Who says Ika Musume can’t be educational?

http://kurogane.animeblogger.net/2010/11/24/ika-musume-08-ii/#more-4323

http://www.scientificamerican.com/article.cfm?id=can-squid-fly

SO SQUIDS CAN FLY? It’s a little more than that.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Japanese_Flying_Squid

I wonder whether these kinds of squids ‘fly’ at all. After all, on average they have around 10 tentacles, which would make Ika-Musume’s extra number of legs slightly plausible…..

Then what about those ‘flappy things’?

IF I remember my biology correctly (which I doubt) , it helps in propulsion and mating rituals. I can’t really remember….

See? Even a show like Shinryaku! Ika-Musume! is making me think. Hard.

About Valence

I blog things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Who says Ika Musume can’t be educational?

  1. Azure Hoshizora says:

    I take biology so I don’t know, but Ika Musume’s body is probably not aerodynamic enough to fly, lol

    I feel enlightened to discover that Squids can fly from anime~

    • Valence says:

      By fly, I mean they jump out of the water and back again like flying fish. Apparently there’s a good amount of squid species that can do this.

      I feel enlightened too.

  2. one can argue that it can go both ways

  3. Yi says:

    I was pretty sure those flaps are to help propulsion and orientation underwater. They’re useless on land though.

    Thanks for the biology lesson. ^ ^

    • Valence says:

      Thanks..? Even though I don’t take biology.

      They help in propulsion and orientation, but they can be moved too, so they can also be used for other tasks such as mating rituals (supposedly).

  4. alucard13mm says:

    lol i thought it would be more in the realm of zoology. I am a general biology major (who later switched to human biology), and generally we don’t go into this kind of subject. I suppose its feasible for her to have 12-13 “legs”. Those fin thingies are most likely for stability when gliding through the water. Also, the fin thingies are my favorite part to eat of a squid =D. i dont really see an advantage of leaping out of the water as a squid, just so a seagull can catch you lol.

    • Valence says:

      It’s zoology ._. I always thought zoology was part of biology, but I’m wrong.

      Flying squids? Some do that in attempts to escape if I’m not mistaken. Some species are even noted to be able to glide through the water, and even jump out, just like their names imply..

  5. alucard13mm says:

    lol i think a whale can jump higher =P

Comments are closed.