Reasons why Apocalypse Zero needs some love

http://glothelegend.wordpress.com/2010/09/11/i-lost-a-bet/

Being the naturally inquisitive soul I am, I torrent’d Apocalypse Zero to see why people call it the ‘worst anime in history’, to the extent where watching it feels like torture. SO I finished it, having made my way past face-ripping BDSM queens , penis dragons and breast hammer-guns, all the while watching people being drenched in blood, guts, and a whole assortment of unknown bodily appendages. Of the 5 reviews on MAL, 4 of them rate it at one, with one of them commenting how he wished he could have gave it zero instead. Now, I can understand why they would say the show is mediocre, bad and whatnot, but saying that it’s worse than Mars of Destruction – oh boy, there’s where you cross the line! Nothing is more poorly directed, shot and meaningless than Mars of Destruction, but I digress.

  • Apocalypse Zero provides some ol’ time Fist of the North Star fun. Fun, if you like gore-fests. Of 76 minutes of total running time, I estimate that 55% of screentime is dedicated to innards-ballistics, heads bursting and limbs being ripped off from their sockets, with the blood flying everywhere and painting the ground red. The only gore I didn’t really like was the part where ‘Beauty’ makes the teenage girl explode by squeezing her until her innards came flying out of her face. Reason being I didn’t think it made any sense. It should have been crushed under that pressure, instead of through the face. Furthermore, the setting of Apocalypse Zero could be said to be highly similar to Fist of the North Star. While I don’t deny that Fist of the North Star is much better than Apocalypse Zero,  I still have to say this. Apocalypse Zero is based on action, fighting and set in a post-apocalyptic world, just like Fist of the North Star.  The plot is simple, and usually makes way for a gut-busting (literally) fight. Also, Kakugo kept reminding me to actually complete Fist of the North Star some day.

  • Apocalypse Zero takes sexual humour to an extremity. While shows like Seitokai Yakuindomo attempt to overplay the aspect of sexual humour, Apocalypse Zero brings it, perhaps unwittingly, to a new level. Perhaps I’m deranged, but I laughed at that above scene. None of it made any sense whatsoever, and the mutants Harara sends out are all some kind of sexual deviant, or make heavy use of genitalia and their mammary glands in combat. Of the 4 ‘Tactical Evil’ he/she sends out, two of them make use of their penises in battle. Of course, their penises are involved in their downfall , defeat and death, but I digress. It’s hilarious.  Not to mention their attacks are ridiculous. ‘Double Big Tit Bomb..?’ It’s this kind of extreme sexual humour SYD dreams to achieve, but fails to.

  • The voice acting and sound is actually better than the reviews tell you. They tell you it’s 1/10, simply because they hate the show. However, merit has to be given to the sound effects, especially the ones in combat and the ED. The ED sounded nice, but I can’t seem to find it online. The voice acting was rather excellent  ,if you can look past Apocalypse Zero being one of the most over-hated anime in all history. Ogata Megumi lends his voice to the perfectionist antagonist Harara. Ogata Megumi is also the voice behind Naoi Ayato, Ikari Shinji , Kurama and both incarnations of Yugi Motou. Yamadera Kouichi voices Kakugo, the protagonist who uses the Zero in battle. He’s the voice behind Kaji Ryouji ,Spike Spiegel and rather ironically , Kenshiro Kasumi, the protagonist of the prequel of Hotuko no Ken, Sotuko no Ken. Rather surprising for a show rated 1/10. With these talents as seiyuus, you can expect good voicing for the characters. Although I admit the quality is bad (pre-2000 ) but the voices are a-ok.

And that’s why Apocalypse Zero needs some more love. I admit it isn’t the best of anime, or rather that it’s a bad anime to begin with, but there’s really no reason to warrant it a direct 0/10. Warnings have to be given though, this show isn’t for everyone. It takes someone with balls to complete the show, and more balls to write a blog post on it.

As such, I wish you the best of luck if you do plan to watch this show. Not everyone has as much balls as I do.

About Valence

I blog things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Reasons why Apocalypse Zero needs some love

  1. Ming Xuan says:

    Brain bleach! Where’s my brain bleach?!?!

  2. doriinatrix says:

    What the fuck
    that sounds awesome
    how could something that sounds so awesome be that bad

    • Valence says:

      I DON’T KNOW!! Perhaps it’s the studio that fucked it up, or all the negative publicity.

      But apparently the OVA only covered like only a fraction of the original Apocalypse Zero . . . .

  3. Azure Hoshizora says:

    arggh art looks terrible so I’m never gonna give it a try. And it sounds awesome in a bad way too.
    but lol, “double big tit bomb”

    • Valence says:

      It’s like, renowned for being the worst anime ever made. But I feel that dubious distinction goes to Mars of Destruction. Freaking hilarious show, which wasn’t supposed to happen. Maybe it’s a case of ‘it’s so bad , it’s sort-of watchable’.

      Also, that character can regenerate her breasts, and her genitalia spews acid or something. All the characters use their …..organs to do things. It’s completely ridiculous.

      • Azure Hoshizora says:

        Its sounds so very ridiculous and bad that I might start getting interested in it…

        But using organs to do um… things, I don’t want to know…

    • Valence says:

      >penis microphone
      >penis dragon
      >breast machine gun

      …amongst many other mind-scarring things. It’s practically lul-zy. It’s so bad it’s moderately hilarious.

  4. ippius says:

    god i so wanna watch this.

    unfortunately my bandwith limit is somewhat restrictive.

    i iz sadpanda 😦

  5. hiroy_raind says:

    oh wow, I’ve seen the Kakugo no Susume Revoltech figures on local stores, but I never expected it to actually came from that kind of anime/manga.

  6. Yi says:

    Double Big Tit Bomb!
    Haha. Somehow that turns me off to the anime. You’re right that it’s not for everyone.

    • Valence says:

      I don’t know, I agree that the anime is bad, but it’s so bad,it’s almost funny. The ‘Tactical Evils’ are all so darn ridiculous I can’t help but laugh.

  7. Noir says:

    I know that this series has one of the most ridiculous enemies ever but you gotta admit that Kakugo’s Zero Armor is made of pure awesome.

    Try reading the manga, the anime only covered like 2 volumes out of the 11.

Comments are closed.