Summer 2012 First Impressions – Binbougami Ga!

Quite honestly, I didn’t know what to expect of Binbougami Ga! Having seen the first episode, I can now say that Binbougami will probably be that one “weird but funny” show of the season. Yes, you could argue that Jinrui is also weird and funny, but that isn’t the point of that show. Binbougami on the other hand, is pure comedy.

Those of you who actually pay attention to the seiyuu will immediately notice that the main character (Sakura) is voiced by Hanazawa Kana. Admittedly, I quite like HanaKana. Her voice just has this oddly soothing quality to it, but perhaps that’s just a result of the characters she plays. It’s not as if she hasn’t played any hyper/energetic characters before though, but Sakura is just something else completely. I’ve never heard HanaKana like this before, and I must say I don’t really mind the change.

I had originally compared Binbougami to Denpa teki na Kanojo based on the synopsis available on MAL, but the truth of the matter is the two could not be farther apart. Both shows involve the concept of “stealing” fortune from others, but Denpa teki na Kanojo takes things rather seriously with a dark tone. As mentioned before, Binbougami is anything but serious. If anything, I’d have to say it’s more similar to Spring’s Nyaruko, only with significantly fewer references and no irritating male lead.

Ok, so Sakura is a little loud and obnoxious, but at least she’s funny to watch. Momiji herself is even more hilarious with her repeated failures and nonchalant attitude (when not set off by Sakura), but perhaps that’s just to make up for her lack in a certain department. That’s probably also the reason why we see her cosplaying so much, but I digress. In any case, Binbougami is shaping up to be the successor to Nyaruko, only with the parodies toned down and the fanservice turned up. I quite liked Nyaruko, so I’m hoping I’ll enjoy this as well.

This entry was posted in First Impressions, Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Summer 2012 First Impressions – Binbougami Ga!

  1. hiroy_raind says:

    I had no plan to actually watch this before, but after reading this I went and saw the first episode, and liked it.
    Thanks a lot!😀

    • Smiley says:

      My pleasure. =)

      I think the problem with Binbougami, to my knowledge, is that the source material is rather obscure, so there really wasn’t much hype for it.

  2. windyturnip says:

    I’m four episodes into Nyaruko and I just don’t seem to be enjoying it as much I should. Most of the references go over my head, and, like you said, the male lead is annoying. Should I keep up with it or just drop it and check this one out?

    • Smiley says:

      I suggest giving the next episode a shot before giving up completely. If you still aren’t feeling it, then swap for Binbougami. There’s no point in struggling through something you don’t enjoy.

      If the first episode is any indication, the references in Binbougami are much easier to spot. You’ll also get a hyper Hanazawa Kana instead of an annoying generic male lead.

  3. Pingback: Catching up on the aniblogs and other misc stuff « Otakurean

  4. Jeffrey Tan says:

    Have you read the manga? Its pretty interesting.

Comments are closed.