Twelve Days : Day Six – Yotsuba&?

You might to read up on other bloggers taking part in this, including Aorii8Cprototype27Scamp,schneider, the cast at Borderline HikkikomoriTWWKLandonJanettedigiboydrmchsr0doctordazza,

Fawkes,FNSNAsuper rats, the crew over at Anime DietJubbzRPTheBigNJinxmefloraineCaraniel,glothelegendChiidai1313bitmapchaos.

Be sure to visit Canon too (Links courtesy of Canon)

Wait a minute…Yotsuba& isn’t anime. Nor was it released this year,Valence? Aren’t you supposed to-

I SHALL DO AS I PLEASE.

This post is indeed anime-related, but in what sense I shall get to the gist of it later. And no, Yotsuba isn’t getting an anime adaptation any time soon. This post is about an experiment I’ve been carrying out for about half a year now.  And the subject of this experiment? None other than my younger brother.

Recently, he’d been getting an interest in K-Pop. He’d listen to it all day long, watch Korean TV channels on Starhub, and rave on and on about some band called ‘SHINee’, and how this ‘Taemin’ isn’t a female, despite my constant insistence that it was so. And the reason he got into this K-Pop craze? Simply because my aunt was interested. He spent some time with her, and eventually he got hooked too.

I then wondered: Why couldn’t I do the same feat? We share the same room, and surely, some of my anime habits must have passed on to him. But alas, no luck. He’d still refuse to watch anything but Naruto when I tried to coax him into watching Eden of the East with me. I sat down and tried to figure out why my scheme had failed. Then it dawned on me: I needed to let him find his own interests.

Furthermore, I figured that if my aunt could make her daughters watch anime and like it, I should be capable of the same feat.

Eventually, I started to help him buy Shonen Jump magazines, letting him read the Shonen Trio in English, along with other comics. I taught him soon to read these fan translations online, and soon he started reading one comic on his own. What was it?

Rosario + Vampire. Needless to say I was disappointed. But thankfully he dropped it, albeit after asking several confusing questions and making several comments on how ‘there were so many girls in it’ and how ‘disgusting’ it was.

I was almost on the verge of giving up. Then, a breakthrough – Flunk Punk Rumble, or as it is better known, ‘Yankee-kun to Megane-chan’. It worked well. He read volume 1, which was in English (bonus points), and he bought 2 more volumes. He pestered me to play Yu-Gi-Oh with him. I agreed. Eventually, he started watching Yu-Gi-Oh, then its legendary ‘Season Zero’. On his own. I saw a glimmer of hope.

But then it just stopped there.

I tried to get him to read my manga collection again. Alas, it was a fruitless venture – at first. He had already read the english ones, and the Chinese ones : he simply couldn’t understand. Then, it dawned on me : the perfect book in my collection.

Yotsuba&. The Chinese translation was simple enough to read. The content wasn’t too complex ; it wasn’t too difficult, it was simple enough and it was funny enough. It spread like wildfire. At first he read one volume. Then he wanted me to buy the 2nd volume. So I did. And soon my aunt was reading it too. His friends at school wanted to read it. He practically brought it everywhere.

So now every time we stop by a comic shop, him and I will both look for comics that tickle our fancy. The result of a long, six month experiment?

Further Reading

<– Click Here to read Day 5

Click here to read Day 7–>

 

About Valence

I blog things.
This entry was posted in 12 Days and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Twelve Days : Day Six – Yotsuba&?

  1. Ming Xuan says:

    Another heretic averted!
    But..seriously…naruto?

    • Valence says:

      Everyone starts with the Shonen Trio and moves on for the better. You can’t deny it. I’m sure most people from HCI read Bleach or sth.

      • Ming Xuan says:

        I can deny it. It would be at least everyone minus one. I started with Inuyasha..which was still shounen but at least not the terrible trio.

        • Valence says:

          They’re not exactly terrible per se…just….lacking.

          And also, Bleach looks set to continue for another 10 years. Hopefully he’s just pulling our legs.

          • hikikomori1969 says:

            I started out on Inuyasha though that just turned me away from anime, since nothing happened ever, also the tv network I watched it on went 50 episodes and then started from the beginning. Eventually I just read the ending”s synopsis it didn’t actually end so I just gave up ( even on subs). Though naruto Shippuden got me started again or maybe full metal alchemist.

            On a side note yeah for Yotsubato!. It will always remain in my top three favorite manga next to vagabond and one piece

            • Valence says:

              Same sentiments on Yotsuba&.

              I think Shonen shows work as great spring-board for anime-watching. They’re just simple entertainment, easy to access and easy to find other watchers.

  2. Sebz says:

    congrats on influencing your brother like that xDD

  3. I’ve determined that the only people who don’t enjoy Yotsubato are those who have no soul. Crisis averted it seems!

  4. Gotta love converting people. I do it as frequently as possible.

  5. Alx2oy says:

    I LOWL-ed at the Rosario + Vampire part. Hoho 😄

  6. Azure Hoshizora says:

    I could try that on my younger brother but the only 2 manga series he has ever read are Pokemon and the Kingdom hearts adaptation…

    The bright side would be he naruto I suppose.

    • Valence says:

      Same here, actually. Currently he only reads Pokemon….

      orz

      • Azure Hoshizora says:

        It has occurred to me that despite how I wish my brother would get new hobbies (either than sonic, mario and hating bieber) I probably wouldn’t want to catch him reading stuff like negima or something…

  7. Joichi says:

    Well just take it slowly, don’t try to be too pressuring. Because what a boy loves in anime, can be a different take with girls. Sometimes I try to understand that maybe some boys wouldn’t like something as heartfelt.

    Ugh, and I agree that terrible Shonen Trio, that pops up in every anime site, every magazine stand.. I only like/collected One Piece out of them.

  8. Joichi says:

    I do agree it would be good to monitor those young boys, so that they don’t end up picking something for older teens (some shonen manga are quite decieving) but sometimes trying to pick out what comic he should read to cater to your fancy, is like a mom picking out her children’s clothes. Thanks to the post, I’d love to read Yotsuba ❤ the first heartfelt manga i read was fruits basket, until vols later…

    • Valence says:

      Not exactly cater to ‘my’ fancy, but I did so hoping he would develop an interest of his own. Perhaps what I did was wrong, but baby steps first.

      Yotsuba works like a charm though.

  9. Pingback: Twelve Days of Anime: Day Five – Mini-Ika | Ambivalence , or is it ambiguity?

  10. shumbapumba says:

    Where does Season Zero fall into the Yu Gi Oh Chronology?

  11. Yi says:

    I actually got my sister and brother to read Yotsuba too! It’s so easy to get into and so cute and so much going on. It’s probably one of the most accessible manga to non-anime fans.

  12. Pingback: Twelve Days of Anime: Day 7 – The story of a gay priest, two fallen angels and a whole lot of bastardisation | Ambivalence , or is it ambiguity?

  13. Pingback: Twelve Days of Anime: Day 12 – Aniblogging (as if you didn’t see this coming already) | Ambivalence , or is it ambiguity?

  14. Yotsuba&! is awesome. Like one of the comments said, those who don’t like it have no soul. Though, I should say “little traces of a soul”.

    I think there’s a hidden meaning behind Yotsuba in general and I talked about it here at: http://www.mangatherapy.com/post/2728487184/youth-energy-yotsuba

    It might never be an anime, but that shouldn’t stop people from getting into the series because it’s a great book that appeals to everyone.

Comments are closed.