The Perceptivity of Life

20120130-230900.jpg

This post is partially a follow-up to my previous post on why I don’t watch “generic” anime (Yes, the one with loads of comments) and also partially to discuss my views on a certain matter at hand. You see, I’ve been having some really deep conversations with my friends and such lately and one of the points they brought up was that I happen to be very vocal about my opinions on anything. As they said, I was frank to the extent I seemed to be a dick.

As to how it links to this post, that’s very simple. One matter I’m always giving my opinion on is other people’s taste in music. If you happen to know me to a certain extent, you might know that I love the Metal genre and I have a veritable grudge against pop and techno/electronic in general with a few songs as exceptions.

To put it simply, whenever I voice my opinions, people tend to get annoyed because I’m very frank and I never beat around the bush. If I don’t like the song, I’ll say it to your face and if I think it’s the case, I will also tell you that your taste in music sucks, which of course annoys others and leads to a heated argument (unfortunately, I seem to do this stuff often against people who are easily offended).

20120130-231250.jpg

And now, back to the post. I will explain in a full expository form my argument against such easily offended people. Everything in Life is perceptive to the individual. There is no exception to this rule. How “good” something is, totally depends on the individual. And now you see how this kinda links to some of the points I made in that above mentioned post.

If I don’t enjoy a particular genre of music, it’s “bad” according to me. It’s not in any way complete shit because somewhere, someone will enjoy it. One rebuttal used against my line of argument was “This band is good because they are the top of the charts”. And that is in no way a good rebuttal. This also applies to anime and any other form of media.

20120130-231433.jpg

If a band/show/movie/book is popular, it does not mean it’s completely “good”. It only means it sells well and has lots of people willing to view/listen to it. That means to those people, the media is “good”. There will always be people that don’t like it. For example, I hated the movie Titanic and thought it was completely retarded. And just because it’s popular is no indication that the show is “good”. Once again, it’s all perceptive. So why a band/anime/movie/book is popular is no clear indication as to how “good” is it. It just sells well. Maybe they advertise well. Maybe they have a demographic that appeals to a lot of people. Or maybe they’re just new and upcoming hence people are willing to buy them.

Here’s another line of argument. The band is “good” because they’re songs are “good” as they know how to make a song. They have rhythm, good vocals and instrumentals which means they must be “good”. Once again, that’s a big No. Of course it doesn’t mean they’re “good” to everyone that listens to them. It just means they know how to make songs. Hell, even if you didn’t know how to compose a song, I bet someone will like the noise that you produce.

20120130-231553.jpg

Of course I could blab on and on but the point I am making is still the same. How “good” something is is completely according to the individual viewing the media. Just because it’s “popular” doesn’t mean it’s “good”. There will surely be some who didn’t like it. Hence, everything in life is perceptive to the individual as to how “good” it is. In fact, all morals are also perceptive. Someone might think a genocide of 6 million people (I know it’s a bad nuif you get my drift) was a good idea and not morally incorrect. Because it’s all down to one to decide if one enjoys something.

So at the end of the day, It’s not because I’m a hipster or that I have bad taste that I don’t enjoy some forms of media (say K-Pop or Twilight or Justin Bieber) but it’s because as Me and only Me, I just don’t like it. You are of course entitled to your own opinion but so am I.

20120130-231704.jpg

P.S – Not to brag but people usually start making really weak and poorly-linked points after I make the above argument on how things are perceptive.

About Manfred Tham

Manfred can typically be found hiding from people behind his computer screen or a tall pint. However you can easily contact him in any given video game where he will either insult you or be really nice to you. In addition his nerdiness transcends the digital plane when he partakes in the arcane rituals of rolling dice in both table-top and board games. Disregarding the countless hours he has logged into games, Manfred loves nothing more than cooking food to satisfy his craving for Northern European cuisine or to sip away from the many bottles of whiskies he fondly defaults to. Manfred is also what is commonly known as a “metalhead” with a penchant for both symphonic and power metal. Manfred summarises his life philosophy with a quote by Samuel L.Jackson, but it has been redacted for being far too vulgar.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to The Perceptivity of Life

  1. moichispa says:

    I don’t think that good or bad is something objective anymore, and most people who think they can have a objective opinions use to be idiots. But I learned to say Imo frequently and evade possible bad answers. It can helped, I dropped at first episode or never tried some hyped series and I think that most popular music is repetitive, noise or repetitive noise. But if you say that directly giving examples fan may kill you because people sometimes just don’t understand that every person has a opinion and not everybody value things in the same way.

    • You’re right on the point that not everyone realizes that so I try to ease the idea to them slowly. However, some stubbornly refuse and I can’t do much for that so I never broach the topic again with them

  2. Ritsuioko23 says:

    Dude show us a picture of your balls. Cause I don’t think you have any.

    • I don’t get you at all. Sorry

      • Valence says:

        This.

        He had the balls to admit that he was wrong and even wrote an entire article about his previous post was flawed before coming to a compromise between both parties. If that doesn’t show that he at least has some balls then I don’t know what will.

    • @fkeroge says:

      What you have just proven to us is that you are even more immature than any of the other people who commented here. Please note that the author of this post has way more guts than some half-anon who tries to discredit him for internet muscle. Thank you.

  3. music at the top of the charts isn’t always good. it’s simply popular.

    thinking of anime, naruto is popular and good to some extent, but in no way does it deserve a 10/10.

