Fall’10 Season Preview, Part One.

Thanks to The Cart Driver, we’ve now got a preview chart for Fall/10, although not fully confirmed, but still, much faster than Chartfag managed. And since I feel particularly bastardy today, I’m going to review every darn series airing this season, by hook or by crook. OVAs I have no comment, but whenever it comes to new series, hell yeah.

And since I’m too fucking lazy to provide background information on the series, I’ll only be providing my thoughts. MyAnimeList will take care of the rest.

Star Driver (Bones)To the south of Japan, there lies a lush green island called Southern Cross Isle. One night, a boy by the name of Takuto Tsunashi washes up on the shore of the island alone. Having swum from the mainland alone and without any possessions, this boy enrolls in the senior high level in the school on the island – Southern Cross High School.

With his bright and positive personality, he starts to mix with various students in the school and builds relationships with many of them, including Wako Agemaki and Sugata Shindou. But this school hides a deep secret. There are sleeping giants hidden under the ground called “Cybuddies”.

There are about 20 of these giants, and they are just some of the various secrets kept by everyone on the island: The secret movements of the mysterious organization known as “Kirahoshi Juujidan”.The songs of the shrine maidens. And even Takuto himself will soon come to embrace a great secret…

This island in the southern territories surrounded by the blue sea and the blue skies is the stage where the “Eulogy of Youth” filled with love, dreams and friendships, will begin.

Thoughts : Holy fucking shit, a mecha series! And by Bones! Motherfudging Bones! But it seems set to become lack-luster as soon as it starts airing. The mecha concept is -interesting- enough, but Bones seems to be piling anything it can think of onto the plot. Now all that matters is how they pull it off. It’s a mecha series, a mystery series, a fantasy series, a school-life series, an action-series, and it’ll probably feel harem-ish. I wonder how they’ll do it. Nevertheless, it seems set to be awesome, should they do it right.

Chances of me not watching it despite calling it a high contender to be awesome: High

My Little Sister Can’t Be This Cute (AIC) – Kyousuke Kousaka, a normal seventeen-year-old high school student, hasn’t gotten along with his younger sister, Kirino, in years. For longer than he can remember, Kirino has ignored his comings and goings and looked at him with spurning eyes. It seemed as if the relationship between Kyousuke and his sister, now fourteen, would continue this way forever.

One day, however, Kyousuke finds a DVD case of a magical girl anime entitled Hoshikuzu Witch Merle (Stardust Witch Merle), which had fallen into the entranceway of his house. To Kyousuke’s surprise, inside the case is a hidden adult video game titled Imouto to Koishiyo! (Love with Little Sister!). Kyousuke attempts to fish out the culprit who dropped the case by bringing up the topic of magical girl anime at the family dinner table. All that comes out is a strong negative reaction from his parents, especially his anti-otaku policeman father.

That night, Kirino bursts into Kyousuke’s room and, in perhaps the first conversation she has initiated with him in years, says they “have things to talk about.” Kirino brings Kyousuke to her room and shows him an extensive collection of moe anime and lolicon bishoujo games she has been collecting in secret.

Thoughts : It’s stuff like this which make wonder what a female otaku would be like. Would she be some sort of adorable, likable lass? Or simply despised like other otaku? It’s stuff like this which I think about when I sit in my room and the lights go out. It seems set to be your typical otaku-secret show, but ever since Haruka season 2 aired, I have bad thoughts about such shows. Worse still it’s made by AIC,which makes me lose confidence.

But that’s what exactly makes the show so promising. With otaku being the misfits of society in Japan, it’s no wonder how this can build up to drama, comedy, and (hopefully) a good plot.

Chances of this being my secret sinful pleasure: Over 9000!!!

Ironman (Madhouse) – Iron Man Anime- you don’t need me to tell you that, do you?

Thoughts – Holy fudging shitcakes! Yet another show which originated from Stan Lee!  Ultimo-creator aside, he looks set to make his foray into Anime by introducing Iron Man, Heroman (ugh.) and what appears to be X-Men next year. This show will now be a test to see whether American content can survive in the Japanese market. One slip-up here, and god bless ‘im. Wolverine looks set to get an anime adaptation too, but I hope they don’t fuck it up by making them non-bad-ass.

Chances of me suddenly reading American Comics : Moderate.

