Aquarion EVOL – Timeless Love and Destiny

I just marathoned Aquarion EVOL, so you know what that means… tl;dr time! In this week’s tl;dr post, we’ll take a look at the concept of destiny/fate, as well as the central theme of Aquarion; love that transcends time and space. Moreso than with my previous tl;drs, this post will contain my own thoughts and opinions as opposed to solid facts, so take what you are about to read with a grain of salt.

Warning: Images may contain spoilers.

Now then, what exactly is “destiny” or “fate”? If you’re feeling lucky, you can easily find that “destiny or fate is a predetermined course of events”, courtesy of Google and Wikipedia. The emphasis of this rather terse definition is, of course, centered on the word “predetermined”. What this basically means is that things have essentially been written out like the script of a play, and the events and actions that ensue are merely a part of an act. Why is this concept so intriguing to us? Well, if you read between the lines a little, you’ll see that the focus of all this mumbo-jumbo is choice, or rather, the apparent lack thereof.

That said, I find the concept of destiny and fate to be just absolutely silly. Whenever I hear someone spout something along the lines of “it is your destiny”, I almost cringe a little. Your future isn’t something set in stone. It never is. Whether or not you realize that you do in fact have a say in the matter is a different story, but the fact remains that our future isn’t irrevocably determined for us. Ah, but what if some overwhelming odds stand in your way? Is it really possible to overcome obstacles of such great magnitude with just your own hands? For example, can a begger really rise up to become a multi-millionaire? I can already hear you shaking your head in disagreement, but wait! This is actually a loaded question.

To restate the question, can someone really go “from zero to hero”? Honestly? Maybe, maybe not. Well that’s not very convincing is it? Doesn’t that kind of go against the argument that there is no such thing as fate? Perhaps only if you look at things on the surface; in actuality, there are deeper concepts at work here. For one, the fact that the outcome of the question is up for debate already confirms that one’s future isn’t set in stone. It’s so easy to focus on the “maybe not” when faced with seemingly unsurmountable odds that we sometimes forget that we always have the choice; the final say in what we do to try to change things.

Ok, so this is just semantics, you say. Even if we have the choice of actions, isn’t it all in vain if we cannot change our future nonetheless? Haha, that’s a really good one. If you try and fail, are you just going to give up and say that it was meant to be? If you’re really invested in the item of concern, no. Look at it this way; if your destiny was already determined for you and you are supposed to be able to do nothing to change it, then whatever “gods” decided this have already fucked up by even letting the power of choice and action slip into your hands. There is no person who is truly incapable of changing his/her future. That is what sets us apart from say, robots, as humans.

A robot can only do whatever is input for it to do by the user (assuming the user knows what he/she is doing). Have you ever seen a robot say “nah, I think I’d rather not”? No. Have you seen a human do so though? I’m betting yes. So before you start believing in such silly concepts as destiny and fate, first remember that you have the ability to choose what you want to do, despite how small an effect your actions may appear to have. Well that was a rather lengthy rant, now wasn’t it? But wait, I’m not done yet! I still haven’t gotten to the best part yet; the concept of love that transcends time and space as exemplified in Aquarion.

By now I’m sure you’ve realized that the above discussion on destiny was no coincidence. “Destiny” and “fate” are very much central to the thing that is “timeless love”. Love is very often glorified in works of fiction because, well, it is a very sensitive subject. Love can simultaneously lead to the best and the worst of thoughts and feelings, and what better way to demonstrate this than by dragging out a love affair for several thousand years? Really, when you get to the nitty-gritty of things, Aquarion is just one big, and extremely dragged-out love drama. Not to say that’s a bad thing, or that I’m trying to belittle Aquarion, though. I personally found EVOL rather enjoyable, as a matter of fact.

Even so, I still can’t quite agree with the thought of “timeless love”. At face value, it does sound extremely romantic (doesn’t help that I’m not a particularly big fan of romance). It’s not as if Aquarion is the first one, or even the only one, to do this either. The phrase “I’ll wait for you” (and its many variations) is probably present in hundreds of thousands of works of fiction. Take Doctor Who, for example. But is it really appropriate to wait thousands of years for your loved one? Moreover, what if we introduce the concept of reincarnation to make things even more complicated? I say that’s all just silly. Yes, it’s nice to long for your loved one, but waiting thousands of years and several incarnations is totally excessive. There’s no need to bind yourself so tightly to another person. Heck, even the traditional wedding vow states “till death do us part”. Word of God has even given you permission to call it off after death!

Ok, religious mockery aside, being bound to another even after death is just silly instead of romantic in my mind. I’ll save my analysis of reincarnation and rebirth for another day, but I think it’s safe to say that you should just give it a rest after having died even just once. Try going after someone else instead; having a little variety can’t hurt. Love may be a very strong feeling, but when you’re dead, you’re dead. There’s no need to keep holding on to a past that may as well not be yours. By now, little bits and pieces of my view on reincarnation are probably seeping into this discourse, so I’ll try to make this as brief as possible. Love can be a positive thing (at least, I sure hope so), but as with most other “good” things, it can be bad for you in excessive amounts.

Yanderes are a stereotypical example of this, but I would strive to argue that “timeless love” is yet another example of how too much love can be a bad thing. Just look at Aquarion; so many others get screwed over because of Apollonius and Celiane. And it only gets worse when a pet dog decides to join the fray. I say, just keep your love to one lifetime please. If you didn’t exactly get what you wanted, then just suck it up and move on. There is absolutely no need to remain lovesick or butthurt for 24000, let alone 12000, years. In a way, I guess this means I support Amata’s “I love Mikono for who she is” view, but I digress. All I ask is for people to realize when enough is enough. Go do something else instead of clinging to former lovers, like digging a hole for example.

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Aquarion EVOL – Timeless Love and Destiny

  1. hiroy_raind says:

    I loved this article, and I wholeheartedly agree. Nice one on the ’till death do us part’ part.😄
    I always felt the anime was being totally silly when Amata declared love and devotions toward Mikono in the first eps, when he hasn’t knew her more than half a day.

    Anyway, I dropped this anime after the 5th eps. Do you think I should continue?

    • Smiley says:

      Things do start to get a little more interesting near the middle, but unfortunately EVOL is one of those series that suffers from a rather lacking ending, in my opinion. If you don’t mind that though, then you should definitely give EVOL a chance. If anything, do it for the gattais; I always found myself wanting to laugh at how cheesy the lines the characters spout during a gattai were.

  2. Pingback: Aquarion Evol – 24,000 Years Of Evolution! | The Haphazard

Comments are closed.