Kore wa Zombie Desu ka? of the Dead – Final Impressions

This being my first “Final Impressions” review of an anime, I’ll take the time to explain how I’ll go about this so you’ll know what’s going on. I will first rate the anime in question on two very “general” categories: story and production. I will then rate the anime based on its genre (meaning there can be multiple ratings in this category). Finally, I will throw in a mysterious “bias” rating before doing some mathematical black magic to come up with an overal rating out of ten, as seen in MAL’s rating system. That said, let’s get started.

Story: 5
Kore wa Zombie 2 had a lot of potential given its fantastic premise and characters. Unfortunately, it failed to capitalize on these “resources” and managed to avoid any significant development throughout the entire season. Even the first season was more engaging, but perhaps that was because it had a whopping two more episodes to work with. Well, maybe not. I felt like I was jipped because I kept expecting some sort of conclusion with regards to the situation with Chris (aka Yousei-san), but perhaps my expectations were simply too high.

Production: 5
The soundtrack, OP, and ED, didn’t particularly stand out to me, but this is a normal occurance. Nothing stood out visually either. Again, this is not necessarily a bad thing.

Action: 4
Kore wa Zombie is tagged as action, but if you’re watching it for this reason, you’re looking in the wrong place.

Comedy: 6
Ah, here we have the “forte” of Kore wa Zombie. I’ve seen other people criticize it for getting “old” or “trite” after a while, but honestly, I don’t care too much about that if I’m looking for laughs. As long as it can even manage to squeeze a brief chuckle or grin out of me, it’s good enough. Really, if you’re analyzing comedy to such an extent, you’re doing something wrong. That’s not to say genuinely bad comedy doesn’t exist, but claiming Kore wa Zombie is “boring” is just outrageous. If that really is how you see it, then I feel sorry for your classy “comedy-aficianado” self for not being to enjoy good, simple comedy.

Bias: 0

Overall Rating: 5/10 (Average)
Watch Kore wa Zombie if you’re easily amused and are looking for laughs. If you’re looking for a riveting tale (or just about anything else, for that matter), you’ve come to the wrong place. Overall, I’d say that Kore wa Zombie is just another average anime. Now hold on. Before you fans start foaming at the mouth over how I can speak so lowly of such a “great” show, please take a deep breath and put on some comforting, calming music. Kore wa Zombie definitely isn’t a bad show; it just isn’t particularly outstanding. I have read that the anime differs slightly from the LNs, but before you bring up how good the novels are in its defence, let me remind you that this is strictly a review of the anime.

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Kore wa Zombie Desu ka? of the Dead – Final Impressions

  1. hiroy_raind says:

    I still can’t make it through when the students at the school (and everybody else in that world) were much more concerned about seeing a crossdresser rather than how he magically changed clothes, or fighting a huge squid that almost harmed another student.
    Correct me if the issue were tackled later though.

  2. bd77 says:

    Personally, I puke rainbows at the bawdy jokes and I like it. I’m weird, yes.
    Dammit… Ayumu is sooo lucky.

  3. Someone says:

    Good unbiased review. Not enough people are willing to rate decent shows a 5 or below.

    • Smiley says:

      I think the problem is that people seem to think a rating in the range of a 5 means that the anime is bad. In reality, MAL says that 5 means average. I actually rate the majority of what I watch as a 5. This isn’t too surprising though, when you consider the definition of “average”.

  4. Nopy says:

    There really is no story when you look back at what has happened, the series has just been all over the place. I really enjoyed it though, I loved the comedy and some of the things that the characters did were hilarious (ie: Tomonori and Haruna’s dance).

    • Smiley says:

      Haha. Yeah, the episode with them dancing was hilarious.

      To me, it felt like they were slowly developing some sort of plot regarding Chris in the background (Ayumu’s meetings with her), only to completely ignore it at the very end.

Comments are closed.