12 Days of Anime – Day 8: In which I become an oldfag

I never saw this coming.

Honestly, no words can describe how surprised I am at AOIA ever making it this far. There’s been times where it felt like AOIA could just shut down the next day, like when Anima suddenly went AWOL and when my commitments surged in July, or when I was too depressed to do anything. I’ve even asked myself why I run this blog to begin with. There were just so many commitments, so many others things taking up my free time that I really felt like just closing AOIA a few times in the past.

But nevertheless, AOIA survived, and is now 1 year and 8 months y.o. That makes us 4 months away from being a super oldfag. In other related news, I also turned 16 this year. Turning 16 isn’t quite like ‘the sweet 16’ as some people call it, but instead, more like ‘getting a proper excuse to be loaded with responsibility’. The world expects you to change overnight after Feb. 13, like become an adult on Valentine’s Day. There are so many things  people want of you. People want of you to think of your life years from now,and plan all of that ahead. It’s ridiculous sometimes.

I guess becoming older also demands things from me as a blogger. For one, I now feel as though I have to write in a more mature manner, rather than filling up the post with silly things like ‘kawaii moe uguu stuff’. A lot of it seems hard. However, with age comes wisdom. The older I get, the more I realized that I’d watched a shitload of anime. No really, a shitload of anime. I’ve watched such a great shitload of anime, I could easily recommend a new fan enough titles to last him a month or two. I’ve watched such a great shitload of anime that even I stand in awe of my achievement.

Isn't that beautifu- damn,I've watched a shitload of anime.

Becoming older also means that I get more time to refine the way I blog. I think that blogging’s an art – there’s not really any right way to do it, but it sure as hell feels like there’s one. And I believe that I’m getting closer.

Turning 16 does have its benefits though. It gives me access to watch NC16 movies in Singapore, as well as a bit more of an excuse to freely watch all the ecchi I want, with hentai waiting in the wings to become legit.

Not that, you know, I care, of course.

Outtro time.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CBs65Iunxn0

About Valence

I blog things.
This entry was posted in 12 Days, Milestones and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to 12 Days of Anime – Day 8: In which I become an oldfag

  1. Alx2oy says:

    only 1 year and 8 months? honestly, it feels like you’ve been blogging since like, i dunno, just much longer then that, hahas 😀

  2. I had Mai’s reaction on my face when I scrolled there…Damn you Valence.

    I’ve been blogging for about 6 months now and I feel I should write more mature stuff too. Not that I really care of course. 16 next year!!! Whooooooo!!! (not)

    • Valence says:

      Not more mature stuff lol, but more refined sense of writing. For you it’s okay since you’re a fledgling blogger you have time to find your style of writing, but for me I feel that I should have done so already.

  3. im 19, i feel old…
    i know that yuri… i saw it on youtube but the sex was cut out.
    use the style you feel comfortable with. ive been writing the same throughout my blog but last year i wrote completely differently. its amazing to see just how much i have changed.

  4. kluxorious says:

    wait.. you are only 16? and this blog is almost 2? Yet you called yourself an oldfag? What does that makes me then? >_<

  5. Nopy says:

    If that makes you an oldfag, I must be ancient…

  6. Someone says:

    I’m turning 22 on February 19, 2012 but I only started watching anime when I was 19. If you want, check out my profile at http://myanimelist.net/profile/DarkEnergy.

    For those who are curious but don’t know, that hentai yuri pic is from Sono Hanabira ni Kuchizuke wo: Anata to Koibito Tsunagi. The series happens to be the highest rated hentai on MyAnimeList.

    For Valence, congratulations on the blog and turning 16 soon.

  7. Pingback: 12 Days of Anime: Final Day- AOIA is now a team blog. (As if you didn’t see this coming already) | Ambivalence , or is it ambiguity?

Comments are closed.