Asobi ni Ikuyo! 01 – playing in a battle royale

 

Speaking of which, I'm lagging far behind on Heroman...

Just watched the first episode of Asobi ni Ikuyo!, and to be frank I sit on the fence for this one. Asobi ni Ikuyo,or ‘Coming to Play’,is your charming little tale of a neighbour visiting another. And by neighbour, I mean an alien visiting Earth to do research, and of course ever-so-conveniently being in the form of a sexy catgirl. What could possibly go wrong for Kio, our protagonist with an amazing low sex drive? Everything. Turns out that his childhood friend,  Manami, works for the CIA following her father’s footsteps, his teacher is actually an alien-obsessed terrorist and what appears to be his first actual attempt to form a good relationship with another girl, Aoi Futaba, is actually the nano-suit wearing girl working for the Government’s special forces. And they all have the capability to kill upon will. Isn’t that jolly good fun now?

 

And the best part is, they’re all after Eris, the alien catgirl who is blissfully unaware of Kio’s multiple attempts to avert his eyes from her melons. For one, Kio’s teacher wants to kill her, so as to make their first alien contact a respectable  one- how they think that Eris is horrible for the Earth’s maiden contact with outer space. Oh well, time to kill them all.

No matter how great its production values are, I still hate myself for enjoying this series. Why?

Firstly, its amazing coincidental triangle affair. I know I’m supposed to suspend my disbelief to watch shows like this  –  I mean, we have a catgirl alien who just fell out of the sky – but seriously, I can’t really wrap my head around the idea of this normal guy getting caught up with so many extremities. And what is he, in particular? A wimp who can’t take alcohol , a nerd, even free-going if you ask me : I mean, after finding out Eris is an alien, he’s just like: “Oh, you’re an alien. Take care of my house kthnxbai.”

Oh come on, normal people would at least react in some other way. But he didn’t. Is he not normal. No , he isn’t. Then what is he?

Secondly : its multiple cliches.

We have the usual pathetic, brown-haired (this is a keyword in describing such people) , otaku-like protagonist , his childhood friend who’s overtly pervy, your over-concerning, over-caring teacher and of course, your glasses girl who has two personalities, so to speak. Top it all off with your usual airheaded ecchi alien, and you get Cliche Mix. So why does it not feel so cliche?

Why , despite all of this, can I continue watching the show?

It’s not like anything in this show intrigues me, is there?

I…I honestly have no idea.

Honestly.

About Valence

I blog things.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Asobi ni Ikuyo! 01 – playing in a battle royale

  1. Ming Xuan says:

    Orly?

  2. Fabrice says:

    I am reminded too much of Ookami Kakushi… Dammit AIC, why do you have to destroy nearly everything you touch…? Male (faggot) harem lead surrounded by (and afraid of) several beautiful women, and he takes 0 initiative to end up with either. Essentially the tl;dr of most AIC works. Oh well, not the worst thing I’ve seen all season.

  3. alucard13mm says:

    lol wow XD thats some fan service

  4. Fidelis says:

    From what I’ve seen, they increased the bust sizes for the show.

Comments are closed.