Some manga/visual novels/games that I wish there were anime of

Did you ever find yourself reading a good manga or playing an awesome game and thinking: “It would be great if there was an anime of this.”? I’m pretty sure you have, and so have I. This is a list of some of my favorite Japanese non-anime media that I so badly want anime adaptations of. Of course, I also implore you to try all of these if you haven’t yet and join me as I dream of the almost impossible.

Onani Master Kurosawa

The manga is simply amazing. The development of the characters is so well-done. Especially Kurosawa himself, whose characterization can be argued to be on par with Tomoya’s development in Clannad, which is saying quite a lot. Onani Master Kurosawa is a true coming of age story that is seasoned with just the right amounts of drama, psychology, sexuality and slice of life moments that will make you appreciate the characters not as an amalgamation of anime tropes, but as human beings that you can actually relate to.

Depicted: What the manga is NOT about.

Onani Master Kurosawa is my all-time favorite manga. If you haven’t read it yet, then what is wrong with you? Stop reading this post right now and go get the manga instead. It’s the only manga that I gave a perfect score of 10 in MAL, and most importantly, I can see this being adapted into a great 12-13 episode anime, or at least, better than what it’s supposed to be a parody of. Too bad that it’s only a doujin manga though.

How badly I want an anime adaptation: 10/10

Liar Game

Liar Game is awesome. Before Onani Master Kurosawa came, this was my favorite manga. It’s smart without being pretentious, and that’s about as high as a praise I can give for almost anything. The “games” that the characters play are very unique and twisted, and  if you like mind games like “Minority Rule”, “Downsizing Game” and “Contraband Game” as much as I do, you’ll get a real kick out of Liar Game.

Everyone on Liar Game is cunning in varying extents with the exception of the main character, Nao Kanzaki, who was extremely naive for the first few volumes. There is a trend in the manga that gives us more magnificent bastards as the story goes on. The mindscrew level of Liar Game is so out there, it puts pretentious crap like Death Note to shame.

One Outs, the only other original work by Shinobu Kaitani, got an anime adaptation in 2008, so I guess an anime for Liar Game is not that far fetched of a dream. For the meantime, I guess we’ll just have to be satisfied with the J-Drama.

How badly I want an anime adaptation: 9/10

Corpse Party

Tired of wannabe horror stories like Another? Thinking that anime is just not cut out for horror? Then perhaps you haven’t heard of Corpse Party yet.

Corpse Party is an RPG that mainly relies on its disturbing atmosphere, unholy sound effects, great (like, godly great. Just look at that cast list!) voice acting, and the occasional, yet very gory and unsettling, images. It did a good job of sending quite a few shivers down my spine while telling a pretty good, multi-layered story. I dare say, it’s a perfect combination of terror, mystery and good storytelling. So good that it led me into a full 8-hour marathon of the game.

Do I see Corpse Party being a great anime? Hell, yeah! Corpse Party relies more on what you can’t see than what you can. In fact, this is the strength of the horror genre in particular, something that Another didn’t take into consideration. With a few alterations to make the events flow seamlessly in a 12-13 episode anime, Corpse Party may very well be the best horror anime we can get our hands on if it comes to pass, yes, better than Higurashi. And oh, yeah. If you’re interested in the game, you can buy it from PSN for $19.99.

Just to drive home a point.

How badly I want an anime adaptation: 9.5/10

Sharin no Kuni, Himawari no Shoujo

“There is no such thing as society.” ~Margaret Thatcher

Easily one of the best visual novels of all time. Sharin no Kuni drew me in with its creative premise, but kept be reading for the amazing story and the even more amazing characters. Sharin no Kuni is a story of freedom from a cruel society, and believe me, this is one of the best that you’re ever gonna get. Nothing in Sharin no Kuni happens without meaning, and I mean nothing.