  4. Taka says:

    So you get into fights with “easily” offended people because instead of saying “i’m not a fan on that music” you say “that music sucks and your taste in music sucks”. Yes, clearly they are easily offended and you’re not just some rude prick.

    But yeah this is the same argument I’ve seen made and even made myself at one time or another. Eventually you grow out it and see while the world isn’t entirely black and white, it’s not entirely gray either. You must have some empirical truths or else everything would fall apart.

    • Well, I say that first statement. I only reserve the second statement for people that really piss me of when they force me to listen to their music and/or they insist that nothing else is better.

      And thank you for getting my point 😛

  5. Azure says:

    The first picture used, dat ass.

    I’m keeping my mouth shut about the post but IMO, you should credit the artists for the pictures regardless of whether its from danbooru (doesn’t have much artist tags though), zerochan or pixiv/wherever. Just a thought.

    And if you see this Valence, do we have an upload limit? LOL

  6. Carillus says:

    My biggest issue with this post is not your point on how everyone is entitled to their own opinion – I love that idea, and I practically live with it – but that in your first paragraph, you stated that if you don’t like something someone else likes, you tell it to their face that it sucks. That’s not your personal opinion, that’s expansion of your personal belief over someone else’s personal belief. A lot changes according to the way you phrase things.
    A better way to put things would be to use something along the lines of “in my opinion”, which in writing magic appears to mean “This is armour for my own beliefs, you may poke at it but you may not thrust me through with your sword.” People seem to talk a lot nicer to you when you use this phrase.
    I like that you came out and clarified on what you were writing about the previous time, and it seems that you have mostly just been misunderstood because of how you express your ideas. I salute you for that.

    • Ummm, just to let everyone know, the previous post was written as a sarcastic joke with some of mt views included. It seems people take me way too seriously even on the Internet.

      However, I do agree my language is usually harsh. But I don’t retract my statement. If I don’t like your music, I will say that it sucks to your face. Because I’m very vocal about my opinions.

  7. @fkeroge says:

    Well, the way you deal with these “easily offended” people is like how I deal with them myself. However, even if I say “that movie/anime/music sucks,” I always say it in half-jest. I mean, I do insult them, but I don’t make it seem that my opinion is better than theirs in tone. As a result, I haven’t been in a very heated argument for over five years now. But if someone does say that he is offended, I make it a point that it’s just personal opinion and I have nothing against the person’s tastes. Just look at my Super Subjective Reviews. I outright insult those shows I don’t like, but at the same time, I never demean those who enjoyed it.

    I think people are not offended when you insult something they like, they are offended because you make your opinion seem superior to theirs. There’s a whole world of difference there.

    • Hmm…point taken. My tone and pitch of voice tends to make it sound that way…but once again, as I’ve said, people tend to take me too seriously. I have never made it come off that my opinion is superior because I’m hardly serious about anything. However, people of course will still misunderstand. Much to my inconvenience…

    • Cyurio says:

      Funny thing is that you can’t really tell someone’s intended tone of voice from reading what they say on the internet, so huge misunderstandings can pop up.

      …Take yesterday’s bout on the “generic-ness” issue, for example.

      • Sorry, I have no idea what you’re talking about about the “generic-ness” issue.

        But you make a good point on tone of voice on the internet. You can’t tell the “tone” of voice from text but from the way the text is written, one can also “feel” the tone, so as to speak. Sadly for me, I’m very abrasive and harsh but generally a nice guy. Just that I have a foul mouth so it tends to rub people the wrong way. But I assure you, I’m a nice guy and I never really intended most of the things I say.

        A small bit of intention but not that serious of one

  8. Nopy says:

    Everyone’s entitled to their own opinions, but maybe people are harping on you because you’re too frank?

    • Probably that. As said in above comments and such, I am really vocal about my opinions. And my pitch of voice (real deep and gravelly for some reason ~.~) makes them sound so serious that people that offended real fast

  9. Valence says:

    Come to think about it, there is something fundamentally wrong with this article….I’ll leave you to think about it.

  10. Pingback: Rollercoaster emotions « Interests of a Psychopath

  11. Pingback: The Eternal Otaku problem | Ambivalence , or is it ambiguity?

  12. Cely_belly says:

    I just read your other post about “generic” anime and I thought it was rather enjoyable and funny. I didn’t really take you serious as in the sense to get offended or anything like that. At least, when reading it, your tone didn’t seem abrasive to me. But I don’t generally find posts to be that way. It just doesn’t cross my mind when people rant about certain things. And I watch shounen too lol. Sometimes, I feel or consider these long shounen series pretty mainstream. They are so popular, it is natural for some to think negatively of them. I am easily influenced by what other bloggers have to say too and have come across anime fans who target these long series as general and “oh everyone watches them but they’re not as great as *this less known anime.* So if that writer’s post gets on my good side or sounds convincing I’d prob end up being influenced. It’s not a bad influence, but I am still figuring out this hobby. I like reading what others have to say and sometimes even look up to bloggers who have been around anime longer so I take their opinions to heart. I contemplate with my own conclusion afterwards. Was this something influenced maybe?

    • It’s the government using mind-control waves to influence your thoughts!!!!

      But we are influenced by everything we interact with around us and it’s unavoidable. The most we can do is try and input some of our own thoughts to try and make more sense out of the influences. Not that all external influences are bad of course.

  13. Pingback: The Eternal Otaku problem – Reblogged from AOIA « Interests of a Psychopath

Comments are closed.