@fkeroge’s Top Anime Songs

As much as I want to give an excuse for my 3-week hiatus, it would only make things more complicated than it already is. So here’s something of a filler post about anime songs that I hope you people would find at least a bit interesting. Writer’s block FTW!

Putting a K-On! pic as a header pic for no real reason

They say that what music you listen to reflects your personality. And I think this is a bit true now that I think about what sort of music I like. My taste in music carries over to what anime songs I like, too. I think you can get an idea of what I like in my music based on this top 10 list of anime songs that I never (and probably never will) remove from my playlist.

10. [True Tears] Reflectia – Eufonius (riya)

I have yet to finish True Tears, but I have to say that if there’s anything that this anime has managed to impress me with, it’s the OP, Reflectia. I’ve been a fan of Eufonius since I heard Clannad’s OP theme, Mag Mell. I like how they do their music. Their music feels so… magical (for the lack of a better word). Accompanied by the wonderful vocals of riya, Reflectia manages to get in my top 10, even though I don’t like the anime too much.

9. [Nichijou] Zzz (A Capella ver.) – Sayaka Sasaki

What I pay most attention to in a song is the vocals, more than anything else, so of course, A Capella songs almost always fall into my taste. A Capella anime songs are rare, and for this, Zzz is a winner in my book. Amazing singing accompanied by a great vocal melody in the background that adds to the dreamy atmosphere of the song. Isn’t Nichijou full of great stuff?

8. [Toaru Kagaku no Railgun] Only My Railgun – fripside

I find Only My Railgun as one of the most catchy anime songs for me. I still find myself humming to its tune every now and then. I find techno music a bit iffy, and Only My Railgun did give me that feeling when I first heard it, but heck, the song was catchy enough to get a place here.

7. [Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha] Innocent Starter – Nana Mizuki

This was really a hard choice for me to make; Innocent Starter had a very tough competition in my mind with another one of Nana Mizuki’s songs, Eternal Blaze. To be honest, I liked the vocals of Eternal Blaze better, but Innocent Starter was a lot better for me in terms of music composition, thus, getting its spot here in my top 10.

6. [Angel Beats!] My Soul, Your Beats! – Lia

My Soul, Your Beats! won me over as soon as I heard it in the trailer for the anime. Even though I was quite disappointed on how Angel Beats! turned out in the end, it did bring tears to my eyes, as well as impress me with some nice music. Lia’s vocals are really good in this song, and I simply love how they used the piano for the intro.

5. [Amagami SS] I Love – Azusa

I can’t really describe why I like this so much. Maybe it’s the slow melody and the relaxing atmosphere of the song.

4. [So-Ra-No-Wo-To] Hikari no Senritsu (The Melody of Lights) – Kalafina

Hikari no Senritsu is one of the best songs by Kalafina in my opinion. I just love how they combine a relaxing intro, followed by a really powerful chorus that Kalafina is known for, as well as Yuki Kajiura’s heavenly composition. I found myself singing along to this song as early as the third episode of So-Ra-No-Wo-To.

3. [CLANNAD After Story] Toki wo Kizamu Uta (A Song Engraved in Time) – Lia

This song is based on one of Key’s signature compositions for Clannad, Onaji Takami he (To the Same Heights), and is my favorite Clannad BGM. Toki wo Kizamu Uta surpassed the greatness of Onaji Takami he, and that’s saying something. This is also one of the songs to move me to tears especially after I realized how the song plays well into the events of Clannad After Story. It has this sad yet inspiring feel to it, and Lia’s singing is just… godly.

2. [Bakemonogatari] Kimi no Shiranai Monogatari (The Story Unknown to You) – Supercell + Nagi

This is one of my favorite songs by Supercell. It’s not their best song in my opinion, but still, this song still manages to immerse me in its simple, albeit a little tragic, love story while the melody never fails to keep the energy up, making the song so much greater than it already is.

1. [K-On!, Evangelion 2.0 You Can (Not) Advance, Nichijou] Tsubasa wo Kudasai (Give Me Wings) – Original by Akai Tori

This song is a classic in every aspect. The original rendition of Tsubasa wo Kudasai was performed by Akai Tori back in 1971. The song became a classic piece which merited several English renditions. And of course, what K-On! fan would miss the Houkago Tea Time members’ band version? Or would any fan of hers forget Megumi Hayashibara’s song from that ominous Evangelion movie? Or how about the second Nichijou ending theme?

I was introduced to this marvelous piece of music by K-On!. I first heard the instrumental demo of the club to Yui. I was instantly in love with the melody even without the lyrics. Of course, when I heard the actual song, with its simple, inspiring lyrics, I knew that I was listening to a masterpiece.

I eventually found out the origins of the song and I was impressed even by the original performance by Akai Tori. This is perhaps one of my favorite songs of all time, Japanese or otherwise.

                                                                                                                               

Those that didn’t make the Top 10 but are quite notable for me include:

[School Days] Waltz – Kanako Itou

[Angel Beats!] Ichiban no Takaramono – Karuta

[Ano hi Mita Hana no Namae wo Bokutachi wa Mada Shiranai] Aoi Shiori – Galileo Galilei

[Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica] Connect – ClariS

[Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha A’s] Eternal Blaze – Nana Mizuki

[Bakemonogatari] Staple Stable – Chiwa Saitou

About Lucas Magnus

Trying to change for the better.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to @fkeroge’s Top Anime Songs

  1. Yi says:

    A good pretty good selection here. I really like Railgun’s OP too and also Innocent Starter by Nana Mizuki. They were on my driving playlist for such a long time.

