My thoughts on the Fall season : Everything I expected to shine, didn’t – and everything else shone.

Given that one of my recent posts seems to have blown up in my face, in an attempt to avoid making any comments that others might accuse me of being elitist for, I decided to spend the afternoon clearing off my downloaded episodes.

I downloaded almost everything, Ika Musume, MM! and Fortune Arterial included. What I soon realized after watching though, was that I’m a really bad fortune teller : everything I expected to be bad was good, and everything I expected to be good weren’t as good as I expected.

What I had expected to be the best this season was OreImo, The World God Only Knows and Arakawa Under The Bridge 2. Although OreImo looks like it still has hope, the shows have not been doing as well lately.

But fear not, Valence, for the unlikely ones have come to save the day. Every show I expected to crash and burn passed with flying colours. These shows included (but are not limited to:) Milky Holmes, MM! and Panty & Stocking with Garterbelt.

Milky Holmes: A show about four lolis trying to become great detectives. It sounds happy-go-lucky, yet it feels so …depressing. In the first episode, they lose their powers and their respective luxuries, being thrown into the thralls of living in a less-than-comfortable room, and their antics seem to lead them down into one trouble after another. Moe=happy? No. That intrigues me. A lot, because I’m  a paranoid fucker. So I’m watching.

MM!: I came in looking for masochistic male lead, I got a masochistic male lead. I came in expecting some character with androphobia, I get a character with androphobia. Yet MM! still manages to be funny to me. Perhaps I’m just misguided. But nevertheless, it didn’t crash and burn like I expected, so great.

And of course, Panty and Stocking with Garterbelt. Needless to say, I expected it to be a crude visual acid-fest chockful of parodies to Western Culture. It turned out to be a crude visual acid-fest chockful of parodies to Western Culture, but in a good way. Hilarious and short, although humour crude and sexual – just like most comedies out there.

So, what are your surprise shows this season?

About Valence

I blog things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to My thoughts on the Fall season : Everything I expected to shine, didn’t – and everything else shone.

  1. Ming Xuan says:

    You are a good fortune teller, just like Ryou. Your predictions are the direct opposite of the truth!

    • Valence says:

      I did predict that one episode of High School Musical-based Panty & Stocking….

      …….but I realize that when I ignored my predictions for the exams I seem to do better.

  2. Lenneth says:

    Something about Milky Holmes is really bugging me as I watched it, but nevertheless I still continue watching it. And I realized Sora no Otoshimono was left out =( and so was Motto To Love Ru =(

    • Valence says:

      I haven’t started on Sora no Otoshimono, didn’t bother with Motto To Love Ru. But Milky Holmes surprised me – I thought it would be a cheery children’s show, but it wasn’t as cheery as I expected it to be.

      • Lenneth says:

        but the thing is that since the main characters are lolis, why do I not feel excited over them…it is a strange feeling I get…and somehow all the characters’ personalities can be easily found in other works which made me feel disappointed as I watch…

  3. fabricerequin says:

    I need to start wathcing milky holmes and Panty =/
    So many anime i missed out >.<

  4. hiroy_raind says:

    huh, you might gonna make me watch Milky Holmes.

    A friend of mine was at first interested in watching Yosuga no Sora as he already played the VN.
    After the first week and a couple of exposure about the anime, he refused to watch the first ep.

    Oh, and neither do I.

  5. Nopy says:

    The shows I’m still sticking with are: MM!, Yosuga no Sora, Star Driver, Oreimo, Arakawa, Panty and Stocking, Index 2, and Fortune Arterial.

    I thought Milky Holmes was a bit silly.

  6. biotoxic says:

    I’ve got to agree with you on this – the shows I was looking forward to have been meh, but the ones I just picked up on a whim have been more interesting. I was hoping Samurai Girls and Motto To Love Ru would be good – wrong. And I wasn’t planning on watching MM! or Panty & Stocking but they’ve turned out to be very entertaining.

    Although I must say right now I can’t stand Milky Holmes. I’m surprised my eyes are still intact after watching 1 episode.

    • Valence says:

      Samurai Girls just turned out to be kind of cliche, and Panty & Stocking is the biggest surprise for me this season. Milky Holmes – I admit, I like it partially due to lolis, and partially since they’ve been advertising it since AFA LAST YEAR – – – more reason to try it. Currently I like it because it feels different from the other loli shows out there for some reason.

  7. Azure Hoshizora says:

    I forgot the existence of milky holmes…

    • Valence says:

      How could you, lol, they were advertising it at AFA since last year, and they’re even coming this year ._,

      • Azure Hoshizora says:

        precisely because they are everywhere that I kinda grew numb and forgot about them… ._.

        • Valence says:

          Nevertheless, they’re still coming to AFA X. I wonder whether that would help at all. I heard the show was based on a game, but I wonder what the game is like. . .

  8. Canne says:

    I simply overlooked Milky Holmes after I read several negative impressions towards it and now I am hesitating.

    I still have high hope for OreImo, despite everything. -_-

    • Valence says:

      Same, you have to admit that everyone loves – and watches – OreImo. You watch it, your friends watch it, your grandmother watches it, your grandmother’s neighbour’s distant relative from Ohio watches it, and so on. It’s like, so darn popular, so definitely, hope is there.

      Milky Holmes was nice for me, but I think it’ll suck sooner or later. I’m a pessimist that way.

  9. Yi says:

    My surprise love this season is Ika Musume. I had read the manga and thought it was pretty funny, but forgettable. So when the season came around, I didn’t even notice it. Then when I finally picked it up, I loved it instantly. Not only do the jokes translate well to anime, they’re even funnier.

    Of course, the other is OreImo, but that’s hardly surprising.

    I’m still on the fence about picking up Panty and Stocking… I just can’t seem to get excited about it.

    • Valence says:

      Well you should xD

      And Ika Musume – unexpectedly entertaining. I thought it would be some kid’s show about saving the environment at first.

  10. Ex14 says:

    hmmm how about otome youkai zakuro? and bakuman? Star driver is not great but decent too. Index is the same as always too

    tbh i kinda like everything this season lol

    • Valence says:

      Liking is one thing, but judging and ranking to see which is good and which is bad – that is another thing. Everything can be argued to be decent, but which are the ones which truly stand out?

      • Ex14 says:

        well they all stand out in some way or too >_> i gave up rnaking or scoring the anime i watched because i keep realising the anime after watching them “fresh” and later on when u stop and think keeps changing >_> so yea.

        Neutrality is a wonderful, ignorant and blissful thing

  11. Awesome post, hey I found this post while googling for lyrics. Thanks for sharing I’ll email my friends about this too.

  12. Check out Amazing facts about electronic synthesizer on my squidoo. Armin van Buuren is my FAV! :)))

Comments are closed.