Spring 2012 First Impressions – Hyouka

Those eyes...

Well, I have to say, I’m very impressed…

…at Hyouka’s ability to BORE ME TO DEATH. This… this is an insult to the talented animators of Kyoto Animation!

Absolutely nothing of interest happens in this godforsaken show! Girl locked in club room? Big deal! Ghost in music room? A very fresh idea! Dammit, KyoAni! I never thought a day would come that I would hate any of your works that aren’t called The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya. Boring dialogue, bland characters, dull exposition, uninteresting mysteries and godly animation does not make for a winning formula, people!

I literally spent the entire episode looking at the background people and the gestures of the characters just so I could find something to praise in this show. Animation is the best I’ve seen this season, that’s for sure – but everything else here is just so damn boring that I found it very difficult to even care about anything that’s happening. While I was watching I found myself thinking about:

  • how the OP looks great
  • how well the janitor walking with the ladder is animated
  • how the arms in the music room “horror story” look awesome
  • the great attention to detail in the club recruitment posters
  • the falling Kanji
  • how well they animate people walking and writing stuff
  • how the backgrounds look very nice

Yep, everything there is to this show is excellent animation. If you’re an extreme animation enthusiast, you would really enjoy this. If you’re anything but that, you probably will not. Dropped. Faster than the speed of light.

In before raging KyoAni fanatics.

About Lucas Magnus

Trying to change for the better.
This entry was posted in First Impressions and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring 2012 First Impressions – Hyouka

  1. Nya-chan Production says:

    I think I just had an orgasm from your description. Downloading at the speed of light~

  2. Pingback: I Apologize for Bashing Hyouka (On Good Mystery Writing) | Ambivalence , or is it ambiguity?

Comments are closed.