Dog Days and the Highschool Hero complex

Also, we will win the war, youll have some powerful, hidden ability and youll fall in love with me. Also youll stay here forever and ever without question. Believe it.

Dog Days was kind of a disappointment for me. The whole thing seems so sloppy, so rushed. Random war, then throw in a random highschool hero to fight the entire thing for them. Everything’s touch n’ go. So painful to watch. It has that generic feel you get from watching other shows about cat-ears and dog-ears. But enough shit talking about the show. I’m here to talk about the Highschool Hero complex in Dog Days and its re-emergence.

What is the Highschool Hero complex? I once termed it as the ability of Highschool students to , all of a sudden, adapt to any situation they’re thrown into, especially those which involve action and fighting. Highschool of the Dead being one example, as well the infamous “sounds-like-a-homosexual-is-being-strangled” Fushigi Yuugi and the zero-chest Zero no Tsukaima.

In Dog Days, the HHC couldn’t be more blatant. The kingdom of Biscotti needs a hero (even though they’re blatantly winning) and all of a sudden , let’s send random dog to random world X to get random person Y to fight for us! And that’s it. It actually happens. He goes there and appears, and what’s-her-name starts to elaborate and ask him to fight for her country .She even describes the (retarded) war system where no one fucking dies. And the best part? He doesn’t seem quite fazed at all! Perhaps at first, maybe, but he just…gains composure.

And this HHC is not just limited to one show this season too. Look at shows like Lotte no Omocha! As much as I liked the manga( manga > 9001 > anime) , I had to say that I’m disappointed in how they portray this in the anime adaptation, where the protagonist quite literally gets dragged into the creature’s world. Keep in mind that he’s 22 years old and his daughter’s already 10 – and that they don’t settle anything when they get dragged in. There isn’t even any clarification to how he accepts it so readily , unlike in the manga where at least he explains his daughter and how his family had been distanced from him. This happened to Zero no Tsukaima too – a random entrance. But when you think about it, there is a trend here – most of the time, it is only limited to fantasy anime.

Isn’t that sad? Isn’t it sad that of all the great fantasies we’ve had for the past few years, the fantasy genre of today is only built to pander to the audience, and slowly, scrapping everything else that defined the genre? Think about the drama elements in Mushishi, or the plot in Fullmetal Alchemist. Is the industry truly at such a low point where they seem to form their own templates when they create such shows? And are we, as an audience, at such a low point where we only watch such hackneyed and poor heroes?

Must all protagonists of fantasy be highschool boys?

About Valence

I blog things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Dog Days and the Highschool Hero complex

  1. @fkeroge says:

    Hoorah for non-mainstream writing!

    You were disappointed with Dog Days? For me, it was actually entertaining. I didn’t look for plot when I started to watch it. It’s more of a feel-good anime for me after the heavy stuff.

    Lotte no Omocha was kind of disappointing too. I hope that they’d pick up the pace in the next episodes.

    Anime is supposed to be targeted at high school boys, as well as the slightly older demographic, after all.

    • kluxorious says:

      No, guys like you are encouraging these productions studios to continue producing such abysmal shows! Stop it!

    • Valence says:

      >didn’t look for plot

      Then what do you look for in a show? I like decent plot, anything that’s ok gets pass my radar, but this…this plot was mindblowingly…disappointing. Lotte no Omocha was bastardized into yet another Zero no Tsukaima rip-off. Are high school boys truly entertained solely by these kinds of shows? Being in this age group ( I assume) , do you really think such a show is ‘good’?

      • @fkeroge says:

        Though I do love plot-heavy shows like many of the ones we have this season, I still enjoy the mindless stuff that we have once in a while. Since I have a lot of free time now since I’m on summer break, I try to watch as many shows as possible.

        Dog Days is not good story-wise, it has a terrible plot device. It’s characters are cliched and its premise is unoriginal. But I did enjoy Dog Days for what it’s worth, and I think I’m still going to see it until episode 3. I’ll drop it if it doesn’t get more interesting.

        And yes, many people are entertained by such shows, just look at those American TV series like Big Bang Theory. I like it even though it is episodic and doesn’t really make much sense, because it does what it’s supposed to do.

  2. kluxorious says:

    highschool boys are delicious but Shinku was just shit and I don’t tolerate shit and I am calling all anime nerds to boycott such shit so they will stop producing shit.

    • Valence says:

      Shinku was full of shit ? Hmm, I can’t even recall who that shit is. Shit. Was that shit a shit doll, or was that shit some other shit character in particular? Shit, I need some shit to help me find out this shit.

      Seriously, why do people like shit so much? Why must they produce so much shit, and why must we put up with all this shit?

  3. CainHyde says:

    I haven’t start my spring 2011 first episode marathon so I haven’t watch Dog Days.
    But from the summary, yeah it seem the protagonist is gonna be another male student turned into hero in a few episodes.

    I don’t really mind about it actually.
    But a bit variation might be good, too much (sort-of) ordinary male student turned into hero easily is boring.

  4. Azure Hoshizora says:

    Actually, yea, why can’t it be a very GAR high school girl being the hero of a straight fantasy? Or some average office worker (which would be rather interesting)

    I don’t think the producers in tended for Dog Days to even have a drop of seriousness in it though. It did give me a somewhat odd fresh feeling especially after the shows from last season.

  5. Pingback: Highschool - BEST HIGH SCHOOL LİST – BEST HIGH SCHOOL LİST

  6. Nopy says:

    I don’t think it’s really a low point, anime like this have been around for a long time, they’re just forgotten after a certain number of years.

    I agree with you that the plot is very generic and uninspiring, but at least the characters are cute, and there’s plenty of colourful action scenes. I’d laugh if the way the main character got home was by waking up. He did get to that fantasy world by jumping off a building, so maybe he hit his head.

  7. Arashix says:

    It is a rather generic and bare season, but for some reason, I don’t mind it much. I do like some things about it, but it probably won’t win any prizes….

Comments are closed.