Half-time Review : Seitokai Yakuindomo


Seitokai Yakuindomo is about a high school student, Tsuda Takatoshi, who just enrolled into Ousai Academy, a female-only school recently turned co-ed. Upon arriving, he is soon added to the student council, becoming the only male there as well as the vice-president. Seitokai Yakuindomo bills itself as not only a shounen anime, but also a school-life comedy anime.

Comedy? Excuse me while I snigger.

What Seitokai Yakuindomo’s production crew fails to understand is how having the same make-up as about nearly 80% of other ‘comedy’ anime out there will not make anything new or interesting. Seitokai Yakuindomo is your atypical student council, with a twist – or in anime terms, completely normal. We have your stereotypical height-conscious loli, your common big-breasted airhead, and of course, the student council president who is completely aloof. Not to mention your Kyon character who is completely devoid of any actual character whatsoever. I took count of the number of laughs I got from watching episodes 3 through 8, and the grand total is an awe-inspiring and respectable 3 laughs. 1 of those laughs came from stating that Seitokai Yakuindomo was comedy – haha, make that 4.

It might also interest you that it’s rated R- 17+. With enough sex jokes to amuse even the most conservative slut, Seitokai Yakuindomo is practically a giant manifestation of filth and sin. Shino and Aria are supposedly one of the factors which generate comedy for the show, and all they do is talk about sex and surprise- more sex. The remaining half of screen-time is devoted to showing how short Suzu is and then the audience is expected to laugh. Not to mention that every single female in the show, aside from Suzu, is a regular nympho.

It doesn’t help that that was exactly how the source was made out to be, supposedly. A 4koma series targeted at teenagers can only end up as a corrupted version of Azumanga Daioh, or if I want to give myself a kick in the balls, Seitokai no Ichizon’s cousin. Now, now, let’s light up and be optimistic, you say. Okay then, let’s try and appreciate it exactly for the sex jokes. Even here it fails. With all that smut , lyrics about copulation and censored sex toys you’d expect the jokes to be more extreme. But no. It even fails here.  All the characters are way too overdone, too. We have our usual rich airhead- overdone to the point of exhaustion. I could go on, but you could probably tell yourself.

SO what led to this trainwreck? Was it inexperience on the part of GoHands? Or is it merely the fact that the source material has caused the show to be shaped this way? Nevertheless, with the remaining 4 episodes, it rests entirely on the hands of Kanazawa Hiromitsu to decide whether SYD will either turn out to be a gut-riveting comedy about an abnormal student council, or merely a mediocre anime destined to be forgotten and left in oblivion.

About Valence

I blog things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Half-time Review : Seitokai Yakuindomo

  1. Lenneth says:

    D= personally i enjoy watching it, though i did not really laugh much like you. Maybe its because the jokes are more tuned for the locals. The character which I find most interesting is hata, who keeps my interest in the anime intact. I felt sad when i saw how you criticized the anime D=

  2. Azure Hoshizora says:

    Didn’t watch it but a friend of mine shows me screen shots of it weekly and, well at least they make better jokes than the boys in my class. Bondage Teddy bear, lol.

    Honesty, this feels like seitokai no ichizon run over by Yamada’s horniness from B gata H kei, upped a level to try to make people laugh.

    • Valence says:

      Key word : try.

      Hell, I come from an all-male school ,so you can guess the kind of jokes they tell. Just wait till JC >=D

      …but anyway. The jokes became staid and stopped being any bit interesting or funny by the 3rd or 4th episode. I think I smirked at the bondage bear though.

      • Ming Xuan says:

        What jokes? The only thing that came to my mind is a bunch of people crowding around a screen searching for images at google while attempting to show off their maturity by making lewd comments which they probably do not know.
        No, seriously.

      • Azure Hoshizora says:

        Might give it a go after exams. Or the manga to kill time.

        I got used to seeing weekly jokes from this anime and I agree that the joke quality is somewhat slipping, though the sports day one did make me chuckle.

        Bondage bear actually reminded me of kampfer, but nevermind…

  3. Pingback: Half-time Review : Seitokai Yakuindomo « Ambivalence , or is it … | Azumanga Daioh

  4. karry says:

    “a giant manifestation of filth and sin.”

    So no change from ordinary USian TV then ? I mean, hell, everyone seemed to love that “Sex in the city” shit about adventures of four complete and utter sluts.

    • Valence says:

      I dunno, I hardly watch US TV nowadays. But probably,yes. But then again, the general public will watch anything that’s broadcasted, so…

  5. Persocom says:

    Hmm… I guess this review sums up how I felt. I started out not expecting anything and well I kinda stopped watching partway through. Suzu was the only one I really liked and all they ever did was make fun of her :/

    • Valence says:

      Yes! I mean she’s supposedly a genius but no-one cares about that, so that kinda sucks.I mean, I think that I would have had felt inferior to such a ‘prodigy’.

      Suzu’s a great character but she’s just there as a gag. What a shame..

  6. Nopy says:

    I know that SYD is lacking in a lot of respects, but I’m actually enjoying it. The jokes were funny to me, and they don’t ruin it with a flood of fanservice like other anime.

  7. flyzice says:

    I stopped watching it after the first episode because well, the jokes aren’t funny but my friend seems to enjoy it very much and has been religiously following the anime. Go figure.

    • Valence says:

      I lost interest in it a long time ago, just marathoned the whole thing just to see whether it was any good.

      Unfortunately,no.

      However, you do have to give credit to SYD for a somewhat okay OP and ED.

  8. hiroy_raind says:

    it’s definitely not on the top 5 anime this season in my list, but I still can enjoy it.
    At least the bad parts aren’t so bad it hurts.

    …okay, some of Aria’s bits did hurts *the aturomaticdoor/elevator stuff).

    Nevertheless, I’ll watch this one until it ends.

  9. Pingback: Half-time Review: High School of the Dead (H.O.T.D) « Ambivalence , or is it ambiguity?

Comments are closed.