@fkeroge’s Super Subjective Reviews! No.6 – Aria

Despite the petition to write a review for Mars of Destruction (I can see that you guys hate me.) leading the polls as of this writing, I have decided, for now, to write a review for one of the classics that I have finished recently.

Aria is a science fantasy manga by Kozue Amano turned anime series. Aria is set in the 24th century, where Mars has been terraformed and colonized to resemble Earth. The story follows a young girl named Akari Mizunashi who works as a gondolier for a small company in the city of New Venezia.

Let’s get this over with. Aria is a very strange anime in a sense that it is very memorable, yet also very boring at the same time. No… perhaps “boring” isn’t the correct word to use here. Aria is well-known for its slow and laid back pace, making it the perfect anime for people with busy lives and hectic schedules. For a college student like myself, Aria was something that I watched during those busy school days.

The first thing that I noticed about the anime is that it is downright gorgeous. I’m a very big fan of architecture, no matter the origin, so seeing the buildings, the bridges, and everything in between is a very welcome treat.

And speaking of treats, the music is probably the best thing about this anime. I rarely comment about music in anime, but I cannot let the opportunity to praise Aria’s music pass. The opening song is very relaxing, complementing the already laid back theme of the anime. The same could be said about every piece of background music in the anime too.

One of the things that I also liked about this anime is the relationships between the characters. I really felt that there was genuine friendship between the girls, and not just excuses to get them together. They compliment each other, they tease each other, and pretty much do the stuff that friends do. It doesn’t feel pretentious at all.

However, Aria is an anime that really tries one’s patience. There are times where I got extremely uninterested in anything that was happening on screen, that one episode of Aria seemed like an entire movie. Due to the slow pace of the anime, it can get really boring if you find yourself uninterested in whatever the characters are doing or talking about.

Aria also has a strange inclination toward “embarrassing” dialogue. The characters, especially Akari, usually make remarks that are so idealistically awkward, I could feel goosebumps up my whole body while listening. Perhaps it’s because the remarks themselves aren’t what you would expect to come from normal people, but I really wanted to be the one to say “Hazukashii serifu kinshi! (Embarrassing lines are not allowed!)” instead of Aika. I guess its part of Aria’s charm, but I just can’t bring myself to like it.

But despite these “faults”, Aria does its job well, which is to provide its viewers with a well-deserved reprieve from the hubbub of modern life, as well as provide a very memorable experience. It’s not exactly my kind of anime, but I sure did enjoy it for what its worth. I gave Aria my personal MAL rating of 6, which, given how I rate anime harshly, is a pretty good score.

Will you be willing to watch Aria the Natural and Aria the Origination, then?

I guess I will. When life gets busy again once the new term starts, I’ll have two more seasons of embarassing remarks and heavenly music.

As an aside, I want you guys to help me with that poll again.

About Lucas Magnus

Trying to change for the better.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to @fkeroge’s Super Subjective Reviews! No.6 – Aria

  1. Baka-Raptor says:

    As big an Aria fan as I am, I’ll be the first to admit that it can get very boring at times. I nearly dropped it by the fourth episode, and it took me the whole first season to come away with a substantially positive opinion of it. After season 1 it was a +; after season 2 it was ++; after season 3 it was +++. It’s worth giving the next seasons a shot. It doesn’t really get better; you just may like it more.

    • @fkeroge says:

      Yeah, I also had times where I really wanted to drop this anime.

      I have heard from a lot of people that this is one of those anime that get really, really good with each succeeding seasons, so I’m pretty excited about it actually.

    • Smiley says:

      This is one of those reputable shows that I have yet to watch simply because it looks like I would be bored. Perhaps one day I’ll work up the motivation to check out why everyone praises it so.

      Incidentally, I looked up Mars of Destruction on MAL after seeing it mentioned here. I can see why everyone wants you to review it now.

  2. Pingback: Episodic Blogging at AOIA | Ambivalence , or is it ambiguity?

  3. Yi says:

    As I think you may have guessed, I’m a huge huge fan of Aria, but I do understand how people can find this pace, atmosphere, and story too slow, too passive, and just too boring. In fact, I tried watching it with my brother and my sister on separate occasions, and on all of them, they fell asleep within minutes. Even I myself like to fall asleep to Aria, albeit not because it’s boring but because it’s relaxing. I guess iyashikei just isn’t for everyone, but what really is?

    Also, I love the genuine relationship between the girls as well!

    • @fkeroge says:

      The occasional moments of disinterest that I had with Aria wasn’t due to the fact that I felt sleepy while watching. Rather, as I’ve said in the post, it tried my patience. I was waiting and waiting for something interesting to happen, but sometimes, it just didn’t deliver. I never had this problem with other Iyashikei anime like Tamayura, so I was wondering if my problem was just my lack of attachment to the characters.

Comments are closed.