12 days of anime: Days 6, 7 and 8 – We all did a goof

Cool art bro

Welllllll, as most of you would know by now, me and Valence did an epic f**k up and started this 12 days of Anime thingamjig too early. So……well, sorry for being stupid.

Also, sorry for not posting in a long-arse time. I haven’t posted jack-shit in 3 days because I have been AFK these past 3 days. Mostly because I’m at my friend’s houses doing my competition practice. I also haven’ posted in a while because I really have no idea what I could write about. Then a genius idea hit me as I was eating dinner today (contemplation of life while eating fish, why not?)

So, today’s post will be brought to you by that delicious, home-cooked Salmon steak I had.

 

Well, as an otaku, I am rather new to this whole venture. Literally, I only started watching shows about 7 months ago. And in that time, I have watched…a very minuscule number of anime (but a shit-ton of manga). However, those 24 anime and countless mangas I have completed and the overall experience have really advanced me as a person.

One of the most important things that the whole experience really helped me in was to bring back most of my genuine human emotions. Not kidding here. 2010 was a horrible year for me. Secondary 2 streaming in addition to loads of family and other problems lead to me literally turning dead inside. For the last 3 months of 2010, I really had little to no emotions that could be described as “human”. In those last 3 months, I came closer to losing my mind than any other time in the past 4 years. The last time it happened was when I was 10. My friends had me set down as a dead, soulless man in those months. I became…rather twisted so as to speak. I’m blaming it all on stress.

And to cap it all of, at the dawn of 2011, I managed to mess up my left wrist by fracturing it.  Social interaction took a blow as I could no longer go out. This meant I had to stay at home and be depressed there. Then one day, I came upon the magic of anime and manga. For the first time in a very long time, I managed to feel satisfied. I felt the emotions of the characters as they were portrayed. It brought back my feelings for the world. In that time when I was less than whole, I really couldn’t care about a lot of things. Plenty of dark thoughts were contemplated and nearly put into action as well. So to make it all sound cool, manga and anime saved me from the brink of complete nonchalance and degradation from being a human being.

Dat View

Another thing anime and manga rather helped in was to sooth an aching heart. Well, not to sound mushy but being heartbroken is a feeling I would rather never have again. Being kicked in the crown jewels repeatedly is way more preferable to that. I read an interesting quote that relates to this matter rather recently. “Why do we fall in love with the person even if we know that we would get rejected?” Deep stuff and it was exactly like this to me. But being me, I decided to try anyway. It is without saying that it went horribly. To sum things up, I got rejected. Twice. By the same girl. Then a couple of pets died. That in addition to all the already prevailing stress lead to a state of incredibly low depression, coupled with a broken heart. It’s really hard to explain the feeling but if you’ve ever been rejected it might feel somewhat the same.

Then came the best thing I ever took an interest in. Yuri :3 That’s right, that was what managed so sooth my heart. (oh God, this is hard to write *facepalm*)

The sweetness, the emotions and the interactions. I have said this many times before but it managed to resonate in me. To use an incredibly elaborate metaphorical and cheesy term, Yuri managed to fill a hole in me. A hole that the rejections and depression managed to rip into me.

Anime and manga also assisted in putting a different perspective of my outlook to the world. Previously, my view of the world in general was one ingrained into me by my society and parents. In other words, it was rather narrow. But many different animes and mangas managed to change that. They showed me a different way to look at many situations and problems.  Also, it managed to get me in touch with a ton of various individuals with many different perspectives. This sea of rich stimulus provided plenty of food-for-thought to ponder over. So now, I look to many different things in a different light.

To summarize that huge text dump, anime and manga really did provide and stimulate a lot of change in me as a person.

About Manfred Tham

Manfred can typically be found hiding from people behind his computer screen or a tall pint. However you can easily contact him in any given video game where he will either insult you or be really nice to you. In addition his nerdiness transcends the digital plane when he partakes in the arcane rituals of rolling dice in both table-top and board games. Disregarding the countless hours he has logged into games, Manfred loves nothing more than cooking food to satisfy his craving for Northern European cuisine or to sip away from the many bottles of whiskies he fondly defaults to. Manfred is also what is commonly known as a “metalhead” with a penchant for both symphonic and power metal. Manfred summarises his life philosophy with a quote by Samuel L.Jackson, but it has been redacted for being far too vulgar.
This entry was posted in 12 Days and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 12 days of anime: Days 6, 7 and 8 – We all did a goof

  1. Anonomyous says:

    About that “dead inside” feeling, its called burnout. You might experience it more in working life but its easier to handle if you recognise it before it blows up. Its good to hear that anime and manga got you restarted again though.

  2. Nopy says:

    I’m glad to hear that not only did anime and manga save you, but also broadened your horizons by opening up your view of the world.

  3. Cely_belly says:

    I too am new to anime (^-^)d!!
    I haven’t experienced heartbreak. Sounds tough. Who new anime would be a great remedy.
    Anime . . . what doesn’t it do? 😉
    Awesome post!

  4. Alx2oy says:

    Wow, i got rejected twice by the same person too :/

  5. I haven’t replied to any of you because I can’t think of a smart, logical reply.
    So….Thank You Nyan~ ^.^

  6. Pingback: Tis be the last post!!!! of the year; that is | Interests of a Pyschopath

Comments are closed.