Kids on the Slope Episode 3

I’m seriously starting to think that people give this show too much credit.

That’s not to say the show isn’t good – it is, very much so. It’s just that Kids on the Slope isn’t the ground-breaking masterpiece everyone seems to be saying it is.

I think for a show to really stand out as an anime, it has to present itself in such a way that you’ll think: “If this wasn’t anime, this won’t be as effective.” Any form of entertainment can have a good story, realistic characters, et cetera, but I think this show lacks…  that anime-ish feel. Sure, it’s a good show and all, but I don’t think stuff like Apollon would be remembered in the long run for the sole reason that it’s just not “anime” enough.

Apollon can work as a live action drama, and I think it would have been better if that was the case. Story-wise, we have been treated to a teen romance thingy, the kind of stuff we usually see from those J-Dramas targeted at teenage girls. I was expecting more jazz and friendship, but I’m getting the feeling that this show will go deeper in angst levels and generic teen romance. Not necessarily a bad thing, as our director is clearly demonstrating his talents very well and making the most out of the material he has, but I think someone with Watanabe’s talent should be working on a different show altogether.

As for the technical aspects, I don’t have anything new to add. The animation’s great and the music is fabulous. I simply don’t approve of the general content very much.

So yeah, though I like Kids on the Slope, I really think that it’s highly overrated at this point.

This week’s post is short and kinda messy because of two reasons: one – because I don’t have much to say about this anime for now, and two – I just got a tutoring job, which means I won’t be blogging as often as I did a week ago. Hopefully, I’ll be back on track when my schedule becomes less taxing.

About Lucas Magnus

Trying to change for the better.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Kids on the Slope Episode 3

  1. Carillus says:

    It works as entertainment.
    That’s all that matters.

    • @fkeroge says:

      Is it really all that matters? I think that if it continues in this direction, my opinion of it will degrade so much. I’m just not into the Kimi ni Todoke style of romance stories.

  2. lvlln says:

    I gotta agree that I don’t see the show as being worthy of the reception it’s been getting. Definitely a great show, but, as you write, it’s just a live action drama in animated form. The rotoscoped music playing scenes sort of exemplifies just how much this show might as well but humans acting with drawings painted over.

    Still, I have to give it credit for telling human drama so well. It’s mature in a way that’s rare in anime. Thing is, there are other shows right now that are also excelling at that, namely Mysterious Girlfriend X and Space Brothers. And Sankarea and Tsuritama are doing drama very well – perhaps not quite as well as Kids of the Slope – and combining them with visuals that simply blow this show out of the water.

    • @fkeroge says:

      The rotoscoped music playing scenes sort of exemplifies just how much this show might as well but humans acting with drawings painted over.

      ^This.

      When it comes to human drama, this show does about as well as how Da Vinci painted the Mona Lisa. Realistic, well-rounded, but lacks kick. As you’ve said, MGX and Space Bros are doing equally as well in this aspect, but both shows have more creativity than Apollon.

  3. Pingback: Episodic Blogging at AOIA | Ambivalence , or is it ambiguity?

  4. If you want your no-matter-what anime-ish feeling then for you, slice-of-life series shouldn’t exist in the first place; they could be simply j-dramas. The same goes for all Satoshi Kon’s and Makoto Shinkai’s movies, right?
    Sakamichi might not be as groundbreaking as Cowboy Bepop but it still shines in unique ways. You wouldn’t get this shiny and all romantic atmosphere without getting either too silly or too sucharine in a j-drama. 2D stories have a whole other kind of appeal than their adaptions with real actors. You can relate easier and the ambience is kept at balance since 2D dwells between imagination and reality.
    I just thought I would state my disagreement, because really, I hadn’t fallen in love while watching an anime for a long time

    • @fkeroge says:

      I disagree. Slice of life shows can make themselves stand out from what live action can do. Do you think K-On! would work if it wasn’t an anime? This is what I’m saying here. Though Sakamichi is a solid show, I didn’t think it deserved the very warm reception it has been getting, especially since the first three episodes were the kind of stuff that you can expect from J-Dramas.

      Though now that I’ve seen the latest episode of Sakamichi, I now found something that sets it apart from crappy J-Dramas, and I have a new respect for it.

      • I haven’t watched K-ON and usually avoid moe stuff. If K-ON’s strong point was the cutesy factor, then I think it could work with highschool Japanese girls pretty fine. I’ve watched here and there female seiyuu at interviews and they act overly cute… What I was making a point about is that you wouldn’t be equally enchanted by real drums and the polished shiny animated drums. Animation filters reality and makes it more beautiful, more sentimental. And since they are fictional characters you still can find easier more of yourself in them. With actors, human beings with flesh and bones and their own real lives, you can’t identify that easily. Anyways, I guess each to their own.

        I’m glad you’ve come to appreciate it in the end 🙂

Comments are closed.