Zero No Tsukaima – “I told myself to finish this months ago, but suddenly I don’t blame myself for not doing so”

Perhaps it’s just me. Perhaps I came in expecting something that would me blow me off my seat. After all, given its credentials it looked likely to do so. Not only does it have a relatively large fanbase, it was also made by J.C. Staff, who produced the 4 (probably) most famous tsunderes out there right now. Or perhaps I expected a great experience because of Louise’s DFC. Either way, I was just setting myself up for disappointment.

Because every girl has that in their dressing table drawer.
Now , now, I can’t blame Zero no Tsukaima for having a ridiculous plot, however, I admit that the plot, no matter how ridiculous it must have sounded, was acceptable by my standards. Louise , or ‘Zero Louise’, summons a human boy as a familiar by accident, and they get into trouble together.
What I can’t stand is how predictable everything is. Search up a thesaurus and you’d find that ‘Zero’ is a synonym for ‘ Void’ . Every character is never who they seem. Guiche is a douche coward. Tabitha’s royal. Kirche’s a slut. Saito is a legendary wizard and Louise has a hidden power locked within her that can only be used at the climax of the show. Atypical. Everything’s guessable from the start. From the very start, you would know that Saito would never go back, that they would fail – fall in love and well, Louise knows actual magic and can kick some ass. Not to mention that every damned artifact they have is commonly found in ‘our world’.

A consolation would be that Saito isn’t completely spineless. Aside from acting as Louise’s servant and doing all of her damn chores such as dressing her , washing her panties ludicrously slowly, bowing down like a dog and getting whipped like a horse, he fights off everything that threatens her safety. That gives him half a spine, but of course, this is a rom-com in a sense,so he’s actually the male character with the most balls in the show. The others are either spineless creeps or perverts.

Yes, that’s right folks- they live in a Crapsack World. A world where everything is out to get you,a world where all lovers are demons, all royalty is evil, all power is corrupt and all peasants are oppressed. That automatically makes our (probably) 17 year old Saito the perfect guy to save the kingdom. Is he studying in High School? I’m not sure, but probably so. Score 2 for the Highschool Hero Complex. Aside from being given the power of Gandalfr, who sounds like a rip-off from Lord of the Rings, he also knows how to fly a Japanese Zero (sniggers).

Oh wait, he doesn’t really know how to fly one, his ability conveniently gives him the power to use any weapon. Neat.

Although all the side characters were so very cliched, the chemistry between Louise and Saito was the entire worth of the show. If they fucked it up, the show would suck. And I’m sorry to say they did not manage to do well , but I admit they did not fuck it up. Hopefully watching Seasons 2 and 3 will clear this up, but people already tell me that Season 3 is a downer…

Mi-mademoiselle  is also a downer.
About Valence

I blog things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Zero No Tsukaima – “I told myself to finish this months ago, but suddenly I don’t blame myself for not doing so”

  1. Lenneth says:

    saito is a man…a true man…a true masochist man…you will probably be disappointed with the other two seasons…but still I hope you will enjoy it…oh and season 3 introduces the mega H cups XD

    • Valence says:

      I torrented all 3 seasons, and I really hope it lives up to its supposed reputation as one of the four cornerstones of the Tsundere kingdom.

      • Lenneth says:

        i am not sure but i think the next 2 seasons feature less of louise being a tsundere and less of a sadist. though i am not very sure since i watched it a long time ago. it becomes more harem like once it reaches season 2 i think.

  2. Azure Hoshizora says:

    Ah… I only made it through the first 2 episodes of the 2rd season. It was interesting, until all the H-cups appeared in season 3 cuz I thought the whole point about this anime was the DFCs.

    Then again I watched this 2 years ago and probably forgot the plot already anyway

    “Because every girl has that in their dressing table drawer.”
    I don’t even have a dressing table, probably not a girl, lol.

  3. Nopy says:

    I actually liked Zero no Tsukaima (minus season 3). If you’ve already watched season 1, you have to watch season 2. I almost cried at the end there.

    btw, isn’t the thing in her drawer a magic wand?

  4. Marcos G says:

    Season one was ok
    Season two was ok, but lost my interest.
    Good luck!

  5. Alx2oy says:

    Hmm..Season 1 was kinda boring for me..Season 2 was plain awesome, especially the last few episodes.

    I was hoping that Season 3 would be better but..mehh.

  6. Maurence says:

    well season 3 was awesome!!!!!! tabitha has a crush on saito too!!

  7. Pingback: How would you ‘define’ tsundere? | Ambivalence , or is it ambiguity?

Comments are closed.