My blog? Who reads your blog anyway?

People writing on the internet! Haha! Let's hurt their feelings!

The Aniblog Tourney is set out for, in its own words, altruistic reasons such as ‘being a tool to help readers to discover new blogs’. Yet we all know that in the end, it’s actually a giant game of #aniblogpopularitycontest2012. The more comments, the more readers you have…right? The more readers you have, the more page views, and the more popular your blog is…right?

Wrong.

For instance, this reminds me of a conversation I’ve had on Twitter once:

That wasn’t the full conversation, but nonetheless, it was more of a circlejerk of mutual pity rather than a conversation. You get the point. Bloggers seem to get the idea that the more blog views that they have, the more readers they have. I understand this point. AOIA has actually a small, core group of readers and passerbys who ask for blog link exchanges and then never show up here ever again. I’m okay with that. What the blogview counter at the bottom does, however, is create the illusion of great traffic and generate interest. “Maybe we have tonnes of readers who get here to read, not comment!”
The truth is that a lot of our hits actually do come from Google search results, most notably for the word ‘lolicon’ (sigh) and in the imgres section. But these blog views gave me the idea of an illusionary audience. An audience that is simply much smaller than I thought it to be. This is the exact same problem I see in many other blogs, especially those which are full of content and those which like doing things like “Wallpaper post #671832”.

To quote GloTheLegend, he once said that most of the reason why he managed to get about 1k views per day sometime back was because he had simply written a crapload of posts, and google does the work for him. But can we deny that his blog is popular? We can’t. Yet we can’t prove it either. If we stripped away all the blogviews, we’d see that we would rank rather lowly due to our sparse comments. Yet this is also no way to prove that we have no readers.

I would know. I’m an outlier as well. I read blog posts from feeds and never comment. I think about what they say, make my own judgements, then move on to the next post. You know why?Thinking of a good comment and logging in takes time. Even without the logging in, the writing alone is stifling enough. One good comment is hard enough. One good comment times 256 is bonkers.

So what in the world is our ‘real’ readerbase? As anibloggers, how should we gauge our reach and audience? May the aniblog tourney reveal all of this to us. Perhaps that is its purpose- to show us who really reads our blog, and to shed light upon our faceless readers hiding in the darkness.

About Valence

I blog things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to My blog? Who reads your blog anyway?

  1. Nya-chan Production says:

    The good blog can be recognized by me reading it, of course ;x

  2. feal87 says:

    Challenge accepted! 😀

    • feal87 says:

      Now seriously talking, yes blog views are not the best indicator to understand how many readers you have.
      Unfortunately speaking you don’t have much other way to understand the truth behind each single reader. Even watching Google Reader’s stats is merely “indicative” as only a few percentage of users use it.
      In the end what we can do is write quality content and ignore these useless talks about which e-peen is the biggest. 😀

      • Valence says:

        We’re not talking about e-peen here. The problem here is that not everyone who visits your blog or my blog is necessarily a reader of the blog. WordPress tracks everything, so the google searches for images and whatnot count as ‘blog views’. I mean, that’s the sad thing – the fact that the internet’s biggest anime blog e-peen contest is the only way to adequately measure our readerbase, and perhaps, our own e-peen.

        #thingsthatsoundweirdoutofcontext

        • feal87 says:

          Yes, stats are pointless by definition because I may open your post 1000 times without reading it and I would still count as a reader!

          Nope, it doesn’t measure anything either because the number of voters partecipating is too small to be a valid statistic.
          Why do you think RandomC didn’t win last time? Because he lacked voters? Not really, simply his readers didn’t even knew he was in the tourney in the first place or weren’t interested in partecipating as voters.
          Or do you really think that Listless Ink have MORE readers than RandomC? 😉

          Its pointless to try and search for recognition in either place imho. Let’s just do our job as bloggers and that’s it. 😛

          • Valence says:

            I’m not talking about recognition either. What concerns me is the definition of ‘reader’ . To me, it’s more than just someone who glances. It’s someone who cares. RandomC hardly said anything much about the tourney. And so his readers hardly knew or cared as well. That’s different, I suppose.

