There’s nothing good about becoming a Puella Magi

Mami, mentor all the way to the end.

I’ll miss her at least until she’s brought back to life by one of Madoka’s wishes.

About Valence

I blog things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to There’s nothing good about becoming a Puella Magi

  1. baka~ says:

    Being a Mami fan, this came as a shock… I find it unbearable ;_;

  2. Lenneth says:

    She and her unlimited rifle works was awesome…and I also predict madoka is gonna wish her back…or it will make the OP seem weird as she was with the 2 of them when they turned into mahou shoujos

    • Valence says:

      if Madoka does wish her back, it’ll make the show so …..average.

      I’d prefer it if she stays dead and gives Madoka some reason to fight, probably against Homura, until the very end where everything is turned around and it turns out that all she had been doing was wrong from the very start , culminating in an epic ending.

  3. Ming Xuan says:

    Kyubey seems so suspicious…

    • Lenneth says:

      well he is

      • Valence says:

        For crying out loud what the fuck is Kyubey anyway? Maybe it’s a witch in disguise!

        • Lenneth says:

          underneath his never changing smile lies a devil waiting for the girls to kill themselves while fighting for him

        • afkeroge says:

          I did a bit of research on this one and it seems like his character is a reference to Mephistopheles from Goethe’s Faust (and this is kind of foreshadowed on the wall graffiti in episode 2 or 1). You make the deal, you get your wish, you become a slave, until you die. Yup, he’s messed up, alright. Not to mention the overly creepy perpetual smile he has…

  4. ariannasterling says:

    That was definitely a surprise for me. And there was…blood. I’m not used to that in most magical girl series. Sailor Moon had its moments, but that was somehow different. And of course there’s PreCure–did anyone ever bleed, ever, in PreCure? I think it sucks how she died right when she was getting to be happy. Poor Mami.

    I’m among those who sort of expects her to come back though.

    • Valence says:

      This might be the most deep show we’re getting this season, so I’m sort of okay with this.

      Has there ever been death in Mahou Shoujo shows? I don’t think so.

      I expect her to come back, but I really hope she doesn’t.

      • Carillus says:

        I’d like to say Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha as the original starter of the “Mahou Shoujo is srsbsns” trope, complete with cute mascot ferret and blood and death and whatnot, but it kind of derailed itself somewhere along the way.

        Seeing how this is an original series by SHAFT, which is on its own already one of the most, uh, original studios, I’m pretty certain it’s going to subvert quite a few tropes.

        • Valence says:

          Starter, and sad to say, probably the only show truly belonging to that trope. But I guess it might either get even serious, or more ridiculous as time passes. Only time will tell.

          SHAFT never fails to amaze, I suppose, but subversion of tropes alone may be enough to fuel this show to success..,.

  5. lvlln says:

    They really better keep her dead. Once you establish that you can bring people back, the concept of death becomes far less threatening. It would cheapen her death and also remove a lot of tension from the rest of the show.

    This show is already a lot of fun thanks to the darker undertones that finally came to fruition this episode. Best not to ruin it.

    • Valence says:

      Like I said in response to Lenneth, Mami’s death will provide the show with depth and the plot with dramatic tension. It’ll serve as a reason to keep them fighting, a possible chance for a plot twist, to create tension amongst the girls and Homura or even between the girls themselves – so much potential can be achieved if she stays dead. Same goes for shows last year such as Katanagatari, where Togame’s death gave reason for Shichika to fight and end the sword hunt, as well as motivation.

      I hope this show’s quality only goes up, and not down.

  6. ~xxx says:

    hope she finds peace at the other side.

  7. Azure Hoshizora says:

    I didn’t see this coming. I had a feeling someone will die but this is only the 3rd episode…
    My guess is that Madoka will wish her back (since she can’t die this early…) and a “spectacular” plot twist will possibly ensue, seeing how Mami wasn’t very supportive of the idea of making wishes for other sake.

    I commend shaft for blowing away all my initial comparisons with Nanoha though. Surpirse me more, shaft~

    • Valence says:

      I’m quite sure that you’d like it more if Madoka doesn’t wish her back, so it’ll be a surprise…. the plot twist segment should apply to Homura. She probably has an ulterior motive unbeknownst to Madoka and crew, which would explain the first episode, where she’s on the verge of death.

