@fkeroge’s Super Subjective [Mini] Reviews – Mid-Season Edition: Spring 2012 (Dropped)

Nothing like a good ol’ list of bad anime to complete a critic’s day. First part (watching) can be found here.

Lupin III – A Woman Named Fujiko Mine [7/13] (53, D+, – )

It has finally dawned upon me after seven damn episodes that I wouldn’t get much out of this Lupin III series. As fun as it is, I find myself forgetting all about what happened in the show the day after I watch an episode. I also get that nagging feeling that this would eventually suck given that Mari Okada is the one writing this. I had tons of fun watching it while it lasted, but yeah, my interest has slowly been going down for this show to the point that you’re seeing it here on this list.

Kids on the Slope (Sakamichi no Apollon) [5/11] (50, D+, – – )

A lot of people have been saying that Apollon got WAY better after episode 5, but I just couldn’t bring myself to pick up this animated excuse for a crappy J-Drama again. I was actively voicing my complaints about the show since the fourth episode and with another crappy episode, I just bailed out after the fifth. Sorry, but you can’t make me watch this pile of poo again even if you paid me.

Nyarlko: Another Creeping Chaos [7/12] (40, D, – – )

I suppose it was inevitable that I would drop this sooner or later. As a matter of fact, I’m amazed that I even lasted seven episodes. The show stopped being funny at around the third episode or so, where I suppose they eventually ran out of nonexistent jokes. Kana Asumi’s efforts can only keep my interest for so long, and she did quite a good job for the past seven weeks.

Tsuritama [4/11] (36, D-, – – )

Tsuritama is weird – and that’s about the only “praise” I can give this show. The novelty of Nakamura’s directing quickly wore of as I was eventually treated to endless repetition and fishing tips that I already knew (I fish). The characters also eventually started to annoy the living daylights out of me. While I was watching the fourth episode, I found myself getting distracted by various trinkets (a marker, a blank piece of white paper, a pin that says: ‘私百合’ and my busted DVI cable) I put on my table, something that only happens when I lose all interest in what I’m watching.

Mysterious Girlfriend X [5/13] (35, D-, – – )

Novelty is very deceiving. Just like “jazz” in Apollon. This is also the case for MGX. The show has managed to make absolutely nothing of interest happen in 5 episodes. As much as I hate to admit it, but the only thing that kept my interest in this show for so long is its peculiar dedication to make saliva as viscous and unrealistic as possible, which is probably the main attraction for this show anyway.

And on an (un)related note: I hate beach episodes.

AKB0048 [4/13] (22, F, – – )

Even though it’s unbelievably bad, AKB0048’s first few episodes was taking itself so seriously that I actually found the whole thing amusing. I watched the show for all the wrong reasons until around episode 3. From there, the misplaced entertainment that I derived from this horrendous show quickly deteriorated into just plain boredom. Like with Tsuritama, my table of trinkets kept me company for the duration of the fourth episode. It’s kind of amazing that I haven’t thought of writing stuff on the paper with my marker all this time.

Every other anime that I dropped after watching 3 episodes or less [Count: 12] (F, – – )

Sturgeon’s Law sets in, and it sets in hard.

_______

So there you have it. Now feel free to say to say that my taste sucks and be ready to receive an appropriate reciprocation.

About Lucas Magnus

Trying to change for the better.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to @fkeroge’s Super Subjective [Mini] Reviews – Mid-Season Edition: Spring 2012 (Dropped)

  1. Kai says:

    Funny, I haven’t started watching any of these, but was actually about to start Sakamichi no Apollon..

  2. Baka-Raptor says:

    That’s why I use ~, the – takes a life of its own in programs like wordpress. Observe:



  3. GoodbyeNavi says:

    Hahaha. I enjoy both Sakamachi no Apollon and Tsuritama. At first, I thought I would be disappointed with SnA but it finally improved for me. I still find one of the characters (Ritsuko) to be quite bland but I appreciate the maturer tone of the show. Tsuritama is weird and quirky. No disagreement there. The rest of the shows you mentioned outside of Lupin III, I had no interest in from the start.

  4. Nopy says:

    I agree with you whole-heartedly regarding Sakamichi no Apollon. After I said on my blog that it was a bad show after seeing the first episode, all of my readers got mad at me and pressured me into giving it a second chance. Episode 3 got me interested, but since then its been one huge disappointment.

    • @fkeroge says:

      Yeah, I read your entry about Apollon. To be honest, I was expecting quite a bit from it, which perhaps contributed a lot to why I ended up hating it.

  5. someone says:

    I posted earlier that it’s too bad you dropped Sakamichi because of the Jazz performance in episode 7, but aside from a few moments like that it really isn’t a good show. It’s just a love triangle that never goes anywhere, and if you removed the jazz the story would remain the same.

Comments are closed.