Editorial Anime Blog Posts Against Episodics

Why this picture, you ask? I don't know either.

For most anime blogs, the standard format for posts is the episodic. It is what keeps the aniblogosphere alive, as much as elitists and detractors say otherwise. Editorials and commentaries are said to be superior to episodic posts in a sense that it inspires more intelligent discussion, but episodic blogging is superior to editorial blogging in some aspects, and editorials are better than episodics for different reasons.

For the most part, episodic posts are relatively easier to write than editorial posts, as one would simply point out the pros and cons of the episode or the general direction of the show in question. Many episodics include speculations about future developments in the show, as well as the occasional subjectivity that filters the readers. It is a good way to inspire casual discussion as episodics usually get to dig deeper into focus about certain aspects of the show than full or half-time anime reviews.

Episodic blogging has limits, however. For one, episodics mostly keep in touch with the episode in question. You wouldn’t normally see discussion outside of the show itself. For example, should I discuss  the thirteenth episode of  episode of Mawaru Penguindrum, I would try to keep with the spirit of the episode and not go deep about the idea of the show as a whole more than references and brief nods. I would not discuss Ringo’s obsession with fate in an episode that is focused on the history of the Takakura family. It’s that kind of limitation. I could mention that the previous events of the show may have some implications on current developments, but that’s about it.

It is also rare for episodics to have a broad view on a certain topic. For example, I want to talk about humanity’s different views on fate and predestination as a whole using Mawaru Penguindrum as a platform. If we’re going about it in an episodic, the text I could dedicate to this topic would be very little and unsatisfying for the people who are interested in discussing it as I would have to prioritize covering the episode in general instead of delving deeper into a single topic.

But if I were to write a post specifically about the usage of the concept of fate in Mawaru Penguindrum, I have more freedom to write about content outside the latest episode. I have more freedom to refer to earlier episodes and compare and contrast how another view on fate, Ringo’s, compare to how it was presented in a darker tone in the latest episodes. I can also cite related works and literature concerning fate at my leisure, without being bound by the confines of the episode.

Simply put, editorial posts are more thought-out (most of them anyways) and diverse than episodics, but episodics are easier to write and gets to tackle more things on a casual level.

I don’t know why the heck I wrote this.

About Lucas Magnus

Trying to change for the better.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Editorial Anime Blog Posts Against Episodics

  1. TRazor says:

    Four paragraphs on episodics and one and a half on editorials. Could’ve waited?

    But yeah, that aside, this is something I’ve been thinking of writing about too. The argument I would use against episodics is “Why review a 20min segment of a show, when someone can just watch and decide for themselves? There’s plenty of conversation on forums for each episode.” However, the reason why episodics continue to be the crux of aniblogging is that (as you already pointed out) it gives a constant topic to blog about. Each week, you have a set number of episodes you blog and that fills your blogging quota perfectly. Plus, there’s an audience for it.

    I’d personally put editorials over episodics any day, but I can see why people dig episodics as well. To each his/her own.

    • @fkeroge says:

      I realize that I was already talking about editorials along with episodics in those four paragraphs. But yeah, I was a bit out of it when I was typing this so I guess I just hit that publish button without thinking.

      I also prefer editorials over episodics, but there are some good episodic bloggers out there, like Scamp. I guess it depends on how one writes their posts.

  2. moichispa says:

    Where is the fate editorial post then?

  3. Seinime says:

    I realized that I’ve been doing episodic and editorial style at the same time for Mawaru. Too much overload…should cut down. Episodic does have its pros when you can’t dish out editorials in rapid succession, though. Not that I really advocate them.

    • @fkeroge says:

      I am aware that some bloggers, like yourself, try to do episodic blogging with the spirit of editorials, but this, as you said, will sure take energy out of you and the readers as well. For example, I tend to write really, really long editorial posts. If I were to do that with episodics, I would probably be too pressed for time in thinking about a topic to write and editorial about each week.

  4. MkMiku says:

    Cool post. I started my blog out with episodics–as you said, it was an easier way to get out new content, but then my focus starting shifting towards editorials (hence the name of my blog). It’s not something that I did consciously. These random ramblings always came natural to me, so I just decided to stick with doing what I like. ^^

    • @fkeroge says:

      I know what you mean. Sometimes ideas for posts just hit you, and they may not last long enough for you to wait for the next episode and you just have to write about it, hence, editorial posts.

