Fate/Zero – Final Impressions

The last episode really built up to Fate/stay night, so I have hope that Ufotable may in fact do something in that regard sometime in the future.

Story: 8
There is no doubt that the LN is a masterpiece, but its complexities and the constraints on the anime mean that certain things are inevitably left out. I’ve heard that certain scenes will be added into the BDs, but we’ll leave that for another time. I guess the main problem with Fate/Zero, if it can even be considered as such, is that it is so intricate that viewers unfamiliar with the material may not be able to fully appreciate it. That said, if you are one of these people, it would do you well to read the LN and rewatch the show a few more times to get a better idea of what’s going on.

Production: 10
It’s Ufotable. Everything is shiny and glowy-looking. Even with so many battle scenes, the quality doesn’t take the noticeable dip that it usually does with most other shows. The music by Kalafina is a nice touch, but somehow I wasn’t as struck by the songs in Fate/Zero as the ones in Kara no Kyoukai. The BGM didn’t particularly stand out to me either.

Action: 10
Fate/Zero is quite literally action-packed. There are mages and heroic spirits duking it out in an epic battle to win a magical cup. What more could you possibly ask for? Ok, so the dialogue is less than exciting, as @fkeroge has previously mentioned, but I personally don’t mind if the conversations aren’t visually engaging (though it would be a nice touch). Instead, I focus on the contents of the conversation themselves, but I digress.

Thriller: 0
MAL has Fate/Zero tagged as a thriller as well. While this is technically appropriate, it isn’t really the main focus of the show.

Bias: 0

Overall Rating: 9/10 (Excellent)
Fate/Zero is a real treat to watch. It’s definitely very pretty, but of course, the looks don’t mean everything. Luckily, F/Z also has a solid story to back it up. Well, that may be an understatement. F/Z is actually quite deep and has some very intriguing philosophical concepts. As mentioned before, it may be difficult to catch onto everything without first reading the LN. Fortunately, unlike Kyoukai Senjou no Horizon, it’s not as if someone new to the series will be completely lost from watching the anime. If that still doesn’t cut it for you though, there are also awesome battles to top things off. Really, F/Z has almost everything that I like, except for a soundtrack that impresses me. Still, that’s more than enough to warrant my recommendation to just about anyone.

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fate/Zero – Final Impressions

  1. @fkeroge says:

    >Bias: 0

    What is this madness?

  2. windyturnip says:

    I agree that the action was some of the best I’ve seen in a long time, but the rest of it was rather mediocre. There was a huge drop in quality during dialogue scenes where we’d be presented with two talking heads for 5-10 minutes at a time. Fate/Zero had some brilliant moments, but they were overshadowed by long stretches of poorly displayed philosophy.

    Those stretches of philosophy would have been far more enjoyable had the characters actually been appealing. I’ll give F/Z big points for Rider who was one of my favorite characters of the season, but Kirei and Kiritsugu were so extreme I couldn’t connect with them at all. The way they ignored Kariya was borderline criminal as well.

    F/Z was disappointing because it let so much potential go to waste. It was a very good, but it should have been great.

  3. Carillus says:

    The reason I like Fate/Zero is very simple: It’s a combination of some of my biggest favourites of all time – Urobuchi, Kinoko Nasu, ufotable and Kajiura all in one big macabre package. All four are known pretty much for their ability to pull off DarkandEdgy – Urobuchi with his completely warped characters, Nasu with his screwball Nasuverse, ufotable with Kara no Kyokai and Kajiura for her haunting melodies.

    DarkandEdgy has always been my kind of thing. I’m a sucker for shows that deliver a straight cross right to the gut, whether by killing off half the cast (or more!) or otherwise making me feel downright terrible. Maybe I’m unconsciously masochistic or something.

Comments are closed.