      • Azure Hoshizora says:

        I’m pretty sure I’d prefer it that way either… revival doesn’t exactly sound like a cheerful process after giving it much thought.
        Homura is too enigmatic… We need to learn more about her soon…

        I had troubles sleeping yesterday… orz

        • Valence says:

          Hehe, you’re getting nightmares so easily at your age xD

          Revival does sound bad, or even impossible, if afkeroge’s comment on Mephistomeles is correct. I hope Homura’s actually going to be involved in a plot twist though.

  8. afkeroge says:

    Given that the writer is Gen Urobuchi, whom I think was the one who wrote the scenario for Saya no Uta and some other Nitro+ games, I feel that they’re either going to keep her dead OR bring her back to life but with very undesirable or downright horrible consequences. I just hope that this will prove that this season is not so “unoriginal” as others say.

    SHAFT may be going for the best series they have ever produced, provided that they don’t mess it up, like they did in the TV airing of Bakemonogatari.

    P.S.: The character art being that of Hidamari Sketch DOES NOT HELP at all.

    P.P.S.: Watching this WILL NOT HELP to put me to sleep tonight. *changes watching schedule*

    • Valence says:

      I just realized who Urobuchi is. *facepalm* I’m so slow.

      I hope that that happens to her too. Maybe she revives as a witch (seems highly likely at this point…) I wouldn’t exactly call this SHAFT’s ‘ best series ever produced’ though, I’ll be witholding my judgement until the show ends.

      And also, you can no longer unsee Hidamari Sketch gore.

      • afkeroge says:

        Maybe her hidden intentions will be revealed if she does indeed become a witch, that would be a bit nice, but I don’t think they’re going to do that. Maybe some other consequence may ensue, like her being revived as a living veggie or some zombie-like remnant of a living person. Either way, it sort of fits Urobuchi’s style. Defeated allies becoming villains is too overused a trope.

        another P.S.: What the hell is Kyuubey/Cubey/Kyuubee anyway? He’s creepy as heck.

        • Valence says:

          Regarding what the fuck Kyuubey is, I have no idea either. I mean, it’s a being that can grant contracts to become ‘Magical Girls’, and can grant ANY wish using the grief seeds (if I’m not mistaken) – but instead of being some almighty god-like figure it’s a small furry creature? Hell, it’s not even affiliated with anything, so I have no darn idea.

          >defeated allies becomng villains

          Which is why I hope she stays dead, really. That is way too overused and will make the show’s quality fall.

  9. Nopy says:

    I’m still upset about what happened, but it makes the plot so much better.

  10. massd95 says:

    I think she’ll have the privilege of undergoing some form of necromancy to bring her back as a villain, or a masked hooded figure whose identity isn’t revealed to the very end.

    • Valence says:

      I sure hope that doesn’t happen,since that’s way too overused a plot. Defeated ally becoming villain? Plain old, same old, completely old plot line. Why would she be a villain anyway?

      After all, she’s reduced to a black pile of god-knows-what after the witch was done ingesting her – something I doubt will let her come back easy. Also her head was bitten off too, so ….

      I hope that if she does become a villain, she becomes a witch. That’d be so damn twisted.

  11. Ex14 says:

    heh i think i might have an irking what happens….

    MAYBE MAdoka will wish her to come back, which she does…

    But as mentioned above comming back entails a very dark consequenmce, cause nth in the world is free after all. Perhaps like some have mentioned she becomes a witch or a final bosss right at the end which madoka and friends have to beat.

    Speculation only but i could see it going that way…esp after how sickly twisted kubey is, i’m sure the wishes bring nth but bad stuff to their wishers

  12. Pingback: Postmodernism , cyberpunk and views of the future : On Fractale | Ambivalence , or is it ambiguity?

  13. massd95 says:

    lol maybe SHAFT is just double trolling us and Mami will be resurrected whole and good, after which this anime will turn into a cute, sweet, healing Mahou Shoujo Anime about friendship and the power of love, and Sweets.

    …Yeah, Right.

  14. Pingback: Conspiracy theorists, unite! Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica Episode 4. | Ambivalence , or is it ambiguity?

  15. Yi says:

    This was such a huge shock. I was really starting to love Mami, and this happens… Completely turned me off of the series for a few days. 😦

Comments are closed.