@fkeroge’s Top Anime – Top 20-16; Also, Updates.

First things first: the important news is, I’m stopping episodic blogging because: one – I dropped Guilty Crown, and two – it’s hard to come up with new topics to talk about in Persona 4. There’s the update. Ah, yes, as soon as I get my AME Monogatari pics, I’ll post them here as well, so watch out for that.

There will eventually come a time in an anime watcher’s career where he/she has finally completed enough anime to know his/her own tastes and preferences. As of this writing, I have completed watching over 150 anime series, OVAs, specials and movies according to MAL, and have dropped a lot of anime, too. I think the 150 anime milestone qualifies me to start forcing you to watch recommending anime that fit my tastes better than the others out there, hoping that I can get more people to fanboy over said anime with me. So, without further ado, I hereby present to you the third part of my Top 30.

 Note that these lists will only include anime that I have already completed, and I would not include anything that I  am still watching; so no FMA, Chobits and other genuinely good series that I haven’t seen or finished yet. Things may change once I see more of those “classics” like uhhh… yeah. Mainstream classics don’t seem to appeal to me very much.

20. K-On!! (TV)

mal score: 7

K-On!! was an anime that came to me at the right time. I watched season 2, K-On!!, a few months after I graduated from high school. I had no plans on watching this since I wasn’t really fond of the first season. But then, one of my dormitory roommates was watching an episode of the second season and I got intrigued by the high-budget production and the overall change in tone of the series from vaguely music-related to complete focus on the girls’ interactions. K-On!! won my affection at its last few episodes towards their graduation where nostalgia got the better of me and I actually cried a bit over the last song they played before graduating – Tenshi ni Fureta yo. I dare say, I’m a proud K-On!! fan.

19. Lucky Star (TV)

mal score: 7

Lucky Star is a show full of win. It’s self-aware, it’s cute, and it handles its otaku-oriented jokes well. I still ask myself why I liked Lucky Star so much even though I watched this when I was still fairly new to anime, the only ones I watched before this were mostly ordinary anime that won’t really make me relate to many of the inside jokes here (well, the Da Capo parody had me, but still…). It was when I watched it again that I found out why – it’s just plain fun to watch, not only for the jokes, but the commentary that the characters give about mundane real life problems like eating ice cream or chocolate cornets to going to the dentist. You know, I also thought of the best way to eat ice cream cones while walking home from school, so I can sort of relate. 😄

18. Bakemonogatari (TV)

mal score: 7

When it comes to intelligently-written dialog, Bakemonogatari will always take the cake when it comes to anime. This is one of the times that I never cared that an anime studio cut corners when animating something, simply because just seeing the characters talk is already a treat. I mean, I have never seen someone who can constantly deliver insults without sounding stupid or repetitive, aside from Hitagi Senjougahara. Witty, sharp and straight to the point, that’s Bakemonogatari for you. Not to mention that Kimi no Shiranai Monogatari and Staple Stable are some of my favorite anime songs in existence.

17. Candy Boy (ONA)

mal score: 8

You are now wondering how Candy Boy ended up in this list. Honestly, I’m still amazed by how much I ended up loving Candy Boy. It’s a short series, but there’s no denying that this show is one of the sweetest and simplest anime that I have ever seen. No complicated conflicts to deal with, simple, yet likable characters, and a feel akin to a Sono Hanabira visual novel, sweet and idealistic love with no one to get in the way. As for the yuri incest, well… let’s just say that I /support/ every form of love.

16. Astalotte no Omocha! (TV)

mal score: 8

Have you ever heard of anime that is despised by those who haven’t seen it, yet mostly loved by those who did? Astalotte no Omocha! is a prime example. Many have been turned off by the misleading synopsis for this show, but I tell you, the show is much, much better than what the synopsis would have you think. Sure, there are times when the show gets awkward with its fanservice, but when the show gets serious, it can be really touching and heartwarming. And you guys know I like touching and heartwarming shows, right?

About Lucas Magnus

Trying to change for the better.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to @fkeroge’s Top Anime – Top 20-16; Also, Updates.

  1. Candy Boy was awesome.
    I read the manga and the ONA and enjoyed them a lot

  2. Nopy says:

    Yes! Candy Boy, I love that anime. I didn’t think Astalotte no Omocha was better though, just my opinion.

    • @fkeroge says:

      It was very difficult to weigh Lotte and Candy Boy in my mind because I like both shows almost equally. But Lotte had something that made it better for me: filial drama – my ultimate weakness.

  3. HomuHomu says:

    Lotte no Omocha was defiantly one of my favourites from the Spring season. I didn’t really like the ending though and the OVA.

    It was sad that people just bashed it without giving it any chance.It sucked that the blu-rays didn’t sell. I was actually tempted to buy the first one just to support it. Though I couldn’t since I bought the Madoka blu-rays already and had no money..

    Luckily there’s a bunch of figures coming out.

    • @fkeroge says:

      I fairly liked the OVA, though yes, it was kind of bland compared to the show itself…

      Figures… I have Madoka figure preorders so I am out of money too…

  4. kluxorious says:

    None of the above shows (except for Lucky Star but that’s because of Konata) left an impact for me. I should probably learn to watch anime that has more than 3 females as the protagonists T__T

Comments are closed.