Spring 2012 First Impressions – Place to Place

Arrows seem to be a recurring theme here.

Place to Place may probably be the cutest anime I have seen so far.

Unfortunately, being cute doesn’t instantly make a show good. This anime suffers from a chronic case of poor comedic taste. Unless you find generic manzai routines or cliched anime humor to be hilarious, this show has nothing much to offer outside the diabetes-inducing KAWAII levels.

Now, I’m a very big fan of cute, and that fact may have pulled up my opinion of this show a couple of notches, but the comedy is just so dull and uninspired that I wanted to bang my head on the floor. Half of the attempts at being funny involves someone acting like a fool and another character calling them out on it. The other half has the characters nosebleeding, being clumsy and randomly sprouting cat ears . Yep, stay classy.

But for what it’s worth, the jokes are tied together pretty well. That means that there are no disorientating shifts from one gag to the next, and the flow of the anime unexpectedly natural, contrary to what one would expect from a 4-koma anime.

This scene is the closest that the show managed to get a smile from me.

I don’t hold anything against Place to Place as it is a very harmless anime. It won’t be one to drain your brain in a good way like Azumanga Daioh or in a bad way like, say, Kill Me Baby, but like I said, it’s a very cute but dull 4-koma adaptation, and nothing much else.

About Lucas Magnus

Trying to change for the better.
This entry was posted in First Impressions and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Spring 2012 First Impressions – Place to Place

  1. Nya-chan Production says:

    “Unfortunately, being cute doesn’t instantly make a show good. ”

    Oh yes, yes it does |:

    Well, another show to watch after Kill Me Baby ;>

  2. Cholisose says:

    It’s a fluff show, but this first episode was pretty fun and adorable. I’m not a big fan of the character designs or the cliche personalities, but I laughed several times at their wacky antics. I’ll have to see how the next ep or two goes.
    And hey, Kill Me Baby was awesome! 😄

    • @fkeroge says:

      I just used Kill Me Baby as an example because I haven’t seen much 4-koma adaptations, and by far, it’s the least good one that I’ve seen.

Comments are closed.