An Early New Year’s Resolution

Lately, I’ve been thinking.

To be honest, I am very, very lazy. Because of this, I have a hard time answering to my obligations both online and in real life. I am a person of many interests, but I almost never fully pursue anything that I take interest in, yes, including anime. I have dropped many anime this year simply because I was too lazy to watch them. I try to write fiction, but I’m still stuck even now. I try to draw and get somewhat positive results, but I never tried to draw again after two attempts.

Attempt no. 2. The first is too embarrassing to be put here.

I am taking my major in my country’s best university system, being one of the high scorers on the entrance exams, but my grades are always hovering around the passing mark (well, except for philosophy and the social sciences, but that’s another story). I could alweays get a higher grade, but I tend to skip classes if I’m not in the mood. Yes, I am THAT lazy. I deliberately avoid to turn over some school requirements, earning me a sort of delinquent status. My exam scores are high, but my grades will always be dragged down by the other requirements that I don’t accomplish.

Instead, I always think about the stuff that don’t really have anything to do with my major (chemical engineering), like the workings of the human mind, how people seem to need religion desperately, and the philosophy behind many abstract concepts like morality, politics and ethics.

In the course of my mulling over the Christmas season, I have come to the topic of why I don’t seem to dedicate myself to anything I do. And after much deliberation and self-deprecation, I decided that I would change myself in the coming year. As such, I will make my first ever new year’s resolution, albeit being too early.

I, @fkeroge, promise myself that I will accomplish any and all obligations presented to me by myself and other people, academic or otherwise. I will avoid distracting myself by means unnecessary to my goals. I will do everything that I decide to pursue with utmost dedication and wholeheartedness, be it in my everyday life, or obligations I have on the internet, with more focus on the real life aspect.

Should I fail to accomplish any obligation in real life, I shall take a leave from the internet until any and all problems are  dealt with.

Of course, my obligations in real life are pretty simple (lies!). They shouldn’t be too hard if I put my mind to it.

As for my online obligations, I have quite a few. For starters, I have to post in this blog every so often. I realized that to become a good anime blogger, I should actually watch anime worth blogging about, regardless of whether the anime in question is airing or not. For these purposes, I have decided to watch more older anime rather than try to keep up with what’s airing. This is proving to be a good decision as I have realized that my view the different genres of entertainment, particularly anime and manga, is much too narrow.

I am also doing translation work for several projects. I won’t disclose what these projects are, but I will do my best to do my work as fast as possible, while of course, not sacrificing quality.

As for my application as a fiction writer, I am to finish writing my sample scenario and submit it as soon as possible. That much, I have to do.

I know it will be hard for me to keep track of everything that I get myself into, but I have to make sure that I make right this year, for my sake, for the people around me, and of course for the wonderful people that I met around the world through the internet. It’s cliche, but I ask everyone who reads this blog to lend me support, however small.

来年にも、ようろしくお願いします!

About Lucas Magnus

Trying to change for the better.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to An Early New Year’s Resolution

  1. I wish you the best of luck with that!!!

    I hope I can make a new year’s resolution too

  2. feal87 says:

    Oh god, that banner with the Kyubey is so sexy!

    Apart from that good luck with your resolution, hope you’ll see through it…:D

  3. Azure says:

    All the best~ The drawing is really great~! Looking forward to your writing attempt at fiction and more drawings; the AOIA crew is such a multi talented bunch~

    I don’t have any sort of motivation or resilience to make and keep resolutions. Usually i don’t even realize the New Year is here until we’re 20 hours into January… I’m an epitome of passiveness and stagnation, lol

    • @fkeroge says:

      Thanks! My scenario won’t be available until I get the go signal, though.

      Everyone can keep resolutions, I think. It’s just a matter of what you think takes more importance in your life, a promise to oneself, or giving in to one’s desires. I’m more of the latter kind of person, so I hope I can live up to my promise.

    • Hey, you could colour it in for @fkeroge :3

      And use it as a banner!!

  4. CTheHash says:

    Good sir, as your conceptual clone, I too shall undertake that oath.
    Of course, even now, my mind is denying me the ability to carry it out, but I shall persevere!
    これからも一緒にがんばろう@fkerogeさん~

    • @fkeroge says:

      I have a clone? Very, very nice. 🙂 Make sure that I don’t get to meet you though, because I have very bad luck and will die if I see you. j/k

      Anyway, thanks for the encouragement. I really appreciate it.

      これからも、よろしく頼むぞ、お客さん!

  5. TRazor says:

    If it’s anything I’ve learnt over the past couple of months, it’s that people value commitment.

  6. Balloon Thief says:

    I find it fun to watch classic anime. It gives you more of a perspective on when and where some anime tropes originated. Also it’s easier to steer clear of the crap anime when others already have opinions of it. Good luck

    • @fkeroge says:

      “Also it’s easier to steer clear of the crap anime when others already have opinions of it.”

      I usually have very peculiar tastes in anime while also being a mainstream follower. I’d still check out at least an episode of anything that looks interesting…

  7. Sebz Dima says:

    dayum, son. *knows the feeling very well*

  8. Valence says:

    “As for my online obligations, I have quite a few. For starters, I have to post in this blog every so often. I realized that to become a good anime blogger, I should actually watch anime worth blogging about, regardless of whether the anime in question is airing or not. ”

    Damn right son, although I’d replace the word ‘good’ with ‘popular’, if you catch my drift…

    Good luck!

  9. Fabrice says:

    I hope its works out for the better for you =)

  10. Cely_belly says:

    You don’t seem so lazy to me . . online that is. Ha, i’m lazier! Seriously. Hope that makes you feel better. Best of luck!

    • @fkeroge says:

      Thanks, but the reason that I don’t seem lazy lately is because of my vacation. I’ll be back to school soon so expect less activity from me for a while.

      Still, thanks again for the encouragement!

  11. kluxorious says:

    quit internet to achieve that goal of yours?

    You are a brave lad indeed

  12. Yi says:

    Love your Sono Hanabira artwork!! Soooo cute. ^ ^

    • @fkeroge says:

      Thank you! I just copied one of the CG’s from Kuchibiru to Kiss wo Tsubuyaite, though. I hope I can improve and draw my own original art.

  13. Reltair says:

    I wish you the best in achieving your resolution!

  14. Radiant says:

    I have to say, your resolution is quite hardcore! To make sure you maintain your resolution, I suggest you revisit it every single month, and give yourself some wiggle-room to correct course, or to change priorities, and of course, to remind yourself of your goals.
    Happy New Year!

    Oh yeah, if you need any crits on your drawings, let me know on my facebook page! 😀

    • @fkeroge says:

      Thanks for the tip. As I have said, I have trouble keeping commitments and I don’t really have a very solid goal in mind right now. I guess this could be the start. Thanks, and I wish you all the best too.

Comments are closed.