Franken Fran – how gore is now appealing to me

You find me appealing?

Well, just finished all available chapters of Franken Fran today. And to be frank, I love this comic to pieces. Some people may say I have unusual taste, or that I have no brains in holding such a comic tightly as one of my favourites. But this satisfaction isn’t fake ; I find each chapter having its own eternal beauty.

To be honest, I can’t really describe why I like the comic (the entire upper paragraph was bullshit.) Being a rather squeamish person who doesn’t like the sight of actual blood, somehow I enjoyed the gore in this comic. Overcame my fear of surgeries, blood and the like.

Fran can make anyone into anything, raise the dead, switch heads and bodies and give you those eyes that you’ve always wanted. But do you actually want them? Is it a good thing to raise the dead? Do the ends justify the means? And does Fran care?

I always found medical shows like House MD interesting, as well as those supernatural fantasy shows – nicely intertwined into real life- , like Fringe nice to watch. So for me, Franken Fran seems like a mix between the two. Medical fantasies. The depictions of her experiments – and the results- are blood-curdingly awesome. Kudos to the mangaka. You can see what I mean when you look at the bizarre plant in Lust , or what she did to the evil henchmen in God and Dog :

I sort of like these twisted comics. Just as how I liked the Petshop of Horrors, or some of Kago Shintaro ‘s work.

Going to look for chapters beyond Chapter 30, since it appears that Franken Fran got suspended from OneManga.  (Correction : translator translated Chapters 38 and 39, but left out Chapter 31-37 :/)

P.S. Do you know any similar comics?

About Valence

I blog things.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.