Tasogare Otome x Amnesia – Final Impressions

From left to right: Reasons 1 and 2 why you should watch Tasogare Otome.

Story: 7
A hot ghost on a quest to find her memories? I’m on board. In all seriousness though, I thought Tasogare Otome was very well balanced, even if its plot was a little cliche. It had just about the right amount of mystery and romance, plus a little hint of horror and a generous dash of ecchi. My only gripe is that the ending was a little disappointing. Sure, it’s nice to have a happy ending, but throwing in the sudden twist in the last few minutes made it feel a bit too forced. Of course, though, I suppose I should have seen this coming since the show always had a lighthearted feel despite its somewhat dark contents.

Production: 6
Just the average stuff. The ED is starting to catch onto me a bit, but the show is over now anyway. I’m not sure if I should praise Silver Link for the creativity of the first episode or condemn them for the blatant recycling of scenes.

Mystery: 7
I really liked the mystery present in Tasogare Otome. The question of Yuuko’s memories was always present in the background even in the “monster of the week” episodes. Of course, the only downside is that it wasn’t exactly too difficult to guess what happened to Yuuko, but that could just be 20/20 hindsight at work.

Romance: 6
Aggressive girl persues passive boy. Well, this is new. Ok, so Teiichi did in fact reciprocate Yuuko’s feelings (to a certain extent), and they are a rather unusual couple. But then again, nowadays a human can get together with just about anything. Vampires? Yup. Werewolves? Done. Zombies? You bet. Furniture? Being raped by frustrated anime girls since Code Geass.

Bias: 0

Overall Rating: 7/10 (Good)
If you like supernatural, mystery, and romance, then you’re in for a treat. I would say that Tasogare Otome is just perfect for the average viewer with a slight inclination for those genres. Oh, and if you’re into ecchi, have no fear. There’s absolutely no shortage of Yuuko fanservice throughout the show. She practically flaunts her “assets” at Teiichi. Yeah, yeah, ok. I should probably stop before I start making Tasogare Otome sound like some generic ecchi anime. It’s definitely more than that; the fanservice is just an added bonus. Oh, and one last thing before I end. I’ve read that the anime actually differs significantly from the manga. Just a word of warning for the “purists” out there.

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.