Otome Yokai Zakuro ( JC Staff) It’s the Meiji Era in a slightly alternate Japan, and the Gregorian calendar has just come into effect. The fox-eared girls living in the youkai part of town are about to be put to work together with a delegation of young human soldiers, to promote interracial understanding. So what will happen when Zakuro’s strong personality collides with human sensibilities?

Thoughts – Holy crap, fox-eared girls. What more must I say?  Plenty.

Such a show would seem prime content for ecchi, given the lives of Asobi no Ikuyo. But it seems that they plan to make it comedy, so I’m looking forward to see how they’d do it without sexual humour.

Chances of me suddenly switching browsers over to Mozilla Firefox: Low.

Togainu no Chi (A-1 Pictures)- After being devastated in the third World War (known as The Third Division), Japan was divided in two. Several years after the end of the war, a crime organization called Vischio has taken control of the destroyed city of Toshima (formerly Tokyo, Japan’s capital city), where they are holding a battle game known as “Igura”. The is main character, a young man named Akira, is falsely accused of a crime. Once arrested, a mysterious woman appears before him, offering him freedom if he agrees to participate in Igura and defeat Igura’s strongest man: the king, or “Il-re”. The story follows Akira’s life in the harsh, lawless Toshima as he fights both to survive and to unravel the mysteries developing around him.

Thoughts: Oh my, yet another Deadman Wonderland-esque show. It would have looked set to be the most badass thing on my watchlist this season, but it appears to be Yaoi?

Chances of me blogging about this: Slim.

Soredemo Machi wa Mawatteiru (SHAFT)Clumsy Arashiyama is a girl with a love for mysteries and a knack for getting into trouble. She works for an old lady’s lackluster maid café in a small shopping district. The cafe is largely unsuccessful in attracting customers aside from Sanada, a regular and one of Arashiyama’s classmates (who has a secret crush on her). One day Arashiyama’s clever friend Tatsuno is invited to the café, and, upon seeing the miserable state of things (and Sanada, whom she has a secret crush on), decides to work there. Don’t miss the crazy antics of Arashiyama and friends, mismatched love stories, and all the hilarity that is created as a result, in Sore Machi.

Thoughts: Holy hot-crossed shitbuns! Another maid anime? I’ve already thrown Kaichou wa Maid Sama far behind on my watchlist, so why would I watch this? I have no idea, but I swear I will. Instead of having this weak lead and oh-so-charming casanova, we get this small-town romance that seems to not be amazingly cheesy, since it’s seinen. Nah, I have no reason why it seems that way, I just feel so.

Chances of me making multiple references to Sakuya while blogging about this : High.

Psychic Detective Yakumo (Bee Train) – Shinrei Tantei Yakumo tells a story about a college student, Saitou Yakumo who is born with different eye colors. His red left eye gives him a special ability to see ghosts and spirits. He believes ghosts and spirits are bound to earth because of a certain “cause,” and simply eliminating that “cause” will let those spirits rest in peace. Being asked for help by Ozawa Haruka, they begin the investigation together.

Thoughts : Here’s my bad-ass series! Nah, just kidding. However, the concept sounds interesting, even if it -is- a shoujo show, I think I’m going to enjoy this. I’m getting Mushishi vibes all over this, and Ono Daisuke seems set to voice the Main Character (Past voices include Battler from Umineko and Itsuki from Haruhi).

Chances of some reference to Yukari for the lols later on: Low.

Kuragehime (Brains Base) – The story centers around Tsukimi Kurashita, a huge fan of jellyfish (kurage, a wordplay on the “kura/mi” and “tsuki/ge” in her name) and a girl who moves to Tokyo to become an illustrator. She moves into “Amamizukan,” an apartment complex that is full of fujoshi (diehard female otaku) with a no-men-allowed rule. However, one day, Tsukimi invites a stylishly fashionable woman to stay at her room at Amamizukan — only to discover that the guest is not who “she” seems to be.

Thoughts : It appears that there’s a nerd for every single thing in the world. Aside from Anime nerds, there’re weapon nerds, blogging nerds (hi) , car nerds,personality nerd, psychology nerds, and now,jellyfish nerds. The concept itself is interesting enough, to have a no-men-allowed apartment. It makes way for plenty of comedy later on, atypical of anime when it comes to gender differences.

Chances of lots of traps being in the show : Low.

Bakuman (JC Staff) – Needs no introduction.

