Aniblog Tourney the Second – @fkeroge’s Final Sentiments

Dark_Sage vs. Kyokai

The Japanese Animation Web Log Tournament is finally over. So… how was the whole experience?

I admit, I have been inactive in the Aniblog Tourney ever since the day that AOIA lost to Metanorn and Baka-Raptor – largely because my interest in the darn thing just went down the drain after we lost. That, and me dedicating more of my time to school, TLC-ing and editing yuri eroge translations, almost getting killed, and college anime club initiation rites.

I know this makes me look like a sore loser, and maybe I am, but now that I think about it, the tourney really did feel like a huge pile of nothing a few days after we lost. I still regularly read blogs (all of the blogs that still update in Anime Nano), and continue to post articles in AOIA like no tourney happened in the first place. The tourney was something like a new toy that I completely ignored after it broke, while others who still has theirs in working condition were still having a blast with it.

The first time I checked the status of the tourney after we lost was the time I voted for Listless Ink. After that, I just checked out who prevailed in the end – Metanorn won against Whiners.pro by a rather narrow margin – 1039 to 955. Pretty impressive numbers for a niche-within-a-niche field of interest. It’s unbelievable that 2000 people would actually care to vote in a tournament this small, but that’s because some people actually voted more than once.

I’m not going to complain much about this matter anymore as a lot of people more knowledgeable than myself already talked about it, but in the end, I found it quite disheartening that some voters from the last battle (Metanorn vs. Whiners) actually admitted to have voted more than once (PC, laptop and phone). I won’t name the perpetrators anymore, and in fact, I don’t blame them for doing what they did. I’m just… purely disappointed by the fact that these voters didn’t have enough confidence that the blog they like could win without resorting to abusing vague voting rules.

Some of you may be saying: “What proof do you have that you guys didn’t do the same thing?” and I understand your sentiments. I may be extremely blunt and rude all the time, but I still believe in the kindness and goodwill of mankind. I would never think of “cheating” in a tournament where I have nothing to lose or gain, and I’m sure I speak for the whole of AOIA’s staff members. My campaign was limited to this blog, Twitter, and RL friends who actually read AOIA, and I voted once for AOIA in every poll we were in. While┬áI cannot present proof that we didn’t try to manipulate the votes, I can promise you that I most definitely did not.

I won’t talk about the two blogs either. Anything that should be said has already been said. I don’t need or want to repeat any praise or insult that many others have already pointed out. As for me, I read both Metanorn and Whiners.pro regularly for my own reasons.

I would never say that the tourney was not beneficial to AOIA whatsoever, though. For starters, we have gained new readers and our average view count rose from 700~750 a day to 1200-1300 a day. We also got some new regular commenters whom I treat like trash sometimes, but still love. We also gained motivation to actually write for the blog instead of lazing around sipping espresso all day. So I guess, overall, the tourney was a positive experience.

Will AOIA still be interested in participating in the next tourney if one would be held? If you were to ask me, I’m all for it. Despite the drama and the negative reputation that the tourney has, being part of it was fun while it lasted. I just hope that next time, the tourney would be more orderly so we could avoid the worst in this year’s tourney from happening again.

About Lucas Magnus

Trying to change for the better.
This entry was posted in ANIBLOG TOURNEY and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Aniblog Tourney the Second – @fkeroge’s Final Sentiments

  1. Carillus says:

    The podcast was fun.

  2. Smiley says:

    I highly doubt another tourney will be held. At least, not by Scamp. You could tell he pretty much stopped caring by the end because of the reasons you mentioned above. To me, the problem is just the nature of the tourney itself; you can’t avoid this kind of drama and “underhanded” tactics.

    • windyturnip says:

      It’s too bad. I feel like a lot of really good blogs were lost underneath the big episodic ones. I’d much rather take quality over quantity, and most of the time writing about dozens of different shows tends to burn out the author and lead to less interesting articles.

Comments are closed.