFree says:

    I was dragged off to go adventuring with the rest of Vocal Mimi then to join you guys. I really wanted to though. :/

Comments are closed.