Did I mention that the characters are amazing? I did? Then let me say this once more: the characters are frickin’ amazing. They are pretty much awesomeness personified. If a character has a sprite, it is guaranteed that he/she will be awesome (well, except maybe for that one girl in the beginning who didn’t last long). Most of them start off defining the archetype the writers put them into, but they slowly evolve into some of the most realistic fictional people you will ever see. The main character in particular, may be one of the best main characters of all time.

Best line.

But the most important thing is, given that they stick close to the VN, Sharin no Kuni will definitely make it big when it’s adapted into an anime. Some people say that an anime is impossible given the nature of this VN, but that problem can easily be remedied with well-placed camera work.

How badly I want an anime adaptation: 10/10

Sono Hanabira ni Kuchizuke wo Series

Yes, I know that there’s already an OVA for Sono Hana, but hear me out. Currently, there are only three media franchises in the world that I become a gushing fanboy over: Madoka Magica, Saki and Sono Hanabira.

I don’t want to try to justify my love for the Sono Hanabira series because it simply one of those things that has everything I love for all the not-so-rational reasons. I love yuri, I love its brand of comedy, I love every single part of it. So much, that I joined the translation team for the visual novels.

Pictured: Best couple

The Sono Hana OVA did show some of the things that I loved about the franchise, but I really wanted more non-sexual interactions between the characters, as I think they were the best parts of the visual novels. The heart-attack inducing sweetness, the comedy, the very light drama and the unadulterated romance really puts Sono Hana above the purely yuri anime that exist today. Plus, they didn’t get to animate my favorite couple, Nanami and Yuuna, so I really, REALLY want to see more Sono Hana anime.

How badly I want an anime adaptation: 10/10

Girl Friends

Girl Friends is perhaps one of the very few shoujo titles that I really enjoyed. Of course, given that this is a yuri manga, this should not have come as a big surprise. Girl Friends is a story of two girls who started out as friends, who eventually end up wanting to be something more.

What this manga succeeds at, is embracing its premise and presenting its story in a very realistic and easy to relate manner, especially for girls. As Yi says, “This is yuri for the “girly girls.”” But I’m sure a lot of guys like me also loved this manga. It’s also extremely fashionable, making it a manga with a great taste for fashion… what the heck am I typing?

Anyway, I think it would really be awesome if Girl Friends was to be animated. I think given the length of the manga, Girl Friends would make a good 12-13 episode run.

How badly I want an anime adaptation: 7.5/10

Planetarian ~The Small Dream of a Little Planet~

Planetarian is one of the only two flagship works of Key (the other being their newest, Rewrite), that haven’t been green-lit for an anime production. In the case of Planetarian, the visual novel is pretty short (about 2~3 hours at most). It’s also the only work of Key to date that doesn’t have choices.

The story is set in a post-apocalyptic city ravaged by 30 years of biological and nuclear warfare. This setting sets up the mood to tell one of the most emotional stories about humankind in the eyes of a robot in the shape of a teenage girl, Yumemi Hoshino. It’s a truly gripping tale about some of the traits that humans have lost in the war, like trust, love and unity.

Planetarian would make a brilliant 3-4 episode OVA. Someone please make this happen.

How badly I want to see an anime adaptation: 10/10

If any one of these get an anime adaptation, I’ll be as happy as a lark and you won’t see me complain as much as I do nowadays.

About Lucas Magnus

Trying to change for the better.
This entry was posted in Editorials and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Some manga/visual novels/games that I wish there were anime of

  1. Seele00 says:

    You have good taste in choices. Also lmao >SonoHana

  2. Ristlin says:

    I totally agree with almost every single choice here~ (I didn’t read either of the mangas Srry ^^;) Rly need to fix my Sharin no Kuni… rage quit after losing all my saves lol xD

  3. Carillus says:

    Totally agree on Onani Master, Planetarian and Corpse Party. The rest I haven’t seen so I’m assuming I’m missing out on something, I’ll go check it out.

    But… I don’t think yuri’s my kind of thing. Like, what am I even doing on the AOIA team, then? :V

    • @fkeroge says:

      Yuri is not your thing? Blasphemy!

      Anyway, you should try these out, especially Liar Game.and Sharin no Kuni. You are most definitely missing out.

