I Lasted Two Episodes Into a Certain Iconic Anime Series

When I started watching anime back in 2007- well, okay… early 2010, I would watch anime like there’s no tomorrow. I plowed through every single Zero no Tsukaima episode just to prepare me for the upcoming fourth season, I struggled to keep myself awake while watching the dying entertainment value of Shakugan no Shana II, again, to prepare myself for Shana Final, and went through the pain and suffering wrought by horrible, generic harem anime (*I’m talking to you, all stupid harem anime with dense male leads and ad nauseum levels of clichéd tropes and stories*).

There were more than a few titles that give me a reason to not stop watching anime altogether like Code Geass, Madoka Magica and Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann, all of which I have only finished this year, as well as some of the stuff currently airing like Steins;Gate, Nichijou, Hanasaku Iroha and everything else I’m watching this season. However, unlike last year, I now tend to drop more anime than what I watch. In one month, June, I think… the number of dropped anime in my MAL grew from a measly 9, to 42.

A friend told me that it’s just me developing a more specific taste when it comes to anime, but I don’t think that’s the reason. On the contrary, I think my tastes have become more diverse. Before, I wouldn’t even touch an anime tagged as mecha with a ten-foot pole, but now, I have 2 mecha anime in my Top 10 anime of all time.

Anyway, enough digression.

I lasted two episodes on one of the “best anime of all time,” Neon Genesis Evangelion. Maybe it just didn’t click with me. You know, that generic premise of an ordinary schoolboy somehow getting massive firepower, all while being provided with explanations to events and technology that will only make sense if it was still 1995, caused me to drop it on episode 1. But then a friend of mine bugged me to continue watching it. After much deliberation and said friend almost begging me to continue, I gave in and gave it another shot.

I endured that painfully clichéd first episode all over again, ranting all the while. And then came episode 2. Man, I couldn’t even remember what happened there because I was too busy sleeping to care. I dropped it again. For good.

Perhaps Neon Genesis Evangelion is an anime that is tailored completely contrary to my tastes. I don’t have any right to bash the show since I haven’t even reached the “OMGTHISISSODEEPFTWBBQ” parts, so I’ll just leave it at that.

About Lucas Magnus

Trying to change for the better.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to I Lasted Two Episodes Into a Certain Iconic Anime Series

  1. oh, so this is what you were ranting about on Twitter a few days back.
    And now we know.

    Heck, I’ll go search it up and see if it sounds good XD

  2. Karry says:

    >>>“best anime of all time,” Neon Genesis Evangelion.

    Only for retarded Gainax fanboys.
    Still, its worth it to sit through once. Although i wouldnt expect it to deeply affect anyone who is out of his middle teens.

  3. Azure says:

    All that bitching, all that angst, why do mechas even need plugs?

    I only ever watched this thanks to my dad, it was pretty entertaining in cantonese dub, other wise it’d be really boring….

  4. Logopolis says:

    One title which Eva holds which I don’t think you can argue with too strongly: “most divisive anime ever”. For almost any opinion you can have about a drama, you can find people who hold that opinion concerning Evangelion.

  5. ~xxx says:

    The EVA movies was better…
    but who needs plugs in a yet to develop mecha?

    But if drama was the question… I’m in no position to say that it is a good drama.
    But it kept me bugged on how good this show was…(still using the faint memories I had back then.)

  6. Ritsu says:

    I had to last more than that because my boyfriend kept telling me “is goood is goood”. It’s a load of overrated crap.

  7. hearthesea says:

    Personally, I never got interested in the series due to the mecha or action element, and if anything, I tend to be suspicious of something when it’s incredibly popular. I’d heard so much about the ‘irritating, emo’ protagonist that I avoided the show as much as possible for a long time, until I finally got bored one day and gave it a shot. I would say that it’s now one of my all time favourites, mainly due to the focus on character and the emotional realm. The plot can be all over the place at times, but the handling of character was genuinely powerful, to my mind — I don’t often stumble across a series which takes a long, hard look at broken people who are utterly flawed but also sympathetic. It’s a draining, twisted and often confusing journey, but one of the best I’ve ever come across in regard to Anime/Manga.

