Onemanga dies

No more online reading function...

All hands, salute!

About Valence

I blog things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Onemanga dies

  1. bd77 says:

    Bloody greedy pub******. And the “so-called” official ones, most of their translation is f-ton bad. One day… the sword of Damocles shall fall onto their heads.

    *salutes to OM*

    • Valence says:

      *salute*

      Never has such an extensive collection of fansubbers been collectivized into one awesome website. Anyway, the publishers didn’t ask for Onemanga to close down, but he closed it down purely out of ‘respect’, so he says.

      Anyway, I hope Mangafox stays afloat ._.

  2. Charred Knight says:

    So let me get this straight your demeaning publishers who pay millions of dollars for liscenses while singing the virtue of a guy who can’t even be bothered to pay his staff, and whose website is notorious for the amount of viruses it has?

    • Valence says:

      Well, I’m not saying anything about the publishers, am I? They of course, have expressed their wishes for such translation to stop. I would too, if I were in their position.

      What I’m lamenting is that loss in my life as a pirate. I buy manga, but sadly it’s in Chinese translation and I just prefer reading it online. ‘sides, OneManga opened me up to plenty of manga I’d think I would never read.

      So yeah, I admit, OneManga is a rotting rut of piracy and viruses, but nevertheless I’ll miss them. Of course, I’m still buying official translations, so I suppose the only thing I would be sad about was all the manga you’d never find on the shelves in Singapore.

  3. Lenneth says:

    May the publishers kiss my ass
    *Salutes to Onemanga*
    Lets us hope, that Mangafox stay strong and carry on providing us with these wonderful form of art…

    • Valence says:

      You’ve disappointed me once again today, Lenneth.

      Anyway, I don’t think this is the publisher’s fault, and in fact, OneManga’s decision to close, despite being hard to accept, should be commended.

      However, I do wish Mangafox stays afloat.

  4. RIP onemanga…..youll always be in our heart…..
    *goes to mangafox

  5. Azure Hoshizora says:

    pretty noble of onemanga to respect the publisher’s wishes *salutes*

    once again, the sensitive issue of copyright infringement and what not. Doesn’t affect me much since I buy the manga but I can’t say that I won’t miss my weekly manga updates and reading all those manga that will probably never turn up in Singapore…

    I’m predicting that mangafox will still stay (for now at least) and new sites have already came up to replace onemanga~
    *salutes* RIP onemanga~

    • Valence says:

      Agreed. I still buy manga in Chinese, but I’m kind of a miser, so I hardly spend much money or buy any comics at all. Sometimes it’s just hard to find them in bookstores and Comics Connection and the like.

      Nevertheless, copyright is after all a serious issue throughout the world, so I wouldn’t be unable to understand why the publishers would be peeved.

      Mangafox will stay, definitely. Question is, how long?

      • Azure Hoshizora says:

        I’m very generous when it comes to my interest to the point that the people at my closest comics connection know me know, maybe thats why I’m broke.

        Everyone in the world has probably infringed the copyright law at least once in their lifetime and I highly doubt publishers and onemanga’s actions are gonna stop those leechers who still have manga fox.

        mangafox will probably continue to take off manga that has been licensed for now though~

Comments are closed.