I like K-On again? I feel depressed.

I feel rather depressed, really.

Why? It’s not like it’s because I’m doing very badly in school or anything. Have you ever felt the feeling of subscribing to a particular activity, spending your time and giving your all to it, and when the time comes for you to be tested, you lose everything? This overwhelming sense of ‘betrayal’, although you clearly know it isn’t as such? And everyone you try to talk about this, you feel sad, and they probably feel disgusted.

I like K-On again.

I’m serious.

No joke, really. I used to troll against it, write long walls of flaming text against it, promote anti-K-on-ism throughout the internet and to my friends. I’ve spent so much time derailing it, but today this shall probably stop.

I had an enormous backlog of K-On episodes, and when I got around to watching the new OP, I saw this:

I was enlightened. The reason why so many people probably like this series – and I don’t – is because to watch it, you probably have to take it easy. I’m too serious and over-critical  – after all, K-On is just mindless comedy, and I should treat it as such. Why should K-On have any development,plot or themes? It’s slice-of-life! Why am I using this as a point to derail its success – and yet be supported as such? Perhaps we are all misguided.

And I already have a favourite character.

Azu-nyan. She’s probably the character with the best personality in there, for she actually cares for the Keionbu to succeed. She insists on practice, she’s always the one with her head in the game ; to top it off, she’s cute. The Nendoroid already looks tempting. I need to slap myself soon.

K-On is full of random humour. I love my class. It’s full of random humour. As such, I should’a liked K-ON from the looks of it. And I did. The characters are funny in their own ways, like how Yui is so god-damned stupid my ribs hurt from laughing.

They’re so fucking stupid and random, and I like that.

Not to mention the ED seems to be keeping up with standards. Unlike the OP of course.

I’m currently stuck between hating or liking this series. Perhaps I’ll sit on the fence, for now.

In the meantime, I wrestle with the onset of increased depression.

About Valence

I blog things.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to I like K-On again? I feel depressed.

  1. Lenneth says:

    it is ok to not be sure whether to support it or not…just look forward to what they will come up with next…I enjoyed seeing how mugi was desperate in getting herself hit by someone 😄

  2. trewdys says:

    Ritsu is my waifuideal girlfriend :3

  3. Nopy says:

    I stopped watching K-ON a while back, I just couldn’t take it anymore. I have to agree about Azu-nyan though, I couldn’t resist not getting the nendoroid.

  4. biotoxic says:

    I must say K-ON!! has been improving since episode 12, at least from my point of view. The other episodes up to then were quite boring and uninteresting.

    K-ON!! is never going to be my favourite series, but I’ll happily watch it and then forget about it.

    I still found the flaming amusing to read at least :P.

    • Valence says:

      Exactly ! It’s only when I started watching from 12 did I sort-of enjoy the series again. Indeed, the other episodes were quite boring and uninteresting.

      I still feel like flaming it, for teh lols.

  5. Fabrice says:

    thats good 8D
    welcome back to the ”k-on! is good” club ^^
    im loving season 2 =)

  6. Pingback: Twelve Days of Anime : Day Three- K-On!! | Ambivalence , or is it ambiguity?

  7. lelangir says:

    Mindless comedy?!?!?

Comments are closed.