Spring 2012 First Impressions – Angling Ball (Tsuritama)

BRAINWASHING WATER GUN!

Now here’s a unique show if I ever saw one.

My only experience with Kenji Nakamura’s director work was [C], and it was a pretty unique and entertaining show, albeit being quite badly written. The thing that stuck to me with [C] is that he can make bizarre things in your anime feel appropriate, the disjoint feel of the CGI Financial District in [C] for example. He does something similar here in Tsuritama.

However, since he’s now backed up with a more competent studio, his directing style really takes center stage. If I were to list some wacky anime directors, he’s up there along with Akiyuki Shinbou and Kunihiko Ikuhara. They have a thing for the bizarre, and they are sure as hell good at it.

The first thing that one should notice about Tsuritama is that it’s color palette choice is very bright and lively. It’s a really nice contrast from Kids on the Slope’s more mellow atmosphere. Everything here is colorful and vibrant that it’s hard to not be happy about it.

Another thing I noticed about Tsuritama is the creative use of imagery. Like the other two directors I mentioned earlier, he can make mundane situations, like being extremely anxious on your first day in a new school, look very refreshing, not to mention funny. Visual metaphors like drowning in an imaginary sea is pretty unique as far as I know. While Nakamura is probably the most inventive of the three, I feel that his style is the one that’s most likely to mess up… he’s just too creative. I hope that doesn’t happen here though.

The characters are quite interesting, even though at this point, I barely know anything about them. I mean come on! A hyperactive kid who claims to be an alien with a brainwashing water gun? An Indian guy voiced by Tomokazu Sugita having lunch with a duck? Why the heck not!? I LOVE THIS F*CKING SHOW!

ORE NO NA HA JACK!

…. phew.

And there’s the grand saving the world theme. I have no idea what fishing will have to do with these guys saving the world – but hey, this is anime, the only medium of entertainment brazen enough to claim that tennis killed the dinosaurs, so I’m all for whatever Tsuritama plans to hurl in my face, and I will enjoy it.

About Lucas Magnus

Trying to change for the better.
This entry was posted in First Impressions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring 2012 First Impressions – Angling Ball (Tsuritama)

  1. Mira says:

    It’s very interesting to see Nakamura compared to both Akiyuki Shinbo and Ikuhara. I’m quite sure Nakamura has worked with Shinbo in the past with Soultaker while Ikuhara may have been a less obvious influence because they were both working for Toei in the past? I see him as a director who applies whatever he’s attained from his seniors and put his own spin to it– not easy when they’re the aforementioned names.

    Nakamura is probably the most inventive of the three, I feel that his style is the one that’s most likely to mess up… he’s just too creative.

    I feel the same way, sometimes I think he gets carried away with these things which worrying yet exciting. Can’t wait to see how Tsuritama turns out!

Comments are closed.