@fkeroge’s Top Anime – Top 30-26

There will eventually come a time in an anime watcher’s career where he/she has finally completed enough anime to know his/her own tastes and preferences. As of this writing, I have completed watching 156 anime series, OVAs, specials and movies according to MAL, and have dropped 54 anime all in all. I think the 150 anime milestone qualifies me to start forcing you to watch recommending anime that fit my tastes better than the others out there, hoping that I can get more people to fanboy over said anime with me. So, without further ado, I hereby present to you the first part of my Top 30.

Note that these lists will only include anime that I have already completed, and I would not include anything that I  am still watching; so no FMA, Chobits and other genuinely good series that I haven’t seen or finished yet. Things may change once I see more of those “classics” like uhhh… yeah. Classics don’t seem to appeal to me very much.

30. Rurouni Kenshin [Episodes 1-66] (TV)

MAL Score: 7

I am specifically referring to the episodes of the Rurouni Kenshin anime produced by Studio Gallop (the anime after episode 66 was not as good). Rurouni Kenshin was one of the first anime series that I have ever watched, and maybe that contributed to the sheer entertainment and excitement that I had while watching this on DVD. Anime and movies with katanas in them appeals to the swordfight fanatic inside of me, but Rurouni Kenshin was just so good that it stood out from all the others. I would dare say that Rurouni Kenshin deserves to be called a classic.

29. Rec (TV)

MAL Score: 7

Many non-shoujo romance anime look good in my eyes. As such, you will see quite a bit of romance anime in my favorites. Rec, for its medium, doesn’t really have much going for it. BUT, there is just something in Rec’s story that just… enamored me so much to care about the characters more than most of the “better” romance anime out there. Maybe it’s the fact that the main characters aren’t high school students for a change that led me into liking this anime so much… I’m not so sure. Perhaps you just have to watch and see it for yourself.

28. Shinryaku! Ika Musume (TV)

MAL Score: 7

I have loved comedies since I was a little kid. You know, the ones that you just turn your brain off for a relaxing after-school watch. Yes, Ika Musume gives off that western cartoon feel with some nice Asian humor. Not to mention that Ika Musume appeals not just to a younger audience, but to many anime fans too. I don’t know about you, but every episode of Ika Musume I watched, I felt very satisfied and rested. It was a perfect stress reliever. The episode with Mini Ika was also one of the most heartwarming (and heart-wrenching) things I have seen in my whole life.

27. Yuru Yuri (TV)

MAL Score: 7

The thing with girls’ club anime like this, is that they’re incredibly hard to pull off. I can name a lot of anime of this kind that just didn’t make the cut because they just didn’t have something special to give the audience. Yuru Yuri, however, decided to narrow its market to just pick up the people who would really appreciate the show for what it is: a show catering to the more niche environment of yuri fans and sadistic comedy lovers, with a bunch of nods to otaku culture. And hey, guess what? I’m both a yuri fan and a sadistic comedy lover.

26. Senjou no Valkyria: Gallian Chronicles

MAL Score: 7

I’m not much of a war movie fan. In fact, I find myself bored by the repetitive themes that American war movies employ, such as the repetitive glorification of America and its great sense of justice. Thankfully, more recent war movies have become less one-sided and more enjoyable. Senjou no Valkyria embodies everything that I like about war movies, as well as some of my greatest dislikes about JRPG stories in general, but the anime manages to make me feel attached to Squad 7 of the Gallian Militia like no other war show has ever done. And for that, I give Senjou no Valkyria a well-deserved medal of honor.

The next part of the post will cover my Top 25-21. I’ll probably end up compiling these lists into one page under my AOIA profile.

PS: for those who have read my previous post, I have found some time to post this while using my dad’s laptop, so no, my PC’s not yet fixed.

About Lucas Magnus

Trying to change for the better.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to @fkeroge’s Top Anime – Top 30-26

  1. kluxorious says:

    REC! yeah that one appealed to me. Maybe it portrays the adult relationship that is somehow lacking in anime fandom nowadays. I liked it.

    • @fkeroge says:

      Now that I think about it, most romance anime that take me in is in fact, high school romances. Yeah, I still have to get over my hormones.

      But still, Rec is special.

  2. ~xxx says:

    You already have a part of top 30?
    Nice, I hope I could find time to write my top 30.
    (well, after I finish watching few shows I had in my hand.)

    • @fkeroge says:

      I already have a complete list of my Top 30, in fact. And I think the Top 10 will be VERY hard to shake, even with gems like Persona 4, Fate/Zero and the other good stuff we have this season. There’s also a very big chance that FMA:BH and Chobits will overthrow some of these.

      Anyway, good luck with your own Top 30. I’ll be sure to read it. =)

  3. Valence says:

    >yuru yuri in list

    I have lost faith in you, @fkeroge )=

    • @fkeroge says:

      Awww… I genuinely think Yuru Yuri is one of the funniest things I have ever seen. But maybe that’s just my bizarre taste in comedy showing. You’ll find out more about it soon.

  4. Nopy says:

    Yuru Yuri over Rurouni Kenshin? Blasphemy!

Comments are closed.