  4. Ritsuioko23 says:

    Wow you has good taste! Corpse Party would make an awesome anime! Never knew you liked yuri!

    • @fkeroge says:

      Well, I’m quite surprised that you just found out that I like yuri. I thought I made that fact clear lots and lots of times before.

  5. Baka-Raptor says:

    Onani Master Kurosawa is my hero. Probably what I look forward to the most is the soundtrack. Can’t imagine what kind of music they’ll use.

    • @fkeroge says:

      Now that you mention it, I’m quite curious as well. Will it be Death Note-esque with all the orchestra music? Haha.

      Kurosawa is EVERYONE’S hero.

  6. Yerocha says:

    Out of these, I’ve only read Liar Game and Girl Friends, but I definitely agree on both.

    • @fkeroge says:

      I do suggest that you try the others, especially Sharin no Kuni and Corpse Party (if you have a PSP). I can guarantee that they are close in quality, but in different genres.

  7. ce-l says:

    i wanted persona 4 to become an anime when i was playing the game and it turned out really bad😦 that aside corpse party would be an awesome horror anime

  8. Trollkastel says:

    I’ve heard of Corpse Party while trolling the blogospheres. I haven’t had the chance to actually find a copy and I’m too darn lazy to get myself a PSN account for my PSP. It’d be nice if there’s an adaptation of it; the horror genre in anime is less scarier than the cosplayers in the US.

    And I seriously need to read Sharin no Kuni. That’s been on my VN list since the dawn of time.

    I’m interested why you haven’t put Tsukihime into your list. I believe it has no anime yet and I think it’s one of the best visual novels out there waiting to be adapted.

    • @fkeroge says:

      Well, if you do get a PSN account, you should put Corpse Party on top of your list.

      Sharin no Kuni is one of those visual novels that you can read anytime. I don’t think time would affect its appeal at all.

      Tsukihime already has an anime. Let’s stop deluding ourselves, okay?

  9. Pingback: @fkeroge’s Super Subjective Reviews! – ABT Round 3, Group 5 Edition: Metanorn | Ambivalence , or is it ambiguity?

  10. Someone says:

    YES YES YES Onani Master 100% agree. That would be so amazing if someone could make a good adaptation of it. It’d be a total SHUT-UP-AND-TAKE-MY-MONEY scenario.
    This whole list is freakin’ fantastic. Haven’t heard of some of these before; you do a good job of describing why they’re awesome.
    Also, I would add a full TV series of Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind. The movie was amazing, but it only covered a small part the story and it’s my favorite manga of all time.

  11. Someone says:

    In addition, I could see 999: Nine Hours, Nine Persons, Nine Doors getting a good adaptation if it was handled properly. That game, even though I was really hyped up about it from my friends, totally blew me away with it’s great story, comedy, horror, characters, and setting.

  12. Pingback: L-DK and the Trend of Jerks who Cross the Line | cheratomo

  13. Pingback: Hoshi no Samidare: Pure Goodness | Ambivalence , or is it ambiguity?

  14. wakamoto says:

    Don’t read a lot of mangas, only seen Girl Friends on this list, but I agree with all the VN choices and Girl Friends as well, though tbh I’d put a lot more sutff on the “vn that needs to be adapted” list, even though 90% of them turn out to be shit. In fact, I’d say an adaptation for anything I’ve rated 8 or above: http://vndb.org/u1640.

    Biggest problem with these adaptations though is that companies don’t realize that vn and anime are two different mediums…. Only adaptation I liked as much as the original is probably Phantom of Requiem, rest of them range from decent but not as good to horribad not worth my time. I suspect that if Sharin no Kuni had an adaptation it’d be horribad because looseboy really made use of the medium’s strength, and a lot of it would most likely be lost in translation.

    If you liked sonohana series I would also suggest Sugar’s Delight, it’s not as good as sonohana and it’s an OEN , but one of the few that doesn’t suck and have a pretty similar overtone

Comments are closed.