  5. Marow says:

    Episodics is a great lifesaver, since there is always something to write about at least once in a week. When writing an editorial, you have to come up with a topic and discuss is.

    I don’t mind episodics since I find it quite fun to read about other people’s thoughts, but when it’s only “in episode x this happened, have fun” it feels pointless. Opinions>Info.
    What I do love though, is when bloggers fuse episodics and editorials together, like analyzing a certain aspect of the episode or the show itself. Maybe a character, maybe the visuals, maybe the theme, you get it.

    • @fkeroge says:

      I agree that it’s fun to read about other people’s thoughts. Most anime blogs that do episodics do have opinions about the episode, and that’s what makes them worth reading, except if it has nothing but complaints over decent shows…

      “What I do love though, is when bloggers fuse episodics and editorials together, like analyzing a certain aspect of the episode or the show itself. Maybe a character, maybe the visuals, maybe the theme, you get it.”

      You nailed the very reason why I read episodics. Recently, it seems that more and more blogs do posts in this format, and that can only be a good thing for episodic blogging.

  6. I am too lazy to do episodics. And i’m very sure i’ll just rant off into an editorial and a mini expository of sorts. They also seem rather shallow and as you said, you could just go watch it yourself.

    I’m not intending to do episodics but the writer that’s coming to my blogs seems to want to do them. I’ll see how it turns out and I might join him 😛

  7. kluxorious says:

    Did I ever write an editorial post? Nope. But I did write some random thoughts here and there and that usually gets more responds than my episodic posts of which I write for my own selfish reason (I’m forgetful. I don’t want to forget the details). Which is the same reason why I started my Diary of a tard project in the first place.

    Like many of the blogger, I enjoyed editorial post more. I wish I could write one as well -__-

    • @fkeroge says:

      I guess what people want to see are opinions, be it good or bad. It’s so much more fun to read about other people’s opinions than a lifeless re-narration of the episode in question…

      It doesn’t have to be an editorial. Just a commentary or something similar should suffice.

  8. lostty says:

    I did episodics at one point myself and it may have been easier for me, but it is a style that makes it much harder to grab an audience. There are so many different blogs that could be reviewing the same episode as you, so you gotta make sure that yours is better than theirs. It took me a while to even write those episode reviews though, so by the time I posted them on my blog, the episode had already aired three days ago and nobody cared about it anymore, which was when I knew I had to try something different.
    In the end, I like reading a mixture of both, but I guess I favour editorials because you can’t find the same ideas on somebody else’s blog.

    • @fkeroge says:

      True, editorials have that sense of uniqueness and a non-temporal feel in them that makes them a cut above the normal episodic.

      As I have said earlier, more and more episodic blogs now try to incorporate editorial blogging ideas and are starting to get diverse, which is a good thing.

  9. ilegendC says:

    Ahh, this post is enlightening.. Well, for me I am starting out in the blogosphere with episodics, hopefully in the future I’ll be able to write good editorial content.

    • @fkeroge says:

      Actually, I was a bit out of it when I typed this, so I actually find it surprising that some people find this post insightful. Oh, well. All’s weel that ends well, I guess.

      Btw, good luck with your blog! =)

  10. glothelegend says:

    Editorial posts are the only good ones. I almost never read episodics I’ve already seen the episode, and usually episodic posts are just rehashings of the episode.

    • @fkeroge says:

      While I won’t say that editorial posts are the only good posts, I do see your point. It’s kinda hard to find gems in our sea of episode recaps.

  11. Overlord-G says:

    I don’t write episodic blogs because I already discuss shows on anime sites like the ones on my blogroll. Why do you think I haven’t graced my hallways with my “witty” observations. I just post what I want to post and will keep my blog rollin’ as long as I feel like doing so. The default minimum is supposedly two years. If I can keep my blog alive that long…just another life accomplishment to add to my resume.

    Pat yourself on the back for even taking the time to state the obvious to the blogosphere. Make your thoughts known while mildly throwing your pride as being a member of “the nation” once in a while, like in this post.

    • @fkeroge says:

      “Make your thoughts known while mildly throwing your pride as being a member of “the nation” once in a while, like in this post.”

      Hehe, you noticed?

  12. Nopy says:

    When I first started blogging, my take on it was that episodic blogging didn’t leave much to write about, and anime reviews didn’t come by fast enough. My solution was to write mini-reviews based on 3-6 episode arcs. It worked pretty well, I gathered an audience and branched out to other things.

Comments are closed.