Otaku Time management

A nice view gets attention ^.^

One of the foremost problems of becoming an “avid” Otaku would the immense problem with time management. When I first started out on the Otaku path, I never watched airing anime and I would spend maybe 2 weeks watching a 12 episode anime. It didn’t strain my time as I did have quite a bit of spare time afforded by my studying habits (which is to say I hardly studied).

Too..much...hnnngh

However, as I got more into the Japanese animation culture, the whole “Otaku-ness”, I realised that more and more of my time was being used to fuel the hobby, undoubtably a problem many Otakus will face, especially if one is still studying. I would watch 24 ep anime in marathons (only when I had the time too of course) and I bean watching a huge number of airing anime (a huge number from my POV of course). Hence, that began the battle too juggle my time.

For those that don’t know me personally (which y’all won’t since I try to stay mostly anonymous), I juggle between my studies at a rather prestigious school (which means I have a standard to keep up…), Gaming, Warhammer 40k painting and tabletop, Anime and manga along with blogging and whatever other things I do in my spare time (Exercise, reading books etc).

And as a student, more and more of my time is forced to be spent on the studying aspect. I spend 7 and a half hours in school in average and in addition to all the other things I have to do every day, I usually only have 3 hours to myself if I choose not to study anything and just complete my homework. Yes, that would normally be considered a luxury but it’s not that much of one since “me time” is usually interruptered by others.

Inception!!

There’s no way we as Otaku would be satisfied with “I’ll watch 2 eps tonight”. There’s always the whole idea of “I love this show, I wanna watch more of it. Right now”. It’s that concept of not getting our daily “fix”. We always feel like we have not watched enough anime or read enough manga. So most of us would tend to pick up large amounts of anime and manga to read/watch at one time, which compounds our problem as we want to watch as many episodes of each anime as possible. It’s the same for manga as we want to read as many chapters as humanely possible. I have stayed up till 4am (I wake up at 5am btw) to read as many chapters as possible of a number of manga (I read a total 15 complete volumes that night). To put it simply, it’s an addiction.

You just want to watch more anime and read more manga. It’s an insatiable thirst and it can only be sated for short periods with frequent bouts of anime binge watching.

So in an over elaborate post, I think I’ve properly described the problem most Otakus face. As most of us tend to be young-ish, it means we’re still studying and will have encounter this problem at some point in time. So to all that suffer the same problem as me, We’ll pull through comrade!!!

P.S – Just as a disclaimer, I know that some amongst us have superior time management skills but no dobut, you would have experienced something similar once where your need to watch anime overrides all other responsibility

About Manfred Tham

Manfred can typically be found hiding from people behind his computer screen or a tall pint. However you can easily contact him in any given video game where he will either insult you or be really nice to you. In addition his nerdiness transcends the digital plane when he partakes in the arcane rituals of rolling dice in both table-top and board games. Disregarding the countless hours he has logged into games, Manfred loves nothing more than cooking food to satisfy his craving for Northern European cuisine or to sip away from the many bottles of whiskies he fondly defaults to. Manfred is also what is commonly known as a “metalhead” with a penchant for both symphonic and power metal. Manfred summarises his life philosophy with a quote by Samuel L.Jackson, but it has been redacted for being far too vulgar.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Otaku Time management

  1. i’ve only been watch the seasonal stuff.
    i don’t care a lot for manga, but i’ll read some that interest me.
    so time isn’t usually a problem. i don’t think i watch enough to be considered an otaku.

  2. Azure says:

    It is a known fact that I don’t study much. I pretty much spend my time on drawing and reading/watching stuff; luckily I have 8 hours in school to do the former. And I still sleep at 12 and wake at some unholy hour like 3 or 4 just to get shit done. Its a wonder how I pulled through my secondary school life.

    On a positive note, at least you aren’t taking the O level art paper; I will never attempt staying awake for 3 days straight ever again.

  3. Cely_belly says:

    We’ll pull through!! ^0

    You don’t know how good it feels to hear that. I’m afraid that might happen to me again this upcoming semester. I start classes this Monday and I will probably be yearning for anime time. (╥﹏╥)

    I’m not much of a manga reader and part of it is because I’m afraid I’ll spend too much time on it when I’m already spending so much time on anime you know. I’ve got to manage my time wiser during school.

    Sigh…Otaku Life. XP

  4. Jay says:

    I thought I have a lot of time in my hands but the reality is I don’t. Thanks for sharing this.

  5. Valence says:

    Simple solution: abandon sleep, sleep during recess.

    Saves time, money, and makes you lose weight. What’s there to lose?

  6. Overlord-G says:

    Superior Time Management…that made me laugh out loud. Considering your…extremely picky personality (Or so I’ve heard), you have it much easier than I do. I have 12 ongoing shows to keep up with (and that’s not counting the older shows on my reviewing schedule) and my current 3rd year isn’t exactly going as planned. Ah well, I’ve pulled through out of worse situations.

    Overall, it’s not easy being an animeniac but I don’t regret this lifestyle one bit. After all, once I graduate, LIFE begins and I’ll be forced to diminish “OG-Time” because I’ll..dare I say it, BE GETTING PAID! That way, more anime, more video games and more gifts for my future girlfriend.

  7. Pingback: When do we stop blogging? | Ambivalence , or is it ambiguity?

  8. @fkeroge says:

    Just keep dishing out posts like these, and we’ll keep the comments rollin’!

    Interesting that you mention addiction. Yes, to a certain degree, anime fans are addicted to Japanese cartoons, while some are more deep into their addiction than others. For one, I consider myself to be fairly deep into this addiction, as I already went as far as to spend a lot of money and time to satiate my hunger for this particular pastime.

    I spend an average of 10 hours a day in class, and mix all that up with family, friends, research, homework, anime and online obligations and now I hardly even have enough time to get 4 hours of sleep a day. I can always give up anime and blogging, but it has now stuck to me as more of a necessity than a want.

    • I’m not that far yet but I think I’m getting close to your level. I recently blew $70 for a Black Rock Shooter Figma and $50 on an artbook…

      But it’s not that bad an addiction right ^.^

    • And I like writing such posts ^.^

      I do such stuff mostly here and reviews on my blog because I don’t think the readers would want to endlessly read reviews. Happily, when I think I got something good, I post on both blogs

  9. Pingback: Are Anime Characters Drawn White or Asian? | The Otakuologist

  10. Nopy says:

    Having gone through 17 years of schooling (I’m so happy that I’m done), I can tell you that it’s better to give up an episode or two of anime a night in order to get better grades. Anime comes and goes and almost all of the material is recycled, so if you miss something, you’ll likely find another series that’s exactly the same in the future. School grades, on the other hand, are stuck with you forever and are meant to represent the best of your abilities. If there’s a series you really want to see, you can always save it for when you finish school and get a job, like I have.

  11. Pingback: The Eternal Otaku problem | Ambivalence , or is it ambiguity?

  12. Pingback: The Eternal Otaku problem – Reblogged from AOIA « Interests of a Psychopath

Comments are closed.