Manyuu Hikenchou makes me regain faith in life

God must have been really kind to give me another show this season to review which exists solely for the purpose of animating 2D knockers. Hurrah! But what most people see is the jiggly nonsense the show tries to put through from behind white bars of light. Few people see the brilliant parody that Manyuu Hikenchou is trying to put across.

The moment the show starts, we are treated to a scene of someone’s breasts behind presumably sliced off and soon, a commentary on the Edo period, where big breasts mean money and power while little ones mean you are not even human. This alone, the premise of Manyuu Hikenchou, makes many curl in horror (or laughter). A society based solely on the size of mammaries? How ridiculous!

Exactly. Did someone just decide one day that big breasts meant power? Seeing as how they’re even more powerful than the damn Shogunate. How long has this been about? Or did they do this from the very beginning – something which made even less sense? Exactly. The show is parodying the concepts that go behind our little governments and in the quest for power, making a tit-based mockery based on them. You know Singapore? How did the PAP stay in power so long? It’s not like they have big knockers to keep their white uniforms in power for such a long time.

No, some hint they play behind the scenes. Some hint of two-faced decisions and nepotism, of relations between the Presidential candidates and the Prime Minister, of the PAP breaking its own rules. Similarly, we see the dirty  politics and crimes the Manyuu clan commits to stay in power, going about cutting off breasts to make theirs the biggest, with a scroll to increase their breast size, probably supernaturally. All of this is an allusion to the idea of corruption in politics, where there are unfair means of gaining power.

But let us return to the basics: Why breasts as a source of power? Why not the face or hair? We see that the breasts are a symbol of life. They provide nutrients for the child, one of the first few things the infant could ever ingest. In Macbeth, we see this as a theme as well when Lady Macbeth gives her ‘unsex me here’ monologue. Breasts represent life, and life is power. Which is what makes the show even more brilliant , in that the whole ‘Manyuu Hikenchou’ represents the corruption and disruption of the natural jug-growing order, a corruption of nature. All of this , once again, is an allusion to the corruption and darkness of the dog-eat-dog, or , as demonstrated by our heroine, breast-absorb-breast society we blissfully, obliviously, live in.

The art is brilliant in illustrating the girls’ sacks of milk, with every liquid detail hidden behind a white bar of glaring light. Look at the image above. All of the faces inside are DERP faces. There is plenty of such QUALITY in Manyuu Hikenchou. Yet in every scene there is something consistent in every scene: the boobs. Is this symbolic of the emphasis placed on physical virtues rather than those inside? A society where we judge people by how much they don’t eat, coming up with these impossible ideas of beauty and no emphasis on intelligence and virtue at all? A bimbo society where beauty is above brains and brawn? Where one can cruise to power by seduction ?

And what about those white bars? Could this be yet another allusion to the power politics of society? Abandon ye lame shows about idiots and abandoned little girls. Hood Entertainment’s where it’s at. The sound is great too. It comes across as an atypical ecchi anime, with its OP and ED. Yet we have several big-shot seiyuus behind the voice acting. But all we can see are boobs. Yet another allusion? It’s like the Communist Manifesto only hidden under subtext and actually right! At this rate I’m going to end up like that guy from Scanners.

Ok, so I hope this post helped correct some incorrect assumptions about Manyuu Hikenchou being an ‘ecchi’ show about nothing but breasts and milk-vampiric samurai.

But then again, it is being subbed by SubDESU. . .. . .

THAT ED. . . . .

About Valence

I blog things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Manyuu Hikenchou makes me regain faith in life

  1. @fkeroge says:

    Wow, this was an… enlightening post. Well, even so, I cannot fit this show into my schedule anymore, with research proposals and all sorts of university requirements piling up on me like crazy. I’ll apologize to Mamiko Noto for missing two of her shows this season (not that I had any intention of watching Twin Angel though).

  2. Justin says:

    No amount of enlightening can save this show. Maybe if it’s uncensored I can maybe get to ep 5 or 6. Also, I like how much you thought about this, even though you probably never intended to think this hard on Manyuu.

  3. As much as this post was intriguing, I’m still staying far, far away from Manyuu. Frankly, I got enough of breasts being shoved in my face already this year, between watching Freezing and Gantz. I have met my boob quota. Also, I can’t believe I just typed the phrase “boob quota”.

    • Justin says:

      I’m sorry, I usually don’t reply to other people’s replies, but “Boob Quota” is one that defies all logic and needs further explana–

      *BOOM!!!*

      • Valence says:

        I WILL WRITE A POST ON BOOB QUOTA. I CALL DIBS. MARK MY WORDS.

        OR CHECK BACK NEXT FRIDAY, WHENEVER I SUCCEED IN RECORDING HOW MANY BOOBS THERE ARE PER EPISODE OF ANY SHOW BY HOODS ENTERTAINMENT.

    • Valence says:

      Boob quota: at least 50 pairs an episode or something. I have no idea.

      Honestly does anyone enjoy watching this crud?

  4. Massd95 says:

    i’m guessing that this is a troll post. on the other had, LITFAGS UNITE

    • Valence says:

      Why would I write a troll post? I’m dead serious on the brilliance of Manyuu Hikenchou. I’m being passive aggressive but I’m still suggesting it to people to watch.

  5. Azure says:

    Its really alternate!Seikon no Qwaser.’
    *laughing at ‘boob quota’* I probably exceeded mine with Qwaser II

  6. Mathew says:

    You take lit? Good. Now go find all the references in KamiMemo (floating around the net) and make a post about it.

    • Valence says:

      What. I need to watch the thing first, right -.-

      And also, it’ll be insane to find ALL the references in KamiMemo, but I’ll keep this idea in mind.

  7. tsurugiarashix says:

    I really tried, but I just faltered in watching this; so I just briefly skimmed it . Plus with college starting back and some tough classes I need to get through, I barely have the time now. May it another chance later (uncensored), but the censoring for me just makes it unwatchable.

    Nice analysis, though ^^

    • Valence says:

      I think the uncensored one might have gore though. I highly doubt that given the medical expertise of people in that era could they survive their chest being sliced off.

  8. Nopy says:

    But it is an ecchi show with breasts and milk-vampiric samurai 🙂

    Like I said in one of my blog posts, I’m more of a legs person. If this were about corruption and power and slender legs, then it would grab my attention.

  9. Pingback: Kamisama no Memochou and a depressing outlook on youth | Ambivalence , or is it ambiguity?

  10. ~xxx says:

    It makes me think that censorship has come a long way since the Hyakka Ryouran Samurai girls Ink Blot Censorship. and now there comes the flash of light.

    Man, even this one was really out of my list.

    …on second thought if society was only based on that,many girls will pay more for that service.

  11. Overlord-G says:

    Actually I’m just waiting for the bars to be removed. Basically that’s the ONLY thing that turned me away from this show. If it weren’t for them, I would have been keeping up with this show.
    This could be another interesting ECCHIMANIA title. I don’t see it being as glorious as Koihime Musou or Queen’s Blade but hey, I guess your promotion convinced me to at least give the censored version a try.

  12. Pingback: Manyuu Hikenchou is the most politically-charged show in decades | Ambivalence , or is it ambiguity?

Comments are closed.