Entertainment not taken at face value: Nichijou, Steins;Gate and Lotte no Omocha!

*Spoiler-free*

Based on the first episodes of these two series, I am  now inclined to see how they will go. Nichijou has great art and shows a very chaotic approach to everyday life and Steins;Gate had a more Inception-like approach. Two completely different shows yet both are arguably equally entertaining and appealing (at least to people like me).

These anime have been discussed countless times even before the release of their respective anime adaptations. Some looked down on Nichijou because of the love-hate reputation of K-On! as a slice-of-life anime and some were alienated by the premise of Steins;Gate. But now, they are being hailed as very good anime by many people. What does this say about the promotional gimmicks and presentation styles of anime?

My answer is as simple as it can get. Many people (including myself) sometimes take the shows, movies and anime they watch at face value and have first impressions based on the synopses and promotional material. One great example is how Lotte no Omocha! is seen by most people. The synopsis for the anime disgusted me so much when I first read it. However, due to the very good counter-arguments by Valence, I decided to give it a shot after all. And I was pleasantly surprised. Fanservice situations in the manga were actually much more scarce than I expected and they were done relatively tastefully. The thing in the infamous synopsis never happened so far, and the story is quite engaging and entertaining with a very nice center of conflict and good characters. To add to my argument, Madoka is also a golden example. It was mostly ignored because of the fluffy and girly promotional material, but look at it now…

TL;DR: Basically, I’m just saying that we should not be swayed by synopses, promotional material and arguments without grounds. It makes us blind and closed-minded to the actual value of the anime that we see. Again, I quote a great man, Bob Ong:

“Natawa ka man o nandiri sa pagkaing may kakaibang pangalan, isang patunay lang yan na apektado ka ng salita.” (“If you get disgusted or laugh at a particular dish because it has a weird name, it just proves that you are affected by words.”).

I hope that this post has been helpful to you.

Also, this is a sort of advertisement to get more people to watch Lotte no Omocha!. Go figure.

Shameless Plug: For those who are interested in the Sono Hanabira ni Kuchizuke wo Series, I am doing a translation of the first Drama CD, Zutto Shiawase na Kiss. It’s a very nice jewel not to be missed by any fan of the series, or yuri in general.

About Lucas Magnus

Trying to change for the better.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Entertainment not taken at face value: Nichijou, Steins;Gate and Lotte no Omocha!

  1. Anima says:

    You know, I’m really glad Lotte no Omocha! didn’t turn into a shameless ecchi-fest. I found the premise humorous and interesting, but not if it was going to be stupidly overboard. I will definitely be watching it. Nichijou and Steins;Gate are in my folder as well. 🙂

  2. Valence says:

    May everyone bask in the glory that is Lotte no Omocha and Nichijou. I’m still trying to convince others that they’re better than they seem.

    • afkeroge says:

      Hopefully, this post can convince them to see the light. ^^

      • Sick says:

        I’m not sure how much praise it would take for many people to give a show about 10-year olds drinking semen a fair shot… perhaps an infinite amount or an imaginary number.

        • afkeroge says:

          That’s what we’ve been trying to tell people. NONE OF THAT FRIGGIN’ HAPPENS.

          But I guess the people who made it are at fault as well.

  3. Jo says:

    Don’t do this to me..! I’ve already got too much on my to watch list…

    Actually, I was talking to a classmate of mine today and he was telling me that Yumekui Merry was a dark show, good show etc etc. I told him that I didn’t watch it because it from the promos just didn’t appeal to me.. Magical Girls, ghosts? I dunno..I didn’t even give it a chance… After reading this, I thought..am I missing something?

    Sometimes its a time thing..especially with this many shows airing. I watch anime for entertainment and for fun..so I pick and choose the shows that appeal to me, and are hopefully good. Sometimes I pick duds..such as that Zombie show last season..and end up raging about the time wasted on it..so yeah, promos and synopses unfortunately hold a lot of sway over me.. But, if the whole lot of anime bloggers say its good, then I’d be willing to give it a shot…

    =)

    • afkeroge says:

      For me, Yumekui Merry was not something special. It’s quite forgettable especially because the other shows like Madoka and Level E aired in the same season. You’re not missing out on too much. Though I have to admit, it was pretty good in retrospect.

      There’s nothing wrong with picking up shows because of personal appeal. It is important to have your own opinions. what I was trying to say in this post is that synopses and promotional material should not be the only criteria in watching or not watching shows, not only anime.

      PS: It’s a shame that Kore wa Zombie desu ka? became sub-par in the later episodes. The only consolation that I got from it is Eucliwood’s singing in the last episode.

  4. baka~ says:

    Lotte no Omocha! has no subs yet… orz

    we should not be swayed by synopses, promotional material and arguments without grounds

    to see is to believe is it? I guess this is strongly what happened to Madoka Magica when people first saw it… 3 episodes later, people were buzzing about it like bees 😀

  5. Nopy says:

    Is Lotte no Omocha even out yet? I try to watch the first episode of every anime to give it a chance so I’ll end up seeing it eventually.

  6. ~xxx says:

    I wish the industry would be back for quality time…

    Lotte no omocha… I think I’ll pass, I’ll watch few series this time.

    • afkeroge says:

      That’s a shame… but oh, well. Life isn’t all anime. There are other good stuff this season, I think that should be enough. 🙂

  7. CainHyde says:

    “Basically, I’m just saying that we should not be swayed by synopses, promotional material and arguments without grounds.”
    I completely agree with this.
    People first impression tends to be wrong.

    And also it seems some people just can’t make a good synopses at all.

    • @fkeroge says:

      “And also it seems some people just can’t make a good synopses at all.”

      Yup. I wonder what kind of nuclear waste went into the food of the one who wrote the synopsis for Lotte no Omocha! ?

      • CainHyde says:

        Hm… probably not nuclear related at all.
        Just a simple liquid substance called “Sauzfryma”.

        I seriously can’t agree that synopses for Lotte no Omocha can be called a synopses actually.
        Though I’m sure that people will pay more attention thanks to the writer selection of word.

Comments are closed.