            It’s rather sad that not even the tournament, what seemed like the biggest way to measure your aniblog’s e-peen (at least, the most hyped up one), is able to truly tell you who really reads your blog.

            I guess another factor in the tournament are the voters who read neither of the two blogs being pitted against each other. I suppose at first glance people would like Yi’s blog more solely because of its more personal feel. Kind of like the pepsi-coke taste test.

            Nonetheless, let us do our job as bloggers, and slowly, and surely, our, or at least, my faceless audience will reveal itself.

  3. moichispa says:

    You failed to notice the category of I’m good enough in English to read it but I’m not good enough to reply. I have been in that category for years so I understand it.
    Where I supposed to go to vote you guys, I have no idea.

    • Valence says:

      ;_; i’m sorry

      Also the voting isn’t out yet, but it’ll be at aniblogtourney.wordpress.com. We (AOIA) will be up for voting on the 19th of April.

  4. Yamadipati says:

    I don’t know exactly about the aniblogosphere reader base, but i think it might or might not be similar to the figure realm.

    To me, i know who, and what my readers are. I know personally every and each one of those who comment and those who just came just to read i know what they’re looking for and what interest them. It’s a combination of Search term analyzing, post read count and what post was read.

    Do i try to shape my blog to cater to their needs? No. I did it like when i started my blog. I don’t post figure news, i only post figure preorder and announcement news only those I WANT TO GET.

    Do i post my comics and thoughts to please others? Definitely not.

    Because i started a blog for one reason, sharing and finding similarly passionate folks. If they just skim through it and not commenting, i never hold anything against them. That’s what sharing means, to give even though the receiving party might or might not accept it.

    This what drives me to make more quality posts instead of just posting every day.

    • Valence says:

      I know that feel. When I started the audience was rather small.When one of them left the aniblogosphere, I was sad about it. Genuinely sad. I even wrote a post about it to say farewell.

      But as times pass, more and more people come and go. Some familiar faces still stick around, but others hardly show up. I don’t hold anything against the people who are interested yet never comment. I see myself as one of those people.

      Yet it is different when you have the proof to show that many of these page views come from images. Images searched up that, by coincidence, linked to this blog. A huge chunk of our daily views come like this, so I couldn’t help but wonder whether this was the same for others.

      • Yamadipati says:

        For figure blogs (at least from mine) 10% came to my blog from direct images, 50% came because they know what they’re looking for, and 40% because they’re looking for a specific figure that i happen to have/reviewed/made a comic out of

        • Valence says:

          I estimate that 20% came for images, 30% came because they frequent us, and 50% were looking for things conveniently written about here on AOIA.

  5. fabricerequin says:

    But then again how would we know how much a blog is getting in traffic if they dont disclose it nor have a Counter like you have?

    I try not to bother with the views, I get only on average about 100 a day well its a lot to me, As long as people who read and take their time to comment then im more than satisfied.

    People should just focus on content then views.

    • Valence says:

      I’m not saying we should focus on views, but views are a good measure to see how well your content is received. The only problem I have, is how good a measure it is.

  6. Naru says:

    Ouch. >_> I felt targeted when you mentioned people that want to exchange links and never come back.
    I’ve been reading this blog way before I had the courage to ask a link exchange, but sadly I remained a ghost reader like I always have been– sorry about that.

  7. Canne says:

    The numbers are not good indicators. All we can do is think positively. I always think that there must be a few people out there who read my post and was inspired to do something great in their lives.

  8. Most of my blog views are from countless amounts of people searching for anime-related pics and spam opening all my pics. So I get your point in this post. However, we also have the nice little core of readers that read out blog often.

    But the main point of blogging is not for the views or comments after all. To me, it’s just a fun platform to express your views and thoughts about various topics, in our case, Anime and Manga.

    However, it’s still nice to know people read and comment on your blog after all~

  9. chikorita157 says:

    Pageviews, visits, comment numbers doesn’t necessarily mean the blog is a good one. The latter is more so because most of the traffic comes from people using search engines. So, generally quality posts that is unique or creative tends to win out… although some good discussion is also a plus.

Comments are closed.