Summer 2012 First Impressions – Campione!

EVERYONE uses this screencap.

Ah, yes. Another one of these bad light novel adaptations.

Honestly, I expected worse. I started watching this hoping to derive some twisted pleasure from making bad jokes about every single thing that would go wrong in this show (hey, that’s sardonicism! @fkeroge, you pun master!), but I found myself merely at a loss for words at how this didn’t go exactly the way I expected it would.

UBW wannabe

First of all, they actually put at least some effort into the animation. For the duration of the episode, there were relatively few annoying stills and pans that put powerpoint presentations to shame. A considerable amount of movement was present in the show that almost made me want to praise it. That said, the animation wasn’t particularly mind-blowing either. Fight choreography, if you can even call it that, was bad, and relied too much on flashy effects sure to send an epileptic to the emergency room.

Then there’s your escapism drug. Surprise! Surprise! It’s not a freakin’ loli voiced by Rie Kugimiya! In fact, I think that this may be the best part of the show, at least until they eventually introduce a pink-haired, flat-chested, Kugimiya-voiced tsundere loli that makes things explode – which has a depressingly high chance of happening.

Our main girl, Erica, is… uhhh… how do I put this…? Uninteresting. Perhaps it is to the show’s benefit that she isn’t overpowered like the other girls in similar works, but as far as her personality goes right now, it doesn’t even try to break molds. And don’t even get me started on the guy. He’s one big pile of nothing that suddenly acts all cool after getting powers that he doesn’t even know how to use. At least, that was something I expected.

What Sardinia really looks like.

The setting has no considerable resemblance to Sardinia, where the story is supposed to be set. The place just looks like an amalgamation of stereotypical European-styled architecture. Sure, there may be some real locations, but for the most part, the backgrounds were those rustic buildings that serve no purpose other than to give the illusion of being exotic. I should have seen this coming, but I guess my foresight has been getting rusty lately.

She’s bored.

Then you have your “fake foreshadowing.” It’s a term I use to refer to the times where there’s an ominous, yet nonsensical segment in your anime that usually involves some random person we’ve never seen before standing on top of an impractical location spouting either incoherent technobabble-induced prophecies or ambiguous one-liners.

I’m pretty sure lightning doesn’t work this way.

And lastly, there’s the lightning. Contrary to popular belief, lightning most commonly travels from the ground upwards, at 140,000 miles per hour. I’m no fulminologist, but I certainly found the whole battle at the seaside rather stupid. You can’t dodge lightning, at least not with speed like Erica’s. I know this is just nitpicking at this point, but as someone who likes lightning and electricity-based powers, this is something that I always take issue in.

So yeah, Campione! is a bad anime, but not bad enough to even warrant some lame jokes. It’s marginally amusing, but not enough to make me want to watch more of it. Dropped. Score 4.

PS: It’s a good thing that I watched Saki: Achiga-hen after this. The sheer awesomeness of the latest episode of Saki served as a good contrast to how lame Campione! is. It was also a good birthday present for me.

@fkeroge plugging his own birthday in an anime blog. So conceited!

About Lucas Magnus

Trying to change for the better.
This entry was posted in First Impressions, Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Summer 2012 First Impressions – Campione!

  1. Nya-chan Production says:

    That first screencap….

    GHOSTING AT MAX!

    • @fkeroge says:

      That’s because the video itself was of bad quality. I guess I should have waited for the TV release instead of watching it on niconico.

  2. GoodbyeNavi says:

    Heh. I’m probably not going to watch this summer season of anime. Not for lack of interest but heck, its summertime! I’m trying to get a tan. If I were going to watch a show, this post definitely turns me off from this show.

Comments are closed.