(Not So) Breaking News: Prism Nana Project

SHAFT’s new cash cow.

SHAFT, the studio that brought you much of Nisio Isin’s -monogatari series, Madoka Magica, Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei and Hidamari Sketch, has unveiled the trailer and, interestingly enough, merchandise at their C82 booth for their upcoming PRISM NANA PROJECT.

Learning from past experience with Madoka Magica, SHAFT has withheld all information regarding PRISM NANA, so director, screenwriter, script and music are all completely unknown at the moment. The only confirmed member of the production team is Kantoku (‘Afterschool of the 5th Year’ circle, Hentai Ouji to Warawanai Neko, your diary), who is responsible for the character designs.

Regardless, Kantoku is a veritable force of moe nature in his own right (you might like to check how many instances of his work appears on this very blog), so even without the rest of the committee being revealed, this show has already gone into my must-watch list.

Kantoku’s light novel project (Hentai Ouji to Warawanai Neko), meanwhile, is getting an anime soon as well.

For those people thinking that this is going to be another grimdark angst-laden show, remember that Madoka Magica was an outlier for SHAFT; most of their shows, while exhibiting creative tendencies in the animation process, show much less tendency to destroying half their cast by the second last episode. For one, I’m not sensing very much from what I’ve seen of PRISM NANA so far, as compared to Madoka Magica which had this very wrong feeling about it from the get-go. However, this is only my opinion, and my opinions tend to suck at times, so just watch the show to figure it out for yourself.

Personally, I think this will be SHAFT’s flagship moe cross-platform project, created for generating vast amounts of merchandising revenue for the company and its various tie-ins. Still doesn’t stop me wanting to watch it.

About Carillus

"Any sufficiently advanced application of locupletative language is indistinguishable from writing magic."
This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to (Not So) Breaking News: Prism Nana Project

  1. windyturnip says:

    SHAFT rarely fails to disappoint. Even their mediocre shows have something great in them. That, and they actually innovate and take risks in regards to their animation and artwork. Considering the medium is called “anime,” you’d think more studios would focus on that.

    Needless to say, I’ll be keeping a close eye on this.

  2. I really like the character designs, although the basic pokemon coloring is odd. While the leaf-girl doesn’t remind me of anyone, the blue hair reminds me of Konota and the red hair reminds me of Misaka from Railgun. Shaft is good so I’ll look forward to this.

  3. ~xxx says:

    I think we should really get our bodies ready when the time comes.

    And of course, SHAFT rarely does bad things.

  4. Justin says:

    Eh, it seems like it’ll be ok, regardless as to whether or not it’ll take a Madoka like spin to it. Which I wonder they’ll do (I don’t think they will). They might just want to return to a bit of normal convention, but add some new things if they can. So I think I agree with your thoughts on what the show’ll be. If so, then we both suck😦

Comments are closed.