Sadomasochism 01 – Self-torture and whatnot. New post section -introduction

Oh relax, it’s not about actual BDSM.

sa·do·mas·o·chism

[sey-doh-mas-uh-kiz-uhm, -maz-,sad-oh-]  Show IPA

1.interaction, esp. sexual activity, in which one person enjoys inflicting physical or mental suffering on another person, who derives pleasure from experiencing pain.

2. gratification, esp. sexual, gained through inflicting or receiving pain; sadism and masochism combined.Abbreviation: S-M, S and M

– from Dictionary.com

I don’t do episode-by-episode reviews, as you can tell. I don’t like the idea of writing and describing what happens in each episode scene-by-scene for no particular reason whatsoever. I like writing posts that actually deviate from the actual show itself. I figured, heck, you’d probably have watched the episode already, before reading the review, so why bother with repeating that which is already known?

However, doing this thing is harder since there’s few content to work upon. There often isn’t a good point to be made about a show ; thus sometimes my posts lack logic or make no sense at all. So, I’ve decided to introduce Sadomasochism (TM) as a method to post filler posts post interesting posts.

How do you feel when someone insults something you like? When someone takes something you adore, and rips it to shreds, all the while laughing hysterically? I know I wouldn’t feel good to have someone question – or attack – my choices and favorite things. Thus, I’ve decided to take the initiative to do the job – in advance- for these would-be attackers.

Sadomasochism will be a section where I basically attack myself. I take something I like, and break it down into why it sucks. Soul-crushingly depressing, but it must be done. Nothing is perfect ; so are my choices. I often get questioned by that one classmate upon why I like Lucky Star over Seitokai. I could explain for ages, but it doesn’t prove that LS is superior – in fact, it doesn’t prove LS is good either. There are many ways to debate over why something lacks sheen, or something just is inferior. Besides, I’ve did this to myself before, most notably with Seitokai no Ichizon over on my old blog at Blogspot.

Basically, I re-review something with a 100% , purely objective standpoint.

Since this is after all, an introduction post, I hope this won’t be taken the wrong way. Although I’m considering changing the name soon…

About Valence

I blog things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sadomasochism 01 – Self-torture and whatnot. New post section -introduction

  1. Fabrice says:

    I agree with the episode review thingy =)
    plus its annoying to write the same thing to other bloggers that write about the same ep…might as well copy paste lol
    Id probably end up in prison for killing to person that rips my beloved stuff! 😛
    …LS > Seitokai… ^^”

    • Valence says:

      I’m probably gonna criticize LS soon, since that’s the whole point of this section. Oh well, I’ll bite my tongue when doing so.

      Sorry Kagami =(

  2. Pingback: Sadomasochism 02 – Neon Genesis Evangelion. « Ambivalence , or is it ambiguity?

  3. Pingback: Sadomasochism 03 – Hanamaru Youchien « Ambivalence , or is it ambiguity?

  4. Pingback: Posts I’d rather not visit ever again | Ambivalence , or is it ambiguity?

Comments are closed.