    • @fkeroge says:

      Well, my friends do question me why I don’t like fast songs too much. I guess my taste for music is for relaxing, rather than get an adrenaline rush.

      Railgun’s OP somehow relaxes me too, I don’t know why.

  2. Cyurio says:

    I knew the second Nichijou ending sounded familiar. I just couldn’t put my finger on it. Haha, last time I heard that song, it was playing in the middle of an apocalypse. T’is an awesome song, good choice for number 1.

    Though I adamantly believe that Aoi Shiori should be top ten, haha.

    • @fkeroge says:

      Tsubasa wo Kudasai is the greatest Japanese song evah!

      Aoi Shiori (Blue Bookmark) is definitely in my top 20, but top 10, I don’t think so.

  3. Marina says:

    The first Nichijou song immediately put a smile on my face the moment the first couple bars of music played. I also admire your attention to the OP and ED themes of anime, regardless of whether or not you like the actual show. I never paid attention to the True Tears music since I, too, stale mated on finishing that show.
    I’ve always been a sucker for piano themes, so of course “My Soul, Your Beats” won me over. I also really like the opening visuals that accompany the theme. The same goes for the CLANNAD song.
    Sora no Woto’s entire soundtrack is on my list of favorite anime soundtracks, since it pairs well-voiced vocals with sweeping instrumentals and occasional rock elements, like in the song you feature.

    • @fkeroge says:

      “The first Nichijou song immediately put a smile on my face the moment the first couple bars of music played.”

      You mean the OP? Or Zzz?

      “I also admire your attention to the OP and ED themes of anime, regardless of whether or not you like the actual show.”

      Music is to be enjoyed regardless of the content of the anime if the song is good. That’s my honest opinion.

      “I’ve always been a sucker for piano themes, so of course “My Soul, Your Beats” won me over.”

      Piano themes FTW! I have always wanted to learn how to play the piano, but sadly, we’re too poor to buy one, and there won’t be any space left in our house. 😦

      “Sora no Woto’s entire soundtrack is on my list of favorite anime soundtracks, since it pairs well-voiced vocals with sweeping instrumentals and occasional rock elements, like in the song you feature.”

      I think all of So-Ra-No-Wo-To’s music were composed by Yuki Kajiura, and that’s saying something.

  4. Pingback: @fkeroge's Top Anime Songs | Ambivalence , or is it ambiguity? | Anime

  5. Pingback: @fkeroge's Top Anime Songs | Ambivalence , or is it ambiguity? | Music

  6. Azure says:

    Tsubasa wo Kudasai is so ridiculously overused (especially by kyoani)
    Out of my top 10, 7 will probably be by Nana Mizuki, I’m just biased like that.

    • Mathew says:

      I thought that Tsubasa was well played in the list. If there were a mario anime, I would have put the overworld theme as first.

    • @fkeroge says:

      Tsubasa wo Kudasai has been used countless times, not only by the anime industry. It was used in a JAL commercial, as a graduation song in many schools in Japan, and I think it was also featured in The Sound of Music.

      “Out of my top 10, 7 will probably be by Nana Mizuki, I’m just biased like that.”

      I’m a Nana Mizuki fan too!

  7. ~xxx says:

    Asides from Nanoha, all of the songs listed are quite good.

    Aoi Shiori was very good and Only my railgun was fantastic.
    Tsubasa wo kudasai was no exception… and Hikari Senritsu was one of my favorites as well.

    I also liked Future Gazer(Railgun) and the unity(from Gosick).
    CLANNAD songs was one of my favorite sons also.

    Bakemonogatari and Nichijou are quite good songs and also the opening of True tears.

  8. Valence says:

    “As much as I want to give an excuse for my 3-week hiatus”

    Insinuating something aren’t we?

    Tsubasa wo Kudasai was nice, but I was unaware of the Nichijou ver…

    • @fkeroge says:

      “Insinuating something aren’t we?”

      Did I give that impression?

      The Nichijou version of Tsubasa wo Kudasai was great! Too bad it was only used in episode 14.

  9. At least you got over your writer’s block XD

    And i really like Kalafina’s music ><

    • @fkeroge says:

      Actually, this is something of a filler post. I was planning on posting something completely different. But yeah, writer’s block is a demon.

  10. Jacksonite says:

    Decent list for sure. I was really into the Vampire Knight ending theme for a bit there. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eNrOCJmCNjw It definitely set the dark tone of the series perfectly.

  11. lvlln says:

    Kimi no Shiranai Monogatari will always hold a place in my heart as the song that introduced me to Supercell, but I too think it has better songs. Though I’m not sure which is my favorite. Hajimete no Koi ga Owaru Toki? Hoshi ga Matataku Konna Yoru Ni? The classic Melt? Which one is your favorite?

  12. Comment is short because i abosulutely agree with what you have listed maybe not the number 1. but as for the rest definetly! Bakemonogatari/supercell ftw.

Comments are closed.