Arakawa Under the Bridge – You’d have to live under a bridge to not like it.

Just watched the last episode of Arakawa Under the Bridge.

To be honest, it was good. But not the kind of good I was expecting from SHAFT – from which we see the likes of the visual-heavy Bakemonogatari and random comedy Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei, both of which I truly love watching. Arakawa Under the Bridge, despite all its visuals, randomness and SHAFT craziness, lost my attention at times ; sometimes I just got bored, sometimes I felt more and more like watching.

Nevertheless, with all its dynamic whackiness, it fared pretty well. I personally liked how each character made no sense whatsoever.

I cordially challenge you to explain Hoshi-san’s existence.

However, I digress.

I liked how Ric’s and Nino’s relationship -it’s all so awkward and bizarre, it’s nice to watch. Not to mention the OP itself is awesome enough. To be honest, if they tried to build up on their relationship even in the last episode, the show would suck – why? Episode 12 summed up their relationship sweetly and nicely – and with Season 2 green-lit, I can look forward to more random funnies.

Besides, Episode 13 was devoted to the cameo characters (who were really interesting) to the ‘amusement park’ Ric built. Building the path to Season 2, I see.

And this is just one story which you can’t blame for having no ‘character development’ or something like that. “The Metal Brothers were from a laboratory? Why? Lol why are they all so clueless?” FUCK OFF! This is exactly what I like. Without any fixed development, the characters are allowed to run rampant – much more screen-time devoted to their antics, and we like them all the same. Well, except for Maria.….but maybe I liked her too. All the characters are so twistedly funny in their own special ways – from the sharp-tongued queen of burns Maria to the battle-hungry monstrous girl Stella, to the enigmatic Mayor and to our beloved Venusian Nino.

So overall, Arakawa Under the Bridge contains all the craziness you’d expect from SHAFT  – but just not good enough somehow. Could have been better, nevertheless a 8/10 (I seem to love this rating, don’t I? )

Looking forward to Season 2 !

About Valence

I blog things.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Arakawa Under the Bridge – You’d have to live under a bridge to not like it.

  1. Topspin says:

    > I cordially challenge you to explain Hoshi-san’s existence.

    Really? You need someone to explain the need for a loser even more pathetic than Ric? 🙂

    This was just a decent fluff y gag anime, with enough random subtext to let people think about things if they want to. But it isn’t exploring any serious messages on it’s own. Which is a nice change of pace and all, but it’s still a shallow gag anime.

    You take what you want from it. Which in my case was the old businessman who desperately wanted to be Ric’s father, the barber in the last episode, and some of the gags that had actual setup (at least, before they repeated them into oblivion). Just enough to keep me watching, but probably not enough to care about the second season.

    • Valence says:

      It is a shallow gag anime, I admit. However I liked it, and like you, I was interested by those little points as well.

      But I’d prefer another season of Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei to this,any day.

      P.S. I mean, really, what the hell is Hoshi-san anyway.?

  2. Ming Xuan says:

    Damn, I need to move soon. Can’t live under a bridge much longer

  3. Fabrice says:

    Haha student fucker XD
    Hoshi sure makes my day brighter XD
    looking forward to second season.

  4. Pingback: Arakawa Under the Bridge Gets Live Action Film and Show » Strawberry Death Kiss

Comments are closed.