Thoughts : If they can recreate the epic drawing scenes from the manga, this is a must-watch. Personally, I doubt JC Staff’s ability to deliver. I doubt they can pull it off, but fingers crossed nonetheless.

Chances of there being Art Fail in the show : Wickedly High.

Fortune Arterial (Feel and ZEXCS) –Fortune Arterial’s story revolves around the male protagonist Kohei Hasekura, who transfers into a prestigious public school in the style of an English six-year school encompassing junior-high and high school students. The school is on an island named Tamatsu Island off-shore from mainland Japan, and the only way to get there is by boat. Soon after transferring, he discovers that one of the student in the class next door to his, Sendo Erika, is in fact a type of vampire.

Thoughts: *reading*

…..transfers into prestigious public school in the style of an English six-year school encompassing junior-high and high school students…

MY SCHOOL, ONLY WESTERNISED.

..Sendo Erika, is in fact a type of vampire.

FFFFFFFF. The setting made it sound so much like my own school I would have watched it, but the last sentence ruined everything. Listen : Comedy, Ecchi, Harem and Vampires. And a school which is hard to access. Guess who. I’m not going to be surprised if they have yet another random supernatural creatures personified as moe jailbait girls who chase our protagonist around, who, as with most harem leads thus far, is probably devoid of any personality whatsoever,not to mention being amazingly shitcakes weak. He probably runs away from sex, too.

Chances of me describing this as the lovechild of Rosario + Vampire and some other random crap – Subtle, but already occurred.

The World God Only Knows (Manglobe) – Keima Katsuragi, a second-year high school student, is an avid dating sim gamer. He is known on the Internet as “The Capturing God” for his legendary skills to be able to “capture” any 2D girl in games. However, in his actual school life, Keima is known as otamegane, a derogatory portmanteau of the two words otaku (オタク) and megane (メガネ-“glasses”).

At the start of the series, Keima receives an e-mail offering him a contract to “capture” girls. He accepts what is thought to be a challenge, and a demon from Hell nicknamed Elsee appears. She asks for his cooperation to help her in catching the runaway spirits. These spirits hide themselves inside the girl’s heart, and Elsee suggests that the only method to force the spirits out is by “capturing” their hearts—making them fall in love. Appalled by the idea, Keima refuses after clarifying to Elsee that he is only interested in “capturing” 2D girls and that he detests reality. Nevertheless, with the contract already accepted, Keima would have to help Elsee no matter what; if they fail, both Elsee and Keima would lose their heads.

Thoughts: Probably one of the best fucking shit this season. Never mind it’s a harem, this would be one of the only harems I make an exception for,aside from Bakemonogatari and a few others. Highschool Hero Complex comes into play yet again, and Keima just so happens to be approached by Sudden Girlfriend- like character Elsee, who is supposedly a demon from Hell, but moe. Fucking awesome shit right there.

Chances of me being a rabid fan of this series : Moderate

Letter Bee 2 – I don’t care.

Thoughts: Meh.

Chances of me watching this : Only if I finish season one.

Arakawa Under the Bridge 2 (SHAFT)

Thoughts : You kidding me? That fast? God, if this is true, then god-damn, SHAFT knows how to catch a money-train when they see one.

Chances of that image in the preview chart never appearing in that series’ sequel again: Hopefully, low.

MM!  (Xebec) – Sado Tarou suffers from sexual masochism; he experiences sexual pleasure from pain. He feels he won’t ever have a normal relationship with his condition and decides to visit the Voluntary Club, a place that grants students’ wishes, for a cure. At the club, he finds Isurugi Mio, a girl who thinks she is a god, and Yuuno Arashiko, the girl who caused his condition in the first place…

Thoughts : “suffers from sexual masochism” , “a girl who thinks she is a god” , “a place that grants students’ wishes”….

Oh god. Oh god. It sounds like they simply took all the winning formulas of shows out there and lopped it all into one. Masochism, really? I’m getting all sorts of vibes over this. It’s like Haruhi-Inverse, Otogi Bank, and lots and lots of ecchi all rolled into one.

Which means I’m watching it.

Chances of me lying about watching it: 50-50.

Now, it’s time for the grand finale.

Cue drum roll.