    It’s a shame that you didn’t click with it, but I can completely understand not being able to enjoy highly regarded works — I still can’t get into Revolutionary Girl Utena.

  8. Persocom says:

    I never really caught on to the supposed epicness either. It’s not that I don’t like it or anything but I didn’t find it to be the best. My MAL dropped list gets bigger every season too. But then I’m always finding shows I didn’t even know about, perhaps that were underrated, that have long ago finished airing and I love them.

  9. MkMiku says:

    I can’t stand mecha anime either. Maybe it was for the better that you dropped it. I wonder what you’re reaction would’ve been had you made it all the way to the Gainax ending. XD I will say that the movies are better, so you might want to give them a shot before you complete give up on this series.

  10. Nopy says:

    I know exactly how you feel. I dropped Evangelion 4 times between 1999 and 2008, reaching up to episode 6. I finally managed to watch the whole series in 2010, and I was impressed. It wasn’t until everything started to come together near the end when I started to see why everyone was raving about this series. I gave it a 9 on MAL.

  11. sachula says:

    I also only lasted a few episodes into Evangelion. It didn’t hold my attention at all – and the only reason I even looked at it twice was because my husband really enjoyed it.

    I really enjoyed both seasons of Code Geass, though Gurren Lagann was another one of those I couldn’t get into.

    Currently, I’m watching: Usagi Drop (LOVE it), Blood-C (Undecided, but moving towards not bad), and xxxHolic: Kei (Very good, but bias because I liked the manga to begin with.)

  12. No biggie, I find the first few episodes of NGE to be absolutely horrible, and the series doesn’t get all that good. I think you’re finding what a lot of new watchers are finding, that it just doesn’t click with people much these days. At the time it came out, the mecha genre was stumblimg, then NGE came along and it was big, grandiose, obnoxious, and people liked that. Now it’s like… why should I care about some of this stuff, and why is it so sloppy?

  13. moichispa says:

    I understand you I could never past from Code geass 1st episode and it was not to much after it aired. Maybe evangelion was godly like when it aired but sometimes times makes animes look not so good as they were before. I watched it arround 2005 dubed version and I liked it but it is not the same watching it on Tv than in your computer.

  14. lostty says:

    Contrary to more than half of the comments, when I first watched this series, I loved it. I couldn’t get enough. About two weeks ago, I rewatched this series and still loved it, in fact even more than the first time I saw it.
    Either way, I can understand why some people wouldn’t like it….Even if you don’t like the series, I will still suggest you watch the movies. It’s a whole different experience (especially by the second movie) and its absolutely incredible!

  15. Pingback: All Anime: Get Unlimited Anime Download | Anime Downloads

  16. Pingback: @fkeroge’s Super Subjective Reviews! – No. 2: Baccano! | Ambivalence , or is it ambiguity?

  17. Overlord-G says:

    Ah, so this is the beginning of the angry @fkeroge segments. I implore you to do more. Inspire me to be angry with style since all I do when I’m angry is cuss and rant about characters I loathe. I need more rage and you’re just the guy to inspire me. glothelegend is good and all but his mouth needs to be washed one of these decades. Anyway, I’ll be eagerly anticipating more of these.

  18. Elaine says:

    ugh me too! I watched episode 1 and 2 because my bf and one of my friends said i absolutel hadto… but its so hard to pay attention to it, i just didnt find it particularly interesting :c
    although the charactor design and plug suits are ok, im also dropping his one for good, along with its manga counterpart (7 boring chapters in and i fell asleep… xP)

  19. Pingback: @fkeroge’s Super Subjective Reviews! No. 3: Fullmetal Achemist: Brotherhood | Ambivalence , or is it ambiguity?

  20. Pingback: @fkeroge’s Super Subjective Reviews! No. 4 – Gankutsuou: The Count of Monte Cristo | Ambivalence , or is it ambiguity?

Comments are closed.