Autumn 2012 Anime Season Preview

Missed me?

Well, now I’m back with a bang, doing my first post in ages. Forgive me if I somehow lost my usual fervor in this post. I promise, it’ll come back soon enough.

Kamisama Hajimemashita

(God Has begun)

I think I have said a lot of times that I’m not the biggest fan of shoujo. And looking at the little I have read about this, I don’t think I’ll be enjoying this one either. It’s practically a standard shoujo story with the antisocial girl and the dashing male love interest with a sprinkle of supernatural elements. Oh, and don’t forget that the female must be ditzy and the male is your oh-so-bad-(fox/wolf/cat)boy that girls seem to like very much. In any case, if you’re a fan of shoujo, I guess you would enjoy this. (Damn, I can’t get myself to give a crap about this show.)

Magi

To be honest, I’m looking forward to Magi quite a bit. Even though I have a tendency to bash every anime that comes out every season, if a show has at least one element that I like (this case being Arabian Nights), chances are that I’ll like the first episode. Beyond that, I leave it to the (sometimes) competent hands of the animation studio, which happens to be A-1. Even though I don’t like most of the stuff they put out, it’s quite safe to bet on them this time that they will at least put some more life into the already colorful manga.

Ixion Saga DT

Ixion Saga is based on a still unreleased MMORPG by Capcom. My last experience with this kind of anime was Shining Hearts, and we all know how horrible that was. Still, going in with a closed mind would be criminal.

Let’s see, first, there is very little information about this – not surprising since the game isn’t even released yet. Apparently, the director has worked on quite a few comedy anime (Gintama, School Rumble, and Danshi Koukousei no Nichijou) that I like/d. Now I am even more at a loss on what to expect from this, especially since I’m not a guy who judges anime based on who’s working on it.

Robotics;Notes

Robotics;Notes is the third of Nitroplus’ series of sci-fi visual novels, the first two being Chaos;Head and Steins;Gate. I haven’t got the chance to read the darn thing since the game is only available for the XBox 360, but from what I have heard, Robotics;Notes was a disappointment. Sadly, the game seemed to lack the spice and darkness that the two previous games had. In any case, I was never really looking forward to this anime (or game) anyway because of reasons too many to list. I’ll watch it, and most probably drop it around episode 2 or so. Also, the promotion trailers for the anime are so boring, I can probably dig a tunnel with them.

Psycho-Pass

Rumors say that Gen Urobuchi is returning to the anime stage with this mysterious title, Psycho-Pass. Whether this is true or not, I’m not quite as hyped for this show as much as others. I’m interested, definitely, but the only Gen Urobuchi work that I really enjoyed was Madoka Magica. To be honest, I found his other works (Phantom, Fate/Zero, Saya no Uta, etc.) not deserving of the recognition they currently enjoy. Furthermore, this anime is going to be on noitaminA – an anime timeslot that I now associate with lacklustre to downright horrible anime since Ano Hana.

Still, it would be criminal to pass up on an anime with sizeable potential, so I guess I’ll stick around and see if it can hold my attention for eleven weeks.

Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun

(The Monster Next to me)

In a season with a lot of shoujo titles coming out, Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun would be the most anticipated. Why this is so, I can never hope to comprehend. From what little of the manga I’ve read, it plays out almost like every shoujo story ever created with elements of your standard gag manga. Not really my type of stuff, but still worth the look because everything is.

Sukitte Ii na yo!

(Say you like me!)

Okay, yet another shoujo. And this time, the title has the reputation of being smutty. Now, when it comes to shoujo (note that most of my experience with shoujo comes from shoujo yuri manga), I’m more inclined to watch/read the smutty type opposed to the “will they, or won’t they” type simply because the former tends to be less annoying that the latter. That said, this is shoujo, and expect everything shoujo has to offer, especially the oh-so-bad-(fox/wolf/cat)boy that girls love for some reason or another. Other than those things, nothing else really stands out.

Little Busters!

Who hasn’t heard of Little Busters? Even if you’re not a fan, surely you would have come across some of the groans of dissatisfaction and disappointment from the hardcore fans of the game. It would be for the better if you ignored them because what’s thirty minutes of trying an anime that you will possibly like compared to living with the guilt of not having watched it when it actually turns out to be pretty good? It’s a good thing that people look at the staff roll in the anime they watch and use that info as a guide, but it’s really messed up to use it to judge an anime that hasn’t even come out yet.

All of that said, I didn’t like Little Busters as much as I wanted to. The heroines aside from Rin’s, Haruka’s and maybe Komari’s didn’t have much of an impression on me. Still, the game is pulled up a lot by the great comedic writing and the grand core story called Refrain. Not my favorite among the Key games, but it’s still pretty darn good.

Btooom!

Ah, yes. Madhouse is back for what they do best, gritty action-y stuff – exactly what Btooom! seems to be. The trailer looks okay for the most part – lot of explosions, people shouting and some sexual assault to complete the mix. It’s like every Hollywood film ever made, except that in Japan, teenagers have to be the heroes. Let’s just hope this does’t turn out to be another Highschool of the Dead.