TO ARU MAJUTSU NO INDEX 2 ( JC STAFF)

Thoughts: HOLY FUCKING SHIT, IT’s OUT. Index returns with what looks like new characters, new plot twists, and closure to season one. Season one was horribly rushed and ambiguous, but the PV for Season 2 seems set to make it awesome. As usual we have our male protagonist Touma, our loli nun-service Index, our tsundere shockqueen Biribiri and all the old characters seem set to return, Last Order included. I always wondered how the first season could have done better. For a legendary library of magic spells, they sure neglected Index a lot, favouring to focus on random arcs which form breaks in the plot’s consistency. Hope they correct those soon.

CHANCES OF HARUMI-SENSEI APPEARING : <10%.

CHANCES OF THIS BEING MUCH MORE AWESOME THAN SEASON 1: 69%.

About Valence

I blog things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Fall’10 Season Preview, Part One.

  1. Ming Xuan says:

    Woot for certain animes! Finally something to watch unlike this season
    and you dont like kaichou wa maid sama?

  2. Azure Hoshizora says:

    Just came across it on cart driver too.
    I kinda feel sorry for this season, too many shows I want to watch but too lazy to give them a try…

    • Valence says:

      same here.I always end up watching the first episode of multiple shows, watching only a few on schedule and marathoning the rest instead.

      • Azure Hoshizora says:

        Ah I’m worse, those that I drop will just end up in my pile of anime I intend to watch after my O levels…

        • Valence says:

          I have only Chinese O Levels this year, because I signed up for it…currently I have a large pile simply because I just have no time to watch them o.o

  3. Wtf is with Jc staff O.o
    im scared they wont be able to cope with like 4-5 animes they are doing in one season hence the quality of the anime will decrease. =/

    Kuragehime is a must for me, from brain base and directed by the guy from Duarararararara, i see no reason in why this should go wrong. Character design from baccano, plus the plot is different. come on let the jellyfish have a chance =) plus there is a trap lol

    • Valence says:

      I want to watch Kuragehime too,but I doubt there’d be much takers who will sub the show. besides, I’m interested in the jellyfish.

      And yeah,JC staff is mad this season. SO much anime o.o

  4. biotoxic says:

    Of this first set I’m planning on watching Index 2 and Letter Bee 2. I’ll maybe watch some of the others listed depending how the blogosphere reacts.

    MM! sounds lulz.

    • Valence says:

      MM! Sounds like some kind of moan, which makes it win.

      Letter Bee 2 I’m not watching – I haven’t watched Letter Bee 1 yet o.o

  5. flyzice says:

    I’d like to give Bakuman a try, but I’m not sure about the rest. I’ll probably screen through the first episodes and decide what to follow next season.

  6. Nopy says:

    I read the first volume of My Little Sister Can’t Be This Cute and I thought it was pretty good. It’s funny and cute, but also has some serious moments.

  7. howeirong says:

    I’m watching My Little Sister, Fortune Arterial (the VN is really really good. Don’t let the word ‘vampire’ get to you, if this adaptation is any good this will be a fucking awesome show), Bakuman (for a while, anyway), The World God Only Knows (I’ve been waiting for an anime adaptation of this for like, 2 years), and Index 2 (I mean, obviously).

    That’s the really good stuff that I’m confirmed watching, but that depends on how well the adaptations work.

    • Valence says:

      Hope so. I heard that Fortune Arterial is nice, but that always sets me up for disappointment whenever they adapt it into anime. They. Always. Fail. Any awesome material usually gets fucked, and rarely do we see really good adaptations.

      Bakuman I stopped reading at chapter 1 ,frankly, too lazy to continue reading online (I read it ..in Chinese.) The World God Only Knows sounds interesting, and Index 2, hell yeah.

  8. Yi says:

    Nothing really interests me from the chart, and the only things I’m for sure going to watch are sequels of shows I followed, Index and Arakawa. I always eventually change my mind though so I might actually pick up another series after some time.

    • Valence says:

      Index definitely, but I’d like to try some others out of interest. Although I doubt that Arakawa 2 is confirmed to come out this season, that’s almost as fast as K-On reached its sequel!

  9. reinfinitum says:

    I still need to watch Index season 1. I’ll surely be watching My little sister can’t be this cute, Bakuman, and The world only god knows. The others maybe I’ll just check out.

    • Valence says:

      I’m not very picky when it comes to new seasons. I just take anything I can get, see whether I like it and decide from there.

      But my must-watch list includes Index II, Ore no Imouto, The World God Only Knows and Samurai Girls.

Comments are closed.