@fkeroge’s Status Update for January – Part 1

Hitagi Senjougahara – Still as hot as ever.

First things first: As you may have noticed, my activity has been lower lately. Well that is because of things that are beyond my control, like my exam schedules. I still try to find time to watch anime, and I’m happy that I’m still able to watch this many shows. We are well into the winter season, and so far, the anime I am watching are all… interesting. By interesting, I don’t necessarily mean great, or even good for that matter.

Extra note: I have updated my author profile for AOIA. It now contains everything you need to know about me, including my Top 30 anime. You can read it here.

Another Episodes 1-2

Another is incredibly boring. I literally fell asleep while watching the first episode. When I woke up, my screen was already displaying that MPC logo we are all so familiar with. Well, to be fair, it was already 2 in the morning when I watched it.

I had to rewatch the first episode to properly assess the quality of the show. Well, one thing I can say about the show is that it looks good. I mean, really good. The work that the artists put on their backgrounds should be commended, and the character art, while certainly derivative, look pretty as well. However, that didn’t change the fact that it was still as boring as hell.

This problem persists with the following episode as well. I know they want to create a gloomy atmosphere, but I think Another is taking it to an entirely new level. This is not the gloom that creates a proper mood. This is the gloom that makes a show tiresome to watch. I know some people would argue otherwise, but I have seen better stuff than this without trying so hard.

As for the characters, yes, I do get the feeling that something is off in the class. How? They just shove it in your face. The show approached it’s main subject with the subtlety of a jackhammer. It was literally shouting that it has mystery elements. Not exactly a good way to do a horror mystery show, at least, not in my book.

I don’t even know why I’m still watching this. Maybe its the hope that this series may get better, but I think that hope will be entirely gone if episode 3 will still be as boring as the first two.

By the way, the OP sounds familiar… oh wait, it’s just Ali Project playing the same song again!

Nisemonogatari Episodes 1-3

Nisemonogatari is more erotic than its predecessor, yet still retains the wit and class that made Bakemonogatari so good in the first place. Let’s all be honest here, nobody watches -monogatari for “plot”. This plot is almost nonexistent, just a way to put a backbone in what the show really is about: talking and fanservice (and Hitagi Senjougahara).

And speaking of talking, I think the level of wittiness was upped with Nise. I found myself bored at some parts of Bake, particularly Kanbaru’s arc. But here in Nise, there has been no boring moment in the past 3 episodes. The dialogues, while less story-oriented now, are funnier and more engaging. I guess Nision decided to stop being pretentious and just gave the novel’s fans what they want. More witty talking.

Regarding the fanservice – I have to admit, even though I don’t like fanservice that much, it was rather…¬†titillating to see Nadeko’s naughty side. She was quite weak in terms of personality in Bake, but she more than makes up for it in that single episode. It showed more of her as a person, while providing my required dose of moe.

And Kanbaru, where should I start? She was certainly more interesting this time around, but her conversations with Koyomi kind of degraded into your regular tsukkomi routine. This is not bad per se, as it still manages to be entertaining, especially the part where they discuss getting married and Koyomi’s broken lolicon logic taking effect again.

Hitagi, while somewhat moved to the sidelines in the first few episodes, is now back in action judging from the second half of the third episode, as sadistic and sexy as ever. the way -monogatari handles Hitagi is marvelous. She doesn’t run out of… “hirit,” a Tagalog word that loosely translates to “witty rhetoric” or something like that. The Senjougahara Fascination movement was indeed not established without a reason. Also, Chiwa Saitou.

Nisemonogatari is definitely a keeper.

Amagami SS+ Episodes 1-2

While I was watching the first episode of this installment of Amagami, I was afraid that it will start to lose its charm, the very reason why I liked Amagami SS so much that it made it to my top 30, which is its simplicity and the lack of very angsty moments. When that fake confession was taking place, I was already thinking about dropping the show then and there.

It was a good thing that I already had episode 2 when I watched episode 1. Episode 2 renewed my faith in Amagami, and its simple love story. I should never have underestimated Tsukasa’s abilities. At first I thought that she was jealous like the usual love story conflicts that I see, but thank goodness she wasn’t. Not only that, it was followed by an incredibly cliche and sappy promise from Jun’ichi, which I loved (yes, I’m still a sucker for these kinds of sweet moments).

Amagami-style fanservice is still prevalent, but I found myself not minding it that much. Amagami SS+ still has the charm, and I’ll definitely keep watching.

Zero no Tsukaima F Episodes 1-3

The two girls then laugh at him.

I didn’t like the third season of ZnT, but I went into the final season full of hopes that this would be a good watch.

While still treading the borders of good and bad, ZnT still keeps the good and bad elements of anime and makes it something watchable, yet not very good. It’s times like these that I miss the original Zero no Tsukama anime. In my opinion, the first season is still the best among the four seasons of ZnT, for the reason that the first season didn’t have plot points that seem to be pulled out of a magical top hat.

The succeeding seasons of ZnT got more and more uncontrolled in terms of ass-pulls while still remaining fairly entertaining. The case still holds for ZnT F. I mean, that whole bomb thingamajig and the sudden death of an assumed major antagonist, the transitions here are more jarring than ever, not to mention more eye-roll worthy.

I’ll still be watching this, as my roommate still is, just so I can finish this damned thing.

___________________________________________________________

And taht’s it for part 1. I’ll get part 2 (Mouretsu Pirates, Symphogear, Kill Me Baby and Persona 4) up soon, so look out for that.

About Lucas Magnus

Trying to change for the better.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to @fkeroge’s Status Update for January – Part 1

  1. Azure says:

    I’m still pawing my way though Bakemonogatari 1’s first chapter OTL
    And I realized I bought Kizumonogatari instead of Nisemonogatari…

  2. Wolfnagi says:

    You should note that, ZnT animes wasn’t that good. The novel, otherwise, is really good!

  3. Valence says:

    That reminds me, I need to start watching Amagami SS. Curse you, school!

    I’ve successfully kept up with Nisemonogatari, however. ACHEIVEMENT UNLOCKED.

    • Azure says:

      Meanwhile, the other 16 year old still hasn’t managed to catch both series despite still being on holiday until further notice. I reckon this counts as an achievement too.

  4. Pingback: @fkeroge’s Monthly Review – January 2012, Part 2 | Ambivalence , or is it ambiguity?

  5. Nopy says:

    Episode 3 of Another does finally start getting into the story and not just watching some clueless guy following some pirate girl around. I agree with you on ZnTF, it has good and bad points, but it’s still watchable. I liked the first two seasons and I’m hoping this last season will bring some of that back, even if it’s just in the last few episodes.

    • @fkeroge says:

      I just watched the third episode. While I’m still not quite impressed, I have to admit that it did stop being boring (well, how can getting impaled by an unusually sharp umbrella be boring?).

      And about ZnT, it does always seem to pick up at the last few episodes, and hopefully, it still does so here.

Comments are closed.