Project Pony: Day 2

All of a sudden I miss watching anime.

It occurred to me that I might have been a bit too ambitious in attempting to swallow a show I have had absolutely no interest in watching. Even watching the show itself makes me feel weird. Sort of like the time when I watched Himechen. Couldn’t really get why people watched the shows. I wish I could back out of this whole thing, but I must fight onwards.

Okay, this episode Twilight gets an invite to some sausage fest or something. I’m not really sure ; EpicMealTime was in another tab. However, the princess only gives her one spare ticket to give to one of her friends. That troll. Still not liking the show at all though. I still don’t feel entertained. I even feel obliged to drop it and end the torture, yet something tells me to persist on.

Cut to the chase: the girls (fillies?) attempt to see who could kiss her ass the hardest fight it out to see who could convince her to give up her spare ticket. That penknife suddenly looks very attractive. Of course, all of them have their own reasons for wanting to attend the gala, with one of them just wanting to be forever alone in the garden and another kind of being a slut. Basically, all of them really, really want to go, as with every plotline involving limited resources in children’s TV shows. Kids like to fight for things, huh.

In other unrelated news, I finally figured out how they hold things. They don’t really have legs, they have 4 tentacles with hooves at the end. This helps them bend around and grasp things. However these tentacles are strong enough to let them stand….fuck I need my coffee it’s midnight , tomorrow we’re meeting a CEO and I’m watching ponies. Damn it, focus, let’s continue watching. . . .

"Fuck you, Carrot Top, fuck you"

You know that cliche plot-line I talked about? Of course, the whole town of fillies finds out and they all chase her. As with most children’s TV shows.  Unfortunately for her, Carrot Top spots her and stuff like that. And in the end , she chooses not to go if she could not receive enough tickets, and with that she does receive enough tickets. Nothing much here; it IS a kid’s show after all. God I’m still trying not to reach for the penknife. Oh god.

I don’t really know whether this ‘project’ is a good idea or not. The last time when I posted about trying to motivate myself to watch anime,no-one ever talked about reverse motivation: I’m stuck between either ponies or anime. By forcing myself to watch things I don’t like, all of a sudden anime seems much more interesting. Hence, I suddenly feel inclined to finish off my 1-year-long backlog before September ends. Thus, I think I’ll give the show a couple more episodes before I decide to drop it or not. It doesn’t matter at that point if I know I won’t be able to find any interest in this shows.

Any bronies care to enlighten me on why you like the show?

Anyway, I think W.C. Fields best answers this: “If at first you don’t succeed, try, try again. Then quit. There’s no point in being a damn fool about it.”

Archive

Day 0 

Day 1

About Valence

I blog things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Project Pony: Day 2

  1. asiafan says:

    Why this show is good you ask? Well,

    1. The art is good and the animation is awesome.
    2. All the characters are likable and they develop as the episodes goes. The characters are also characters meaning they are not 1 dimensional.
    3. The humor is funny. They bring back the humor from classic cartoons like Loony Tunes.
    4. The music is very catchy. You hear it once, and it will stuck in your head.
    5. The writing is good. Not many cartoons or even anime have better writing nowadays. The story might seem simple but they rarely make anything that is consider BULLSHIT or COMPLETELY POINTLESS. Oh, while mentioning all of this, IT IS A CARTOON!!! USE CARTOON LOGIC!!!!

    Well, that’s all I can think of. If you have no interest in this cartoon, then its fine. Cause everyone has their very own likes and dislikes. But you might want to check some episodes out including the later ones. But that’s all up to you.

    • Valence says:

      it is a cartoon, I know about cartoon logic, which is why I find it amusing to mock the show for it. It’s just me. . . . .

      I’m trying to find interest in the show, but I’m failing. I’ll try harder I suppose.

  2. coyote says:

    I can’t speak for the bronies, but I found it decently written, and decently animated, nothing spectacular. Of course if you compare it to the vast wasteland of horridly ‘animated’ western shows, whose only aim is to incite little kids to rage against their parents till they buy them the toys said show is hawking, it is a work of art.

    If at first you don’t succeed, redefine success to a lower level.

  3. MkMiku says:

    Well, I really enjoy the humor and clever writing of the show. The creators put deep thought into the characterization and animation of the ponies. Laura Faust herself said the show was created for people of all ages.

    I guess the appeal of the show comes within the “mane” ponies themselves. Rainbow Dash clearing the clouds for Twilight, but not giving a damn about the other ponies; Applejack trying to satisfy Twilight’s appetite with nothing but apples… The more you get to know them, the more you start to love them. They feel like long lost friends. Perhaps what I’m trying to say is that every episode you wonder, “What are those damn ponies gonna do next?”

    • Valence says:

      Maybe, maybe. I don’t really know. I can’t get into the mood for watching ponies, and lately I’ve been feeling a bit under the weather. I will continue with Day 3 a few days later, I suppose. I hope I can see things the way you do.

  4. @fkeroge says:

    Why are you torturing yourself, my friend? If you don’t find the show interesting, just drop it for your sake and the show’s sake as well. I did that for Evangelion both for me not to endure a borefest *and* for me to not have rights to flame the show.

  5. Yi says:

    I have no idea why this show is so popular either, although I haven’t really given it a chance. It just doesn’t seem at all like the type of show I’d like.

    I wonder if it’s a good idea to motivate yourself with an anime whose appeal you don’t quite get.

  6. Pingback: Even more posts I’d rather not visit ever again | Ambivalence , or is it ambiguity?

Comments are closed.