First ever – and probably last ever- figure bought from eBay.


SO my first ever Nendoroid arrives in the mail. After clawing through the multiple layers of packaging, I sensed something was amiss when I saw the box. I knew shit was brewing when I chanced upon this:

The copyright was missing a circle. This couldn’t be good.

With fear and trepidation, I opened the box. Instead of being greeted with the nice PVC smell GSC stuff come with, a horrid odour of cheap plastic fills my nose. Fuck. It was then I saw this face, and realised that I had bought a bootleg.

Fucking China. Never gonna buy any figures from eBay again. I will get a real Nendoroid real soon, I mean it. The smell of the plastic is so fucking strong that it fills up the entire room. I don’t even want to study anymore. Not to mention the parts are loose, the paint job horrid and whatnot.

Perhaps its price should have set off a few alarm bells in my head. At about $20, it was too much of a steal – even if it were, as comments seemed to imply, a ‘clearance sale’. Perhaps I already knew it’d be a bootleg. 99.69% positive feedback? Bullshit. Fuck China. Its parts keep falling apart too. I really feel an urge to splurge tomorrow. I don’t know why.

Lesson 1: Never trust eBay.

Lesson 2 : China’s plastics all smell like crap.

Lesson 3: China’s plastics all smell like crap.

Lesson 4: Bootlegs suck.

To think China can come up with quality stuff -yet still rely on making bootlegs ._.

And damn, my friends like rubbing salt in my wounds.

Never mind, I’ll probably pick up Azunyan next week out of spite.

This is madness! NO! This! is! AUTHENTICITY!

About Valence

I blog things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to First ever – and probably last ever- figure bought from eBay.

  1. ScorchNRoses says:

    You should’ve told me you wanted to buy a Miku nendo -.- I could have found you one genuine one…

    • Valence says:

      No…I just bought it cos’ it was cheap D:

      Never mind, going to get my Touhou set and probably Azunyan in the near future.

      Thanks for the offer anyways ;D

  2. Anonymous says:

    Just FYI, the main production line for most figure makers is in China, GSC included.

    • Valence says:

      I know that dude, but fuck China anyway. Most of what, everything? – is made in China nowadays…..and thus similar amounts of bootlegs and poor quality products are created as a result. Makes me wonder why they can achieve awesome standards for some products but not on their own – they seem to practice this skill of ‘copy and paste’, if you get what I mean.

      …Whatever it is, fuck China. Or to be more specific, fuck China’s bootlegs.

  3. Nopy says:

    I’ve gotten a bootleg before too, but I paid full price for it. That was a very disappointing day 😦

  4. bd77 says:

    Bootleg nendo… ouch… >.<
    Sorry to hear that. I myself never haven't purchase anything from eBay, too scary.
    I tried buying a bootleg gunpla, in the end I donated it to a friend.

  5. Fabrice says:

    FUCK bootlegs! O.o shame you have to come across one =/
    im lucky to have not!

    =/ i never buy from ebay since its poured with smelly shit bootlegs.

    Azunyan to the rescue!

Comments are closed.