Onii-chan Dakedo Ai Sae Areba Kankeinai yo ne-

(Even if he’s my brother, as long as there’s love, it’s alright)

Another one of those incest-driven harem shows that drive me crazy. I would be more willing to accept this if they actually go the extra mile and make it purely about incest, but that wouldn’t sell, so add more girls that fall in love with a useless prick. Damn this show to hell.

Chuunibyou Demo Koi ga Shitai!

(Even If She Has Adolescent Delusions, I Want to Love Her Anyway!)

For some reason, I can’t get myself to hate a Kyoto Animation show (save Haruhi, maybe) simply because they look absolutely gorgeous. Even with the generic character design, one can’t complain about the animation quality of the trailer.

Zetsuen no Tempest

(The Tempest of Isolation)

This is another shounen that I would probably watch and drop after an episode. The trailer looks good, but cheap (and it has classical music [Beethoven Tempest Sonata No. 17, Opus 31 No. 2] as BGM). There isn’t much promise that it will be something groundbreaking, especially since we have Mari Okada writing again.

Code:Breaker

I am so not gonna like this one, but will try anyway (and fail). This is a shounen title about god knows what. I’m too uninterested in this one to even look at the manga.

Litchi DE Hikari Club

This manga is so messed up. Get it away from me.

Aikatsu

Some idol-based card game-based anime. Kids and Wizards, enjoy the feast!

To-LOVE-Ru Darkness

You have to give props to perhaps the most unpretentious manga that ever existed – To-LOVE-Ru Darkness. Throw away everything that doesn’t have to do with appealing to the base desires of human beings – and you have the very basics of entertainment. A guy who reads this kind of manga for story or any form of intellectual fulfillment is a fool. That said, I can totally understand why someone would be looking forward to this show. A show that looks good, has a lots of unnecessary sex and has amazingly bad writing. JUST LIKE HOLLYWOOD!

Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure

This is an adaptation of an incredibly old manga. While I really don’t like the manga drawing style of the 80’s, I can see why people would want to see this. I guess I’ll watch an episode or two.

Shin Sekai Yori

(From the new world)

Shin Sekai Yori is a post-apocalyptic novel about a group of kids who try to survive in a condemned world filled with the most unusual and dangerous creatures. Color me interested. These kinds of stories almost always get me, for better or worse. But if I am to judge the show solely from the trailer, I think I’ll get something that I’ll like.

Girls und Panzer

Girls and Tanks. I like girls. I like tanks. Do I like girls driving tanks? Take a wild guess.

Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo

(my pet girlfriend from sakura inn)

The pet girl(friend) – a relatively common character type in subcultural (Otaku) Japanese literature, usually employed to attempt to invoke a complicated reaction – called moe – among the target audience. Depending on the individual, the reaction to the character in question may range from extreme infatuation to total indifference to seething rage.

Characters who fall under the pet girl(friend) character type are usually socially and/or physically inept, requiring the assistance of a self-insert character in the matters of daily living.

Now that we got that out of the way, you probably now know why you’ll be or not be watching this show.

Busou Shinki

I really appreciate the effort of creating an anime about action figures as they are, and based on the preview above, it shouldn’t be all that bad.

K

Why the show is named K is something that the story will answer soon enough. But for now, we know that the trailers are awesome and the voice actors are huge. You can certainly say that they’re going all out on this one. Let’s just hope that the level of luxury shown in the trailers would actually be present in the show itself.

Hayate no Gotoku! 3

SynergySP, where have you gone? Why did you leave our half-decent manga to be done by the studio that’s quickly falling to DEEN levels of utter mediocrity?

Hidamari Sketch x Honeycomb

No comment.

Seitokai no Ichizon 2

(the student council’s Responsibilities)

THIS SHOW IS SO DAMN FUNNY. It’s not.

Jormungand 2

Are you ready for more pseudo-animation? Help yourselves, plebeians! Here’s more of that “adrenaline-loaded” “action” anime you like so much. Oh, and before I forget: “Her name is Koko she is loco I said OH NO!”

Hiiro no Kakera 2

(scarlet Fragments)

>lolDEEN

Bakuman 3

I have said it before and I’ll say it again: I really hate the author of this manga. Sexist bastard.

Initial D

I enjoyed what little of the show I have seen in a local TV channel, but that was when I was a kid. I have standards for my character designs now.

Medaka Box Abnormal

Where I live, calling someone “abnormal” is a pretty serious insult.

Gintama

Yup, more of it.

There was a time when I was honestly wondering why people like Gintama, but now that I have seen some of it, I can now understand why. It’s genuinely and honest-to-goodness funny.

At any rate, next season seems to be full of interesting stuff. I just hope it stays that way.

About Lucas Magnus

Trying to change for the better.
This entry was posted in season previews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Autumn 2012 Anime Season Preview

  1. Andmeuths says:

    Wait, what? They decided to roll out one of Medaka Box most epic characters, Kumagawa this season? I guess after the butchery and unintelligently stupid adaptation of the first season, they re getting desperate. How do they plan on cramming 50 chapters into one cour anyway? And spent their first cour doing Medaka Box weakest material?

Comments are closed.