Spring 2012 First Impressions – Kids on the Slope

Another classy logo.

Before the post proper, I would like to apologize for the wait on this post. I was at an anime convention with a bunch of friends all day yesterday, so I was pretty beat up when I got home. Also, I would like you guys to help me with something:

Sorry, guys. I’m gonna blog Saki no matter what. You can always tell me to blog all of them in the comments, but I’m not sure I I can commit myself to writing about three shows. Anyway, it’s noitaminA time!

What can I say? No doubt, Kids on the Slope started strong. I was smiling as soon as the opening song started playing, and that can only be a good sign.

The anime itself seems to be a down to earth story of teenagers finding their passion for that great genre of music called jazz. While my love for easy listening music like jazz will put more than a bit of bias in my perception towards the show, I’m sure I’m not alone in saying that the music in Kids on the Slope is the greatest this season so far. It’s a very refreshing change from all that crappy pop music that I always hear in the radio these days.

The animation’s nothing to laugh at either. The fight between Sentarou and the seniors was pretty well done, and that awesome drum solo animation is easily one of the best piece of animated work that I have seen in my life, on par with Angel’s piano playing in the Angel Beats! opening. The overall art style and color palette choice for this show really does add that feel of a mellow, laid-back atmosphere from the 60s. It’s easy on the eyes and very pleasant to watch.

There’s not much to say about the characters as of this episode. They’re pretty much normal teenagers by reality’s standard. A socially-awkward genius that seems to have some problems at home. We have your scarily realistic free-spirited delinquent with a heart of gold, and lastly, a nice, realistic girl. This is not to say that the characters are bad, far from it. Though they fit their respective archetypes, they are “flavored” enough to distinguish themselves.

As for the story, not much has been told in this episode – mainly introduction of our characters and the laying down of the general premise. It’s a tried and tested method in storytelling, and judging by what I saw here, this show can only get better, and the music, remain awesome. You have truly outdone yourself this time, Mr. Shinichirou Watanabe.

About Lucas Magnus

Trying to change for the better.
This entry was posted in First Impressions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Spring 2012 First Impressions – Kids on the Slope

  1. This was – this was brilliant. By far the best episode of the spring anime that I’ve seen so far. As soon as the episode ended I googled Art Blakey and The Jazz Messengers. Downloading ‘Moanin’ right now.

  2. Nya-chan Production says:

    Voted for Sakamichi as Nazo no Kanojo is lovely, but still has a manga which I’ve read :>

  3. Emperor J says:

    I went for Nazo no Kanojo as I think fewer people are blogging that show in general.

  4. kluxorious says:

    noitaminA is back is all I can say. Brilliant show indeed